Home / TVs & Audio / Headphones / Teufel AC 9050 PH Headphones

Teufel AC 9050 PH Headphones review

By

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

Teufel has been on a big marketing push as of late with a veritable Tsunami of its products coming our way in the last few months. However, all of these have been loud speaker based devices, like the iTeufel iPod dock and Motiv 3 surround sound speaker set, whereas today it's the turn of personal audio to feel Teuful's unique Teutonic touch.

Surprisingly, considering the price of said speaker systems, these headphones are very modestly priced, coming in at around £65. This makes them easily affordable even for the very casual listener and thus opens a huge potential market but, and it's a big but, there's some serious competition from more established brands as well. So, can they hold their own in this testing environment?

Well, if a large size is an important factor then Teufel's off to a pretty good start. The AC 9050 PH's design incorporates earcups that are big enough to completely enclose your ears and the headband is about two inches across at its thickest point. There are hinges that enable the phones to be folded away to a certain degree but essentially you'd have to seriously love these headphones to consider taking them out on the road.

However, despite the rather rugged look these aren't actually the most sturdily built headphones we've ever seen. Not to even remotely suggest they're likely to fall apart without warning but those chunky hinges are only made of plastic and the point at which each cup rotates looks like a definite weak point, especially as it doesn't freely rotate 360 degrees like those on Grado headphones, for instance.

Something you can be reassured of, though, is that a broken cable won't mean the end of these headphones. Instead of a hard-wired cable, these use a modular system whereby a standard 3.5mm jack socket on the left earpiece can be used in conjunction with any 3.5mm jack cable you so desire. Not that Teufel expects you to provide your own cables from the off, as two are included in the box and they both lock into the left earpiece using a custom tab on the jack plug - just plug it in, give it a twist and it'll lock into place.

One cable is formed into a helix enabling you to stretch it from 115cm (just about perfect for sitting at a desk with your mp3 player in front of you) to around 250cm, while the other is straight with a length of 310cm. Obviously there are arguments for a modular cable system potentially damaging sound quality but at this sort of level the tiny differences between a permanent and modular cable are going to be next to impossible to notice.

stranded

March 27, 2009, 7:04 am

"...these reproduce most genres of music to a satisfactory level and excel at some..."





never understood what this means, always thought that audio equipment excels at all "genres" or none.

Ed

March 27, 2009, 1:00 pm

Yes and no. Go and listen to your favourtie tracks on a multitude of different Hi-Fi setups and headphones and you'll find that different ones seem to be better at others when it comes to certain types of music. Sure, most conventional Hi-Fi systems, of a certain quality, will cope with pretty much anything you throw at them but when you're talking about 2.1 systems, surround systems, or headphones, where the physical limitations of the design present certain problems, there's almost always a 'black spot' in the device's audio reproduction.

stranded

March 27, 2009, 7:03 pm

I understand what you wanted to say in your review and i'd write the same even though i really don't believe that "hi-fi" systems can reproduce in a different way various genres. Audio-Video machines must just be neutral and precise, they are just reproducing, not producing. I just like only professional audio and video equipment. They have much better design too.

Rory Ginger

March 31, 2009, 6:13 am

Absolutely not true, as an avid listener of higher end hi-fi I am aware (as are many others)that each piece of equipment slightly alters the end sound.


This is a result of bias in frequencies which may then effect the music playing dramatically.


Each genre uses different quantities of certain frequency bands, and has different percussive attack.


Doesn't this suggest a little bit to you that not all music or equipment is the same, therefore the variations are far more than "just sound" or "good sound"? seems a bit black and white to me.

stranded

April 1, 2009, 9:23 am

Every genre has its own mix of frequencies (not always). Let's take one frequency, one genre has 5% of this and an other genre has 95%. Let's take an audio machine that can't reproduce this frequency in "high fidelity". It will sound bad in both genres, more or less, doesn't matter much, i will be disturbed, don't know about you.


Conclusion=perfect or lame=cruel reality. Thank God there is human imagination or we would be dead.

Rory Ginger

April 1, 2009, 1:34 pm

This is getting into the realms of trolling.





Funny but last I recall all sound reproduction is scientifically analogue. I don't care how many times any company claims to be digital in any respect.





Clearly I should sell my M-audio/Arcam Bi-Amp/Tannoy setup for my pc and get a nice logitech system using onboard sound, because both sound "good", neither can possibly sound better. That way I can profit some and I'll never even notice the difference. So glad its clarified now.





"Thank God there is human imagination or we would be dead."


(Don't get me wrong, in some cases audiophile stuff doesnt always hold true for example spending loads extra on cabling has always bugged me I have 𧶀 cables and ٣ ones I've never been fussed, but some things are easy to illustrate ie. Grado vs Sennheisser neither is better, they are drastically different. Try that one out before replying, if you don't notice a difference its not down to imagination, you'd have to be deaf.)

stranded

April 1, 2009, 8:58 pm

What i said is that any given audio machine has equally "good" or "bad" performance in every "genre". It ads its own "color" everywhere. It's been some time since i left kindergarten, to believe in fairy tales. I have some AV stuff (not hi-end, i am not rich) and i have "seen" too much other equipment that was very mediocre (that was a humble comment) and their owners were very proud for they spent much money for them. Never noticed any difference in various "genres".


I think Van Morisson says some words...


"There's just too many myths


Can't you see I'm just trying to stay in the game


Just too many myths


I'm just trying to maintain"


I just pretend i am enjoying music or i will be dead.

Rory Ginger

April 2, 2009, 6:46 am

Epic ROFL.


You're a funny guy.


You made my day and I hope the trusted reviews team enjoyed it as much as I did.

stranded

April 2, 2009, 8:09 am

Thank you sir for choosing us. I hope you enjoyed it.


By the way, i have the Logitech Z5500 and a Soundblaster card. My brother (not me) says the whole system in games and music sounds...sounds...i can't say it... I say just decent for PC.


Read some user reviews online. One names something a top product and another a complete crap. You are very sure of things you have no idea about. The typical sedated "user".

Ed

May 22, 2009, 2:29 pm

I never realised this conversation went on for so long. I've just had reason to revisit this review and seen your continued ridiculous statements, stranded. You're seriously trying to engage in an argument over sound quality when your reference system is a sound blaster card and some Logitech surround sound speakers - not very 'professional'.

comments powered by Disqus