Home » Round-ups » Cameras » Best Waterproof Cameras

Best Waterproof Cameras

Audley Jarvis by

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FT3
Jump to:

5 of 17

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FT3

Originally reviewed by Gavin Stoker 15 March 2011

With its armour-plated metallic exterior and chunky, sealed latches the FT3 is built to withstand the kind of punishment that would lead to the death of most compacts. Waterproofed to 12 metres, shock-proofed to two metres, freeze-proofed to -10°C and sealed against dust and grime, it’s certainly a tough little cookie, and even throws GPS functionality (along with a compass, altimeter and barometer!) into the mix.

Our Score


John D

April 12, 2012, 6:44 am

It was great to see this comparison posted only yesterday. Thank you! But notably absent is the well rated Nikon Coolpix AW100, already around for months. Why have the earlier Sony TX10 alongside the little changed TX20, but no AW100? It doesn't make sense.


April 13, 2012, 9:51 pm

Leaked the second time I had it in the water. Another beautiful reef - with me going home with no pics.


December 11, 2012, 12:59 pm

Just curious, which of these cameras is the one that leaked?

Matthew Ramsden

December 28, 2012, 10:47 am

this camera leaks , don't by it,fujifilm leaks, not even properly submersed, no good save your money!

don't want to know about your warranty

Imre Csoka

January 5, 2013, 10:05 am

yes, please clarify, what camera are you are talking about here as you are starting to make no sense ; - ) Fujifilm or the camera in question Sony Cyber-shot DSC-TX5?

Ken Bennett

January 7, 2013, 9:34 pm

fujifilm xp leaks...


January 13, 2013, 7:21 pm

Yeah, I used to own the fuji xp and it stopped working because it fell out of my pants pocket while i was speaking to somebody, the focusing mechanism stopped working and all it does is click. I have since purchased the olympus and have had no problems with it.


February 12, 2013, 6:07 am

I disagree with the Pentax Optio WG-1 review. I recently bought mine in Singapore and it has been one of the biggest mistakes I’ve ever made. After been ripped off by the dealer in Sim Lim Square, I found out that the “international warranty” they handed me was valid only in Singapore. And I learned that in Australia after trying the camera for the first time underwater and it broke down! BTW this was during my holidays in South East Asia so it also ruined the rest of my trip, I had to take pictures with my iphone.
I am very upset with the dealer because they scammed me since they knew I wasn't buying the camera if it didn't had an international warranty. This has completely disappointed me, adding on top of that the frustration of not been able to claim the warranty here in Australia.

Seems like the company's faulty products (it broke on its first submersion!!) and the dealer's treacherous selling practices made the purchase my nightmare (by the way the dealer ripped me off with $900 in the camera and all its accessories ).

Note: If you ever buy a Pentax underwater camera, please be sure it’s the cheapest option, put it into water in front of the dealer before buying just to make sure it won’t brake immediately, and make sure that your warranty is international, believe me you’ll need it.


February 12, 2013, 6:09 am

I know for sure the Pentax leaks, and the warranty is a mess.

Tiago Soares

March 18, 2013, 2:11 pm

I bought a Samsung WP10 about 2 years ago. The first time I used it in the sea (about 2 months ago) it leaked and since the warranty is over, I now have to pay for the loss...


May 1, 2013, 7:02 pm

They all leak. These are not waterproof, despite the name. Each needs to be properly cared for and especially if in salt water, they must be rinsed in fresh water and all seals checked after every use in water. As you read these comments and ask around, you will hear horror stories about each brand and each model. None are perfect and all will eventually let you down.


May 21, 2013, 1:59 am

Totally agreed with you about Pentax Optio. It leaks and killed my camera on a Galapagos trip just before we saw the marine iguanas feeding underwater. Review of the photos showed a drop of condensate after the 2nd swim and it died on 4th swim I checked the rubber gasket of the doors and they are wafer thin. How can that prevent any water from coming into the camera? Poor materials and assembly caused these failures.

Peter A Steadman

July 4, 2013, 10:31 am

are you still happy with olympus and as your usage tested it


July 4, 2013, 3:31 pm

Yes, I have had some time to use Olympus now and it exceeds the Fuji in every area especially when using it for video, the video is much clearer and less noisy. The only positive for the Fuji is that it had a quicker turn on time, then my Olympus.


September 8, 2013, 6:58 pm

Matthew...have used the Fujifilm for some time now...never had a problem...


October 26, 2013, 4:28 am

I purchased an olympus TG 610,Out of the box the Toggle/Ok button did not function properly . Sent it away for repair.. Came back worked partially for a few months then powers up goes green screen and shuts down . By this time WARRANTY is up .Sent away again for repair. They Fixed it for Free.. :). Worked a couple months and now Goes green screen and quits again. :( :(..It is the Most EXPENSIVE Camera I Have Ever OWNED... And The WORST CAMERA I HAVE EVER OWNED... :( :( :(

Scammed by Fuji

February 24, 2014, 11:14 pm

Don't buy a Fuji XP. Mine worked for less than a year. Sent it in for repair under warranty. They reset it and replaced back cover. First time I used it in water it leaked. Sent it back and they said battery cover wasn't closed properly. Costs way to high to repair it. Battery cover is cheaply made. Don't waste your money on this camera.


February 25, 2014, 9:40 am

For those who want to buy this digital camera, it is well away. It 'an emeritus bin Samsung .... that too if it makes you even pay off handsomely over ..... 200euro ..... Holidays 2012, brand-new digital camera in just 30cm of water the machine I was' spoiled and despite samsung the extended warranty did not recognize me as the same and according to them 'was my negligence in use ...... and I'm sorry' or not a digital camera underwater? Or is it a real 'just flop house? Findings ...... Samsung products and low-level assistance bad. -

Martti O Suomivuori

April 25, 2014, 4:14 pm

I had three Olympuses and only the last one, the TG-1 was watertight until it got confiscated by my ex who then twisted off the card slot latch so it became useless.

I am seriously considering another TG-1.


June 10, 2014, 12:40 pm

Caught Amazon running a promo on digital cameras, got lucky. Has anyone tried - HUGE ZON DEALS (google it, forgot the url) There is a yellow box that gives discount promo codes for any product on Amazon. Couldn't believe that I got to choose my own discount. Once I saw the price, I jumped right on it. Just thought I'd share.

comments powered by Disqus