Home / Computing / Laptop / Toshiba Satellite C855

Toshiba Satellite C855 review

Andrew Williams

By

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

6

User Score:

Pros

  • USB 3.0
  • Generous RAM
  • Decent battery life

Cons

  • Mediocre keyboard
  • Drab looks
  • Poor internal speakers

Key Features

  • 500GB 5400rpm hard drive
  • 6GB DDR3 RAM
  • Intel Core i3-2350M CPU
  • 2.3kg weight
  • 2 x USB 2.0 ports, 1x USB 3.0
  • Manufacturer: Toshiba
  • Review Price: £439.99

The Toshiba Satellite C855 is a no-nonsense 15.6in laptop selling at a reasonably affordable price. We took a look at one of its lower-end iterations, packing a Core i3-2350M processor, 500GB hard drive and a chunky 6GB of RAM. Of course, man cannot live by specs alone and there's more to using a laptop than counting the numbers.

Design

The Toshiba Satellite C855 has a pretty sober and practical design. It comes in grey, white, black and red finishes, and we got hold of the nattier colourful version.

Toshiba Satellite C855 2

Its lid is lightly-curved high-gloss plastic, with a subtle cross-hatched pattern on top that helps to temper the otherwise-provocative finish. Plastic throughout, the C855 doesn't feel all that luxurious, but then sub-£500 laptops rarely do.

Toshiba Satellite C855 5

Toshiba Satellite C855 6

Inside, the glossy look is traded-in for embossed textures, which handily stop fingerprints from appearing, no matter how many packs of crisps you've munched mid-email. The only glossy bits are the spaces in-between the keys and a small area around the trackpad.

This is not a particularly impressive-looking laptop, but it side-steps many of the issues that tend to turn us off. There are no ostentatious shortcut buttons, the font on the keys is perfectly inoffensive and, texturing aside, everything is kept reasonably simple. That said, we do think it'd look better with a more consistent finish - a melting pot of teeny circles, squares, matt bits and glossy bits, it's not the most carefully-styled laptop at the price.

Using a reinforced plastic slab over the keyboard rest, the C855 feels sturdy enough in use, but there's significant flex to some of the bodywork. The plastic panel beneath the keyboard's keys and the area above the optical drive are particularly prone to movement under pressure. Toshiba Satellite C855 4

At 2.3kg, the Satellite C855 is a little heavy to take around with you all day, every day, but is a standard weight for a laptop of this size.

Connectivity and Specs

Although connectivity is standard for the most part, the C855's ports do show that USB 3.0 is starting to bleed further into budget laptops. There are two USBs on the right edge, one 3.0, and another 2.0 port on the left.

Toshiba Satellite C855 8

Also along the right edge are the dual headphone/microphone 3.5mm jacks, HDMI video output, Ethernet port and VGA socket. Around the other edge is where the DVD multi-writer optical drive lives. It uses a tray design with the standard release button on the tray itself. Rounding off on-body bits, there's an SDXC card slot on the front edge.

Toshiba Satellite C855 7

Delving further inside, the C855 range offers Bluetooth 4.0, Wi-Fi N, and an HD webcam in the glossy back screen surround. Our particular model featured a 2.5GHz Core i3-2350M processor with HD 3000 graphics, 500GB hard drive and 6GB of RAM.

Keyboard and Trackpad

The Toshiba Satellite C855 is a solid-if-unimaginative laptop in most respects. Reinforced in the right parts and with a grease-resistant design, it's fairly easy to live with. However, the keyboard is disappointing.

Toshiba Satellite C855 10

It uses the standard chiclet design with a numeric keypad and no keys cut down in size to an annoying extent, but the key action is shallow and slightly indistinct. That the keyboard surround flexes a bit with anything but the lightest touch doesn't help either. There are much better keyboards out there.

Toshiba Satellite C855 9

The trackpad is much less problematic. Both the pad and the keys use a high-friction embossed texture that's fairly comfortable to run a finger across, and the two mouse buttons are completely separate, and large. There's a bit of see-saw action to the buttons, but we didn't find it an irritation. They keypad is to the left a little on the handrest to help you avoid brushing past it accidentally, another sign that practicality has been valued over aesthetics.

Toshiba Satellite C855

Speakers

Two speaker grills sit just above the keyboard, half-hidden in a pattern of circle cut-outs. Although Toshiba boasts about the Satellite C855's "SRS Premium Sound HD" processing - suggesting a focus on sound quality - the internal speakers are fairly poor, with brittle, tinny sound that starts to become harsh at top volume.

Alexandru

January 5, 2013, 2:39 pm

Hello! Can someone answer at my question? So: I bought a Toshiba Satellite C855 with W7 but I hate it and I want to go on Windows Xp, does it accept Xp?

simInvasioner

January 15, 2013, 1:08 pm

i dont see why it wouldn't.

seymour buttz

January 18, 2013, 8:34 am

Well, I'll tell you why it doesnt' SimInTheButtInvader.
Cause XP is obsolete, and Toshiba didn't pay Asus morons to write drivers for an obsolete OS.
If that guy asked you if it was possible to install Windows95 you probably would've said yes and just as quickly since it has been about that long since you've experienced a romantic relationship with anything more than a rest stop glory hole.
Eventually your cousin will return to your lovun arms and you along with your expired EnZyte prescription and just as useless expertise will have some value.
For Alex, you'll have to virtualize that XP cause lack of drivers makes it installable in bare form with no audio and almost as bad 800 x 640 video, and that is as nearly as useless as herpes and almost as badd SlimeButtLove and his livin in mommas basement uselessness.
I hate forum queens.

