Home / Computing / Laptop / Toshiba Satellite Click Mini L9W-B-100

Toshiba Satellite Click Mini L9W-B-100 review

By

Reviewed:

1 of 10

Toshiba Satellite Click Mini L9W-B-100
  • Toshiba Satellite Click Mini L9W-B-100
  • Toshiba Satellite Click Mini L9W-B-100
  • Toshiba Satellite Click Mini L9W-B-100
  • Toshiba Satellite Click Mini L9W-B-100
  • Toshiba Satellite Click Mini L9W-B-100
  • Toshiba Satellite Click Mini L9W-B-100
  • Toshiba Satellite Click Mini L9W-B-100
  • Toshiba Satellite Click Mini L9W-B-100
  • Toshiba Satellite Click Mini L9W-B-100
  • Toshiba Satellite Click Mini L9W-B-100

Summary

Our Score:

6

Pros

  • Far smaller than Windows competitors
  • Solid tablet mechanism
  • High screen resolution

Cons

  • Consistently poor performance
  • Disappointing keyboard and trackpad
  • Underwhelming speakers
  • Tiny, slow storage

Key Features

  • 8.9in 1,920 x 1,200 display
  • Intel Atom Z3735F processor
  • 2GB RAM
  • 32GB eMMC storage
  • SD card slot
  • Manufacturer: Toshiba
  • Manufacturer: Toshiba
  • Review Price: £250.00

What is the Toshiba Satellite Click Mini L9W-B-100?

Toshiba’s new Satellite is one of the smallest hybrid laptops we’ve ever seen – and one of the cheapest, too, at just £250. This makes it a tempting option if you're looking for a cheap device for work or school.

The Click Mini’s keen price and 8.9in screen don’t just draw comparisons with the tablets it’s designed to replace. It’s reminiscent of an old-school netbook, too, and we hope that this device can prove more successful than those tiny, cheap laptops from a few years back.

Toshiba Satellite Click Mini L9W-B-100 – Design & Build Quality

The Mini lives up to its name: its 8.9in screen means it’s one of the smallest hybrids around, and so has more chance than most to compete with tablets.

SEE ALSO: 2015's Best Laptops, Ultrabooks and Hybrids

Toshiba Satellite Click Mini L9W-B-100

Also in its favour is that it works well as a proper tablet. In portrait mode, the power button and volume rocker are on one side while a Windows button sits on the other. And apart from being a little soft, they all work well enough. Connections are good too, with microSD, micro-HDMI and micro-USB ports sat next to the Windows key.

Build quality is consistent and impressive. The back panel barely budges, and the seams around the screen are similarly solid. We’d confidently toss the Toshiba’s tablet portion in a bag without any protection.

The tablet plugs into the base and clips into place – unlike Asus' latest range of Transformers, which rely on magnets alone. It’s released by pressing a single button. The clasping hinge feels solid, although perhaps a little too tough – this device is tiny, but it requires a solid push to move the screen and to release the tablet.

Nonetheless, it’s a good start. Dimensions are decent when compared with hybrid rivals – it's just under 20mm thick – and the whole unit weighs less than a kilo. Competitors such as the Acer Aspire Switch 11 come in closer to 1.5kg. The Click Mini's closest challenger is the Asus Transformer Pad TF103, which is 0.1mm thinner but more than 100g heavier – and it only runs Android.

The Toshiba is lighter and slimmer than most rivals when clasped together, and it isn't far short of tablets when split in half. The Satellite’s tablet portion weighs 472g and is 9.8mm thick – less than 150g heavier and under 2mm thicker than the latest iPad Mini.

These impressive figures result in a hybrid that can travel with you anywhere.

SEE ALSO: The 10 Best Android Tablets

Toshiba Satellite Click Mini L9W-B-100

The Satellite’s budget price does mean it lacks flashy features, however. It’s made entirely from plastic, and the glossy area around the screen is distractingly on the large side. The laptop base isn’t as sturdy as the tablet section, either: its corners flex; tapping the plastic results in a fair bit of rattling; and pressing the underside causes the keyboard to bounce upwards.

Inside, wireless connectivity is limited to a single-band 802.11n card, and there’s no NFC connectivity or an IR blaster. There’s no way to get mobile internet working on the Click Mini either, short of a USB dongle, and there are no sensors besides the standard GPUs, accelerometer and gyroscope.

Alex Walsh

July 20, 2015, 8:01 am

£199 at the moment from a lot of retailers- Amazon (was £149 on Prime Day too), and John Lewis included.

I would have opted for one of these over the Surface 3 if any site had reviewed it on launch- Toshiba's PR team really dropped the ball on getting units out for review IMHO.

Dead Words

July 20, 2015, 3:00 pm

How would earlier reviews have helped you purchase this over a Surface 3? From what I've seen the Surface 3 scores great across the board and this Toshiba struggles to make it to the starting line.

Alex Walsh

July 20, 2015, 3:06 pm

It's the specific use I was interested in it for to be honest- a small convertible I can stick in my manbag (which is designed for an iPad) and take out with me. Uses are primarily word processing, web surfing and doing stuff in Wordpress. For those purposes it's a great fit from the review:

"Build quality is consistent and impressive. The back panel barely budges, and the seams around the screen are similarly solid. We’d confidently toss the Toshiba’s tablet portion in a bag without any protection."

