Home » Round-ups » Mobile Apps » Top 10 Best Android Apps - August 2011

Top 10 Best Android Apps - August 2011

by | Go to comments

Share:
Androids

The surprise news of the month that Google is buying Motorola shows just how serious Google is about Android. No doubt the platform will continue to go from strength to strength, and certainly there's no shortage of quality apps available in the Android Market. This month we've rounded up another ten that we think are worth downloading for your phone. Here you'll find everything from old school shoot 'em ups to apps that let you phone your friends for free, or stay updated on the latest footy scores. As ever, feel free to add your own suggestions in the comments section at the end of the article. Click on the links below for the full reviews.

 

Round-up Items

HowStuffWorks

HowStuffWorks Android App

01 August 2011

This app provides a great window into the high quality infotainment available from the HowStuffWorks brand.

Our rating:
7/10
Runkeeper

Runkeeper Android App

02 August 2011

Runkeeper's excellent tracking and coaching abilities, combined with its impressive companion website, make it a must have for sports junkies.

Our rating:
8/10
Go Launcher EX

Go Launcher EX Android App

05 August 2011

Go Launcher EX may be free, but it holds its own against paid for options such as ADW Launcher EX and LauncherPro.

Our rating:
8/10
Viber

Viber Android App

04 August 2011

Viber is easy to use and offers better-than-usual call quality, so it's worth downloading if you have other mates with smartphones who you want to call for free.

Our rating:
7/10
NASA

NASA Android App

03 September 2011

NASA may be in limbo as to what its next human space program will entail, but this app provides you with plenty of ways to keep up to date with some of the more interesting stuff the agency is currently up to.

Our rating:
8/10
Star Blitz

Star Blitz Android Game

06 August 2011

Star Blitz is a classy top-down shooter with good looking graphics and engaging, old school gameplay.

Our rating:
7/10
Dice Player

Dice Player Android App

07 August 2011

It doesn't work smoothly on every device, but when it does work Dice Player is a great option for playing back high definition MKV files.

Our rating:
7/10
Vevo

Vevo Android App

08 August 2011

If you want to check out the latest music videos from big-name artists on your phone, Vevo is a must have.

Our rating:
7/10
Air Attack

Air Attack HD Part 1 Android Game

09 August 2011

Air Attack HD's sumptuous graphics and addictive game play make it well worth a download.

Our rating:
8/10
UK Sport News

UK Sports News Android App

10 August 2011

UK Sports News isn’t the most complicated app in the world, but what it does, it does well.

Our rating:
7/10
 
comments powered by Disqus