Okkarator

January 20, 2013, 12:05 pm

Windows XP will be supported till April 2014. It'll come more and more unstable and unsafe. Better start now to accustom with Windows 7.
And yes, XP was a fantastic system but it's time has come ;-)

Terri

January 20, 2013, 2:46 pm

Does the sims 3 work well on this laptop?

JT

February 12, 2013, 12:56 am

Hi, you can always update and go forward ie w8 but what ever o/s you have you cant go backwards - plus there is no support for xp anymore :0((

Miki Maine

March 14, 2013, 1:33 pm

hi i have buy Toshiba Satellite c850-f01p dose it support 8gb ram expantion?

Tiggersbeautyteam

March 28, 2013, 4:41 pm

I run my own business from home would this lap top be good enough for documents office pictures and doing business newsletters etc thanks in advance x

hidflect

August 10, 2013, 9:03 am

What an utter POS this laptop is. The "uh-oh" moment started when I noticed the keyboard bending in the middle as I typed. The speakers are the nastiest I've ever encountered, and I've owned laptops since 1998. The speaker jack is duff, forcing me to push with enormou effort to get it in. Now it randomly shuts down all the time and the damn thing creaks and squeaks when I pick it up to look at the bottom to read the serial number. I was a big Toshiba (Dynabook) fan but this Satellite blows. I bought it sight unseen presuming some level of quality above Total Sh1t. I hope I haven't suffered in vain. Heed my warning. A plasticy thing of cr@p with no redeeming qualities. AVOID AVOID AVOID.

John Scott

September 1, 2013, 8:17 pm

I bought a C855-S5245 and believe me its every bit as cheap. Keyboard flex is bad and have experienced missing key strokes too. WiFi with the Realtek is dreadful with poor range and widely variable connect speeds. Its a cheap notebook for sure and it makes you wonder if its simply a mistake to go under that $500 mark for a laptop? I also must note that the hard drive is mounted to the right of the touch pad in the chassis and the right palm rest gets very warm. Not sure this is a problem? But heat is never a good thing in electronics.

CTS

September 26, 2013, 8:27 pm

it will run xp but microsoft will stop supporting windows xp in April of 2014. So you might as well get use to windows 7. However I don't think anything will run good on this model of laptop.

Andre

September 30, 2013, 4:44 pm

The Hinge on my C855 Toshiba Satellite laptop broke within 6 months of purchase. Toshiba claimed it's not covered by warranty. Junk.

Jenna

October 19, 2013, 8:55 am

I have this laptop which I mostly use for gaming. It works fine on Minecraft, Assassins Creed etc.I have noticed that the keyboard bends a bit but it still works.
If I use the mouse pad for too long it hurts my finger due to the texture.

Arturo Paz

October 19, 2013, 8:01 pm

I HAVE A C855 WITH AN INTEL CORE I3 3120M 2.5GHZ 2.5GHZ IM LOOKING AT THE SPECS AND I SEE THAT IT COMES WITH BLUETOOTH BUT I CANT SEEM TO GET BLUETOOTH WORKING OR EVEN JUST VERIFY IF IT HAS BLUETOOTH ON IT. CAN SOMEONE HELP? THANKS

stijn

May 2, 2014, 1:22 pm

i have this laptop now for 6 and a half months and I don't like it.

It's a good laptop for easy programs and 2D games (such as The Darkness, Southpark and COD WAW at very low settings).

I bought it for 550 euros($762, - £452)

I can buy much better pc for less the price, and I only see one big difference.
you can't just take your pc with you but you can with your laptop.

i'm thinking of selling it, and buy an better pc.

Ariana

May 22, 2014, 12:20 am

I'm looking for it too.

Ariana

May 22, 2014, 12:24 am

My fan is running hot all the time, my touchpad doesn't work anymore although it says it does, so I'm using a usb mouse, and now I only have one usb port that works and it isn't working well. I have to use my other hand to position the connection just right for it to work. And since the usb ports are connected to the motherboard, I'll have to spend for that to fix it. But if I was going to do that, I might as well buy another laptop. Which I can NOT afford :(

Tell-it-like-it-is

April 22, 2015, 10:14 am

Mine does the same even doing barely anything.

Grant

October 24, 2015, 1:47 am

I have a C855D (the AMD version) and they all say they have bluetooth - they dont. i am running an upgraded AMD A10 4600M (3.2 GHz) with a 1TB toshiba HDD and 1TB Crucial SSD. i was going to upgrade the ram to 16GB when i realized that there is a network card i could pick up for $25 on amazon with higher speeds and bluetooth for now instead. installed that and the proper drivers and now i have bluetooth 4.0 and download/upload speeds up to 400Mbps, even though verizon FiOs only supports 350 Down/Up - which i have. so i basically built the overkill Satellite.

Moral of the story - I now have bluetooth.

comments powered by Disqus