"These impressive figures result in a hybrid that can travel with you anywhere."

"Such resolution, brightness and contrast figures put the Toshiba ahead of its Windows rivals, which suffer similarly poor colour quality and worse resolutions."

"When combined they [two batteries] help the Satellite Click Mini to beat every hybrid competitor. In our standard 40% screen brightness test the Satellite lasted for 9 hrs 35 mins, which is more than an hour longer than the Asus Transformer Book T200TA – this machine’s closest Windows-based challenger."

Alex Walsh

July 20, 2015, 3:06 pm

Don't get me wrong, I love my Surface 3 but on Prime day, I could have had 3 or 4 of these for the price of my Surface 3 with the keyboard cover :)

Dead Words

July 20, 2015, 6:55 pm

But for the price of the Surface 3, you're getting better performance, better mobility, and a far better screen. You're also getting guaranteed support and very little bloatware. This Toshiba can't compare to the Surface 3 in any way except for price, but in this case you're getting a great deal in a package that's only marginally larger than an iPad. Plus the keyboard cover is surprisingly good for what it is, at least better then this cramped, shallow keyboard on the Toshiba.

Mavis Beacon

July 21, 2015, 1:46 am

Please don't take offence Alex, but you seem to have been very selective with the quotes you have take from the review. They are all the favourable ones.
You say with regard to your proposed use of the machine: "Uses are primarily word processing, web surfing and doing stuff in Wordpress. For those purposes it's a great fit from the review" .

Here are some other quotes from the review that cover your proposed uses:

"The Toshiba's tiny size becomes a hindrance when it comes to ergonomics. The keyboard suffers a selection of layout issues..."

"The typing action isn’t much cop, either. The keys have hardly any travel, their downward movement isn’t consistent and they're rattly."

"This isn’t a machine suited to lengthy typing or work . Those with big fingers will have to hen-peck their way around the keyboard because touch-typing will be too difficult."

"The trackpad isn’t much better. Again, it's small size makes navigation difficult, and the cursor often failed to respond for a second because it had gone into standby – an irritating, noticeable delay."

Tom

July 21, 2015, 11:04 am

Damn, woudve snapped one up if I had seen it on Amazon for £149! As it is its still sorely tempting, although im more tempted to see what happens with the next batch of Windows 10 tablets (particularly if MS are bringing out an 8" tablet).

One thing id really quite like to see spec wise on the tablets is the ability to connect to the Xbox controller "built in", the Xbox streaming to windows 10 is a great feature (maybe not quite a "killer feature") but the fact you have to faff with dongles removes a little from the experience IMO

Tom

July 21, 2015, 11:16 am

I find this review interesting as, like Alex, im very interested in getting a Windows tablet to replace my iPad mini and for it to also double as a laptop.

Personally I find the 8-9" to be the ideal size for my tablet (hence why I currently have a laptop) and having experimented with clamshell bluetooth keyboards for the ipad and gotten quite good at touch typing on them I usually disagree with reviews that comment about crammed keyboards, yes they're cramped but you can adapt and if portability is high on your priorities then you will adapt and cope TBH

Also talking about this vs the surface 3 - Again to me its a no brainer, the surface design is fantastic and pretty revolutionary, but its not a clamshell design and so for actual lap use it just will not do so the Toshiba is a better design for that specific use and if using it on your lap is important to you then you will prioritise that feature over other failings that may be less of an issue

Alex Walsh

July 21, 2015, 3:35 pm

I used to use an EEE 701, and an EEE 901 as my main computer, so a small keyboard isn't much of an issue. Basically I'd love another netbook but this is about as close as I'd get to one. I do take your point though! Funnily enough most of the websites (this one included) that did "hands on" previews back in January, all thought the keyboard was streaks ahead of the ASUS CHI 100, so I took the keyboard comments with a pinch of salt having read around.

cmvrgr

December 18, 2015, 3:42 am

Hi I have both Surface 3 and Click mini. The review is so unfair. This Toshiba is a fantastic machine. I have big hands and I have no problem on typing for hours.
The performance is very good even playing 4k videos in youtube. I have installed trial versions of 3d apps, photo editors and many more and plays very well.
I find it more comfortable for typing that the surface 3 on the lap. Also is super tiny. I own many umpc (viliv n5, gigabyte m702 and many more) and is the first time after many years that I am happy with a ultra small device with excellent screen that feet in bags that the other 10" 2in1 are only jealous....
Also it has 3 years guaranty and the 1st year is "no matter what" covers everything...
What I am missing, 4gb ram, an 64gb version, integrated 4g, unlocked bootloader for 64bit windows.
I wish Toshiba to make next version in the same frame (for keeping that super mobility) with a larger sized screen in the frame, an i5 with 8gb of ram, an 256 ssd and a NVidia 940 :) ....
I know some of you may be laughing but that would be a super duper ultra mobile, that could be connected at office screen ..... :)

comments powered by Disqus