Home / Product Round-ups / Cameras / Best Camera 2016: 18 best cameras you can buy

Best Camera 2016: 18 best cameras you can buy

Andy Vandervell

by

Canon EOS 100D review 12

14 / 18

Reviewed by Paul Nuttall

16 May 2013

Canon EOS 100D

Read full Canon EOS 100D review

DSLR – A great, affordable DSLR or first timers

Key features
  • 18-megapixel sensor
  • Creative filters feature live preview
  • Compact, small design
Currently the world’s smallest and lightest DSLR, the Canon EOS 100D delivers the type of image quality to justify the price tag. Weighing in at 407g, the 100D features an 18-megapixel APS-C CMOS sensor. The ISO range is 100-6400 but can be expanded to 25,600 for increased levels of detail.

There’s support for full HD video capture with frame rates ranging from 30 to 24fps. There’s a 3-inch, 1040-dot touchscreen display and plenty of creative filters to make your amateur snaps look a lot more impressive. It's come down in price significantly since launch, making it a great entry-level option.

Buy Now at Amazon.co.uk from £330

At time of review the Canon EOS 100D was available for £400.

Our Score:

9

John Biggs

July 18, 2015, 5:47 pm

to many camera's... the nikon d4s is not a posers camera. its basically a photo journalist tool used to shoot the sports section and its normally owned by the publication not the user... the fujifilm x series on the other hand is made for posers (its also crap build quality disguised as a premium product) not that they will ever admit it

as for a beginners dslr the canon eos 100d (rebel SL1) is not a very good choice considering its not really available new (not in my part of the world) the eos rebel T6s (760d) is normally cheaper from most online retailers

romicom

July 24, 2015, 1:40 pm

Disagreed completely with your judgement. I have been using Nikon DSLR for years, including the famous FM, F301, F801s and recently the D7000. I purchased the Fujifilm X100s a year ago, and saying they are crap build quality borders on ignorance. It is actually well-built and gives stunning pictures. It is the camera I carry with me all the time and I am very satisfied with the way it feels ad the pics are really great. In any case, the gear does not make the photographer.

John Biggs

July 28, 2015, 7:08 pm

the crap build quality comment is directed at fujifilm not nikon, and is based on return merchandise authorisations

audut

November 1, 2015, 10:00 am

which is best camera for photography in India

audut

November 1, 2015, 10:04 am

Which is best camera of this
01. Nikon 5200 - 18-140
02. Nikon 5300 - 18-140
03. Nikon 7000 - 18-105

Mark Stanbrook

November 20, 2015, 2:52 am

I think you make two incorrect claims. The Fuji is for posers? I'd say not. Take the X-T1 - a camera that is smaller, cheaper and for the most parts better than the Nikon/Canon offerings that are significantly more expensive and backed by a range of world-class lenses as good or better than the Nikon/Canon ones that cost four times as much... It's for practical people that want their budget to go as far as possible.

As far as build quality goes... I wouldn't know. I don't work for Fuji or any retailer of their goods. Perhaps there were manufacturing issues with some models but I don't know of anyone who's returned one.

Now, if you buy a D4S and you're not a professional with a need to blow your photos up to a significant size, THEN you are a poser. And you probably blew most of your budget on the body, shoved some cheap plastic on the front and wasted your money completely.

John Biggs

December 5, 2015, 10:25 am

the reason why x100/x100s/x100t has a high return rate is due to the fact they all use the same lens so they suffer from the same problem (sticky aperture blades) fuji are aware of the problem and replace the lens free of charge as long as your the original owner yet this is not public knowledge since fuji has not made any statements about this issue to the press

(most companies will only issue statements about defects if the problem could cause serious injury or death. example: exploding batteries, faulty chargers)

as for my posers comment, its just my opinion... don't get mad because someone on the internet has a different point of view than you :)

I've used the x-t1 but think the original sony a7 is the better buy now that its the same price.

Vikas

December 9, 2015, 7:16 pm

All these camera are available on Ebay or Amazon, so its available in India

another_scarlett

December 13, 2015, 1:17 pm

The D7000. I'm a photographer and have been shooting with the D3s (predecessor of the D4) for several years. The D7000 is essentially the same camera, just a less 'heavy duty' version. The D3s offering considerably more shutter releases, most notably. Given that the 7000 is half the price, it's an excellent choice, if it's still available.

Dave Langston

January 3, 2016, 7:11 pm

I changed all my Nikon stuff for Fujifilm last year and don't regret it for one moment. In just a few months I've found my way around the fuji system and taken far more pictures and better results then I could did with Nikon D7000 I had. With the Fuji everything is their either on a button or the quick menu so I'm doing more then I did before.

I know some people love Nikon just as other love Canon but they don't suit eveyone.

I'm also enjoying having far more space in my camera backpack but that's being filled up by me buying cheap vintage lenses I can't resist :-)

Tk

January 12, 2016, 3:52 am

Hi guys! I'm not a professional photographer but I've always been a camera enthusiast since I was a kid. I basically take photos for myself and for my blog. I recently sold my RX100 M3 (kinda crazy but it was for a good deal so no harm done!) and still thinking about which camera to get next.

I'm contemplating whether to get the:
a) Canon G5X (con: I'm scared it might not even be as good as my previous RX100 M3)
b) Sony RX100 M4 (con: price)
c) A Fuji camera? My friend suggested the XT1 but I had the X20 before and I'm scared it might too heavy to carry around!

What do you guys suggest?

Intercontinental

January 21, 2016, 5:36 am

Try looking here...............

http://www.cameralabs.com/buye...

criswell

January 21, 2016, 5:49 pm

hey guys which camera should i buy between olympus and nikon. i need your help guys . for pass two year i was using fujifilm

hGn

January 29, 2016, 8:01 am

I counted like 20 advertisements only on this page... now I see why AdBlockers are doing what they are doing.

Antihistiminer

February 15, 2016, 8:00 pm

I recommend Nikon Coolpix L340. Great camera for the price and 20.2 megapixels. I love it and it gets 4.5 stars. http://amzn.to/20zy1DV

Anders Jensen

February 19, 2016, 4:51 am

Would also recommend cameraowl (dot) com/digital-camera-buyers-guide-march-2016/ for beginners.

Lynn World

February 28, 2016, 10:12 pm

Big fan on the Canon 5DR. I love it. I do all my editing on a very small compact setup. A Macbook Pro Retina and a Lumiy Lightline task lamp and that is it.

Sonu

March 29, 2016, 3:03 pm

Nice article . . . .

Sonu

March 29, 2016, 3:06 pm

nice article list

Amr Abdul Fattah

April 9, 2016, 3:05 am

Panasonic G7 is awesome

Terminatah Xray

April 29, 2016, 6:43 pm

I can't believe this article mentioned a few of decent cameras (at best) but almost entirely ignores more formidable cameras from Nikon and Canon. What a crock.

Terminatah Xray

April 29, 2016, 6:48 pm

Your claim that an x-t1 is "better than the nikon/canon offerings...." is a complete lie. The x-T1 is an outstanding value camera, but in no way will outperform most nikon/canon offerings, esepcially their prosumer and pro bodies. Get a clue!

Terminatah Xray

April 29, 2016, 6:49 pm

the Sony A7 blows the doors off the x-t1.

Terminatah Xray

April 29, 2016, 6:50 pm

Nikon. Better bodies, better glass, better software. Trifecta.

Mark Stanbrook

April 30, 2016, 7:30 am

This is just a bump of the 2015 article. But your point is still as invalid. If you want to discuss professional bodies with equally blinkered fanboys then dpreview forums are probably for you.

comments powered by Disqus