Home / TVs & Audio / TV / Toshiba 40L6353

Toshiba 40L6353 review

John Archer

By

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR

1 of 6

Toshiba 40L6353
  • Toshiba 40L6353
  • Toshiba 40L6353
  • Toshiba 40L6353
  • Toshiba 40L6353
  • Toshiba 40L6353
  • Toshiba 40L6353

Summary

Our Score:

8

User Score:

Pros

  • Great value
  • Good HD picture quality
  • Some interesting features on the Cloud TV platform

Cons

  • Sluggish operating system
  • Not many video streaming services
  • A little backlight clouding

Key Features

  • 40-inch LCD TV with edge LED lighting
  • Cloud TV online system
  • multimedia playback via USB and DLNA
  • Resolution+ scaling engine
  • Built-in Wi-Fi and WiDi
  • Manufacturer: Toshiba
  • Review Price: £430.00

What is the Toshiba 40L6353?

After a longer than expected wait, the first TV from Toshiba to sport the brand’s new Cloud TV system is finally here. The 40-inch 40L6353 also enjoys a slim, lightweight design, 100Hz processing, DLNA multimedia playback, and most excitingly of all, a price tag of just £430. Though you should note that as with the recently tested Sony KDL-42W653A, this aggressive price comes at the expense of any 3D support.

Toshiba 40L6353

Read our best TVs round-up for our top picks from 2013.

Toshiba 40L6353 - Design and Connections

Toshiba has enjoyed plenty of success in recent years from the simple formula of delivering really stylish looking TVs at knock-down prices. So it’s no surprise to find them continuing with this policy, delivering with the 40L6353 a fashionably slim bezel that’s only just over one centimetre across, as well as a reasonably trim rear, and a striking colour combination of a deep grey for the main bezel offset by a light silver flash along the very bottom edge.

If you look closely enough you notice that the finish is a bit plasticky compared with many of the more expensive TVs in town. So don’t look too closely!

Where connectivity is concerned, the 40L6353 exceeds expectations for such a cheap TV by providing highlights of four HDMIs, two USBs, built-in Wi-Fi, and built-in Intel WiDi for direct wireless connection of compatible PCs. It’s worth remembering, by comparison, that the £550 Sony 42W653A only had two HDMIs and one USB port.

It’s worth adding before we move on, too, that one of the HDMIs offers MHL support, for HD playback from compatible smart mobile devices.

Toshiba 40L6353 - Smart TV

The network connections can be used for streaming video, photo and music files from DLNA devices, or they can be used for taking you online with Toshiba’s interesting Cloud TV platform. As we have with the new Smart engines from all the major TV brands this year, we’ll be looking at Toshiba’s latest efforts in a separate feature in the coming days, but we’ll quickly run through some of the highlights here.

Toshiba 40L6353

The presentation adopts the multiple themed screen hub approach also used by Samsung and Panasonic this year, and the themed divisions are reasonably logical.

Among the more interesting touches are a large Twitter box on the Home page, which automatically presents feeds relating to the three most ‘trending’ TV shows currently being shown, as well as options for finding other TV-related feed lines; a handy recommendations system where you’re shown suggested highlight programmes culled from the electronic programme guide based around themes like sports, movies, and kid’s shows); the facility to search EPG listings via a neatly designed Smart app and select programmes to watch or record to USB HDD; and the ability to access a calendar/appointment schedule shared over the cloud with your smartphone or tablet computer.

Content wise key services include Netflix, the BBC iPlayer, Blinkbox and KnowHow Movies. But there’s no LoveFilm support, no 4oD, no ITV Player, and no Demand 5, leaving it in the current Smart TV second division where video streaming options are concerned.

Other negatives are that the Cloud TV OS is a bit sluggish in places, and that the remote control is a bit tricky to use when you’re trying to navigate around the Smart menus.

Overall, though, it’s good to see Toshiba coming up with some fresh Smart TV ideas, even if not all of those ideas work entirely successfully.

