Toshiba NB200-10Z - 10.1in Netbook - Toshiba NB200-10Z

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell



Our Score:


Since most netbooks are basically the same, design and usability have become disproportionately important - not that they aren't important anyway. Ultimately, provided a netbook can look good, be good to use and deliver good battery life without costing the earth (see the MSI Wind U115-025UK for an example of the latter) then you're onto a winner. So it goes with the NB200.

For starters it's an attractive looking device. Unlike so many notebooks and netbooks the lid has a matte plastic finish, in this case its brown with a rather funky textured finish. This makes it very durable, though we'd still recommend getting some kind of slip-case since Toshiba doesn't supply its own. In this sense Asus remains one of the more generous netbook purveyors.

Inside this brown theme is continued around the screen and hinge, as is the striped pattern from the lid. This is something of an acquired taste and at first we found it a little distracting, but you quickly grow used to it - as you do the only glossy refrain - the bronzed hinge section.

Happily the whole system isn't brown, with the main body of the machine finished in silver. And, within this body, is housed the isolation-style keyboard. This exhibits some common characteristics in that key travel isn't quite as deep as traditional keyboards; however, the key action is very crisp and positive and there's very little flex.

Compared to some netbooks the keys aren't the largest, but they're more than large enough for comfortable typing. This is made all the more true thanks to the excellent layout. Cursor keys are studiously withdrawn, with Page Up and Down keys positioned intuitively for an alternative scrolling method. Basically it's a very good keyboard; not quite the best, but still very good.

No complaints can be attached to the touchpad, either. It's well positioned, large, and the two buttons are firm and nice to use. They're definitely preferable to the popular choice of rocker-style switches, too, since you can hit them anywhere and still get the same tactile feedback.


June 26, 2009, 12:03 pm

great design like this should be used for ION netbooks. wouldn't be surprised if it gets re-released with windows 7 and ION and awesomeness.


June 26, 2009, 12:06 pm

I own of the cheaper 'black' versions...which is exactly the same in terms of specs, just the physical differences with the reviewed one (including no chiclet keyboard). I owned an Asus EEEpc901 before this, and I have to say this netbook is just about perfect, and highly recommended. 3 negative points - the keyboard on the black version has a lot of keyboard flex and whilst the keys are big and wide and easy to 'hit', the flex is very annoying. Secondly, there is no SSD option. Thirdly, comes with XP and currently you cannot install linux on it and make all the functions work (bluetooth, wireless, f(x) buttons,.. )..(I've tried unsuccessfully with ubuntu NB remix)...but it could be just a matter of time before it becomes compatible I guess.

Oh and I guess lastly, it's a pity that there is so much screen bezel real estate there..they could have fitted a bigger screen to this size bezel!

Tony Walker

June 26, 2009, 5:34 pm

These G-force sensors are an integral part of the HDD. Toshiba's site calls them a "Free fall sensor" (they've put the space in freefall); Seagate call it "G-Force protection".

Francesco Mastellone

June 26, 2009, 5:45 pm

What about just "accelerometers"? =p


June 26, 2009, 6:17 pm

The HP 2133 has the same sort of g-force / free-fall sensor to protect the hard drive, and has been out over a year.


June 27, 2009, 3:55 am

@ aeonturnip - just looked at the HP website and 2 reviews of the HP2133 none mention the HDD free-fall protection. Not looked for too long but can't see this feature mentioned anywhere. The HP 2133 has been out for over a year though and TR only gave it 7/10.


June 27, 2009, 4:54 am

Same old...the Asus N10j is nearing 9 months old and is still better specified than any current netbook on the market with HDMI and dedicated graphics!!

Jim 1

June 27, 2009, 3:20 pm

@ "Me"- I own a HP 2133 and can confirm that aeonturnip's comment is true. The HP 2133 does have a free fall sensor called the "HP 3D driveguard", which shuts off the HDD if its dropped.

James Morris

June 28, 2009, 5:14 pm

@Ataripower The Asus N10j also costs 50 per cent more than the Toshiba N200, coming perilously close to "real notebook" territory.


June 29, 2009, 10:45 pm

I think you will find the HDD free-fall protection only works if stick to Windows OS. If it is similar to my Toshiba Portege - it is utterly useless as it freezes a Power Point presentation so I had to disable it. Similarly I do not trust Toshiba on the expected battery life, using every setting to conserve power I only got a quarter of the claimed time it also overheats badly so it has to be switched off after four hours and Toshiba service is really, really bad.


July 9, 2009, 2:15 pm

@Rich Yes the HDD protection feature does have it's shortcomings, but I'd rather have it there than not. Most of the time, we are not doing Power Point presentations, it will be handy. I've only experienced it freezing a PP when I loaded a particularly large file with embedded video, and if I shifted the netbook whilst midstream. As for battery life, not sure why yours is so low? I get close to 7.5 hours on lowest settings (6-cell). And lastly, about the heat - are right, it does get rather hot after a the extent that I smell that hot-plastic smell...:-s...hasn't hurt the performance of the machine yet though, so I'll keep an open mind about it for now.


September 1, 2009, 11:10 pm

Toshiba NB200 netbook is a nice sleek laptop which comes with a ultra-portable star brand. Best part is that the the hard disk of NB200 comes with a accelerometer to detect any impact on it, read more here:

Ross Armstrong

September 27, 2009, 4:38 am

8/10 from me I'm afraid.. It still has no built in 3G Dongle which in my opinion would really make a netbook - and they don't even have to break the bank. My ECS G10iL based Advent 4213 netbook has this built-in already. So if they can do it, why can't any of the big names. Dell has done it BUT it's locked to Vodafone.. the ECS/Advent one isn't.

Sam Johnson

January 29, 2011, 1:33 pm

29/01/2010 I've had this notebook for some time now, and although I really loved it when I first got it, it unfortunately hasn't stood the test of time. THE BUILD IS ABSOLUTE RUBBISH - the screen died within the first two weeks (replaced under warranty, but took over a month), and since then the touchpad has become quite insensitive, the left touchpad button has weakened (needs to be pressed *hard*), and now the right-arrow key has gone. It's not even heavily used - it's been my second, mobile laptop, and I sometimes don't touch it for weeks. Great design, but utterly rubbish quality of build...


January 8, 2014, 2:49 am

it looks very awkward .

comments powered by Disqus