Toshiba 40L6353

Toshiba 40L6353 - Features and Setup

Inevitably given the skinniness of its frame the 40L6353 uses edge LED lighting to illuminate a full HD panel. There’s no local dimming system to aid contrast production, but as Samsung and Sony have proved, you don’t always need local dimming to deliver excellent TV contrast performances.

The 40L6353 also only provides a 100Hz motion effect, which looks pretty meagre compared to the huge (in some cases ‘1000Hz’ plus) panel driving figures conjured up by many rivals this year. But again, this doesn’t necessarily have to be a major concern on such an affordable TV provided the core panel’s response time is up to snuff.

Heading into the 40L6353’s onscreen menus uncovers some promising extra tricks. For starters Toshiba’s Resolution system is on hand to upscale standard definition sources and even sharpen HD ones – though it will be interesting to see if this still looks as effective in its results as it used to, given how far some other upscaling engines have come in recent times.

Picture calibration tools are in surprisingly plentiful supply considering how little the 40L6353 costs, including colour management, basic black/white level adjustment, white balance fine tuning, and handy ‘Hollywood’ day/night/pro picture presets.

Toshiba’s recent TVs have delivered a rather bewildering range of performance standards over the past couple of years, so it’s hard to predict how this first model from Toshiba’s latest 2013 range will shape up.

Eric Osman

July 31, 2013, 9:39 pm

I have the 32 inch version and I can honestly say that it has the potential to be a innovative set with it's Cloud based smart platform, but is let down by its sluggish operability. You can reset the T.V. but why should you do this all the time it decides to slow down. A recent automatic firmware update made the channel change procedure super quick, and when I approached Toshiba on Twitter to provide a similar update they responded with 'their test TV set operated at acceptable conditions'. If the above reviewer says it is sluggisgh, then change it with an firmware update for goodness sake!

Ger

November 22, 2013, 3:24 pm

Constant problems with internet settings not being retained and unable to use any of the "smart" features because TV is stuck in "store" mode.

Nelev Nedesen

January 8, 2014, 7:34 pm

I have this model because picture is a bit better than well-known competition (we also have at home) and motion processing is perfect after it "catches" movement of the video. But for Cloud media watching or USB playing, this aparatus is something most terrible I experienced. I always watch my content through wel-known-brand BD player, where picture is better, SD upscaling is better, menus are snappy.

6 seconds to load a settings menu? This is really cumbersome and Toshiba should install more capable procesoor in. Just to change display settings a minute or two passes easily.

CloudTV platform has no was to arange favorite apps. Some apps are only on "autoplay" central screen and you must wait to cycle. Additional anger gives me that autoplayback of central screen. I already HATE viewster, because I turn TV on, and than I walk to refridgerator for a drink or snack, and Viewster starts on full volume. MENU is so sluggish, that even if I'm standing beside and trying to switch to Vimeo, Viewster overtakes me, because menus are so slow. Solution is to mute speakers first.

Additional anger gives the fact that headphone audio out is delayed compared to quite good internal speakers; I have KRK monitors connected there and I cant have "center" speaker because of delay; so only internal or only external.

Illumination of this panel is so streaky that I really do have feeling I looking at night sky with clouds in it.

Remote is stupid as it can be: No way to remember anything in the dark. Complicated as is, it must had illumination! I do not understand why you can not use quick picture settings and aspect ratio while playing from USB, but in all other modes. So some movies (encoded wrong) is not watchable. But after all BD player does way better and less detoriated picture.

Subtitles!!! It reads only unicode format, so all possible subs I have are in ANSI format; what means turning PC on, converting sub, reuploading on USB stick... again competition I have at home, plays whatever.

FINALY: I only purchased this set because good and credible colors, good motion rendering and cheap price (I'm a dealer for TOSHIBA and that model had even some extra introducing discount). Despite I'm a dealer... awoid it if you do not want to loose all nerves at it. Yet another anger was added, since Toshiba removed NMW guarantee after I had TV at home (not recognize offer already added in TV packaging).

About desing: I love it, LCD panel is great and non shiny (if only not watched in dark room, where illumination uneveness is very distractive). I hate space designs and shiny plastic on well-known competition. Sound from TV is better than average.

PS: after swithing to consume more power (some internal standby), TV starts faster for normal TV watching and even SmartPlatform is loaded now in some 5-10second, before it was a minute! But every time TV looses power (disconnected or lack of mains power), it will load slow again for the first time. But pisture is good...

Nelev Nedesen

January 8, 2014, 7:35 pm

I have this model because picture is a bit better than well-known competition (we also have at home) and motion processing is perfect after it "catches" movement of the video. But for Cloud media watching or USB playing, this aparatus is something most terrible I experienced. I always watch my content through wel-known-brand BD player, where picture is better, SD upscaling is better, menus are snappy.

Nelev Nedesen

January 8, 2014, 7:36 pm

6 seconds to load a settings menu? This is really cumbersome and Toshiba should install more capable procesoor in. Just to change display settings a minute or two passes easily.

CloudTV platform has no was to arange favorite apps. Some apps are only on "autoplay" central screen and you must wait to cycle. Additional anger gives me that autoplayback of central screen. I already HATE viewster, because I turn TV on, and than I walk to refridgerator for a drink or snack, and Viewster starts on full volume. MENU is so sluggish, that even if I'm standing beside and trying to switch to Vimeo, Viewster overtakes me, because menus are so slow. Solution is to mute speakers first.

Nelev Nedesen

January 8, 2014, 7:36 pm

Additional anger gives the fact that headphone audio out is delayed compared to quite good internal speakers; I have KRK monitors connected there and I cant have "center" speaker because of delay; so only internal or only external.

Illumination of this panel is so streaky that I really do have feeling I looking at night sky with clouds in it.

Nelev Nedesen

January 8, 2014, 7:36 pm

Remote is stupid as it can be: No way to remember anything in the dark. Complicated as is, it must had illumination! I do not understand why you can not use quick picture settings and aspect ratio while playing from USB, but in all other modes. So some movies (encoded wrong) is not watchable. But after all BD player does way better and less detoriated picture.

Nelev Nedesen

January 8, 2014, 7:37 pm

Remote control is stup!d as it can be: No way to remember anything in the dark. Complicated as is, it must had illumination! I do not understand why you can not use quick picture settings and aspect ratio while playing from USB, but in all other modes. So some movies (encoded wrong) is not watchable. But after all BD player does way better and less detoriated picture.

Nelev Nedesen

January 8, 2014, 7:37 pm

Subtitles! It reads only unicode format, so all possible subs I have are in ANSI format; what means turning PC on, converting sub, reuploading on USB stick... again competition I have at home, plays whatever.

FINALY: I only purchased this set because good and credible colors, good motion rendering and cheap price (I'm a dealer for TOSHIBA and that model had even some extra introducing discount). Despite I'm a dealer... awoid it if you do not want to loose all nerves at it. Yet another anger was added, since Toshiba removed NMW guarantee after I had TV at home (not recognize offer already added in TV packaging).

About desing: I love it, LCD panel is great and non shiny (if only not watched in dark room, where illumination uneveness is very distractive). I hate space designs and shiny plastic on well-known competition. Sound from TV is better than average.

PS: after swithing to consume more power (some internal standby), TV starts faster for normal TV watching and even SmartPlatform is loaded now in some 5-10second, before it was a minute! But every time TV looses power (disconnected or lack of mains power), it will load slow again for the first time. But pisture is good...

Nelev Nedesen

January 8, 2014, 7:39 pm

So I really wonder this reccomendation and a 8/10 grade. It's 6/10 rather. Where I was heawy weighting if I need a bit better picture and lower price, or a general better TV.

comments powered by Disqus