Home / Home appliances / Smart Home / Tado Smart Thermostat / Performance and Verdict

Tado Smart Thermostat: Performance and Verdict

Gordon Kelly

By Gordon Kelly



Our Score:


Tado Smart Thermostat – Performance

So how did the new Tado thermostat perform? In short: much like the old one. There is some initial fiddling with settings as you fine-tune your day and night preferred temperatures, but after a week or two you largely forget about it and let the Tado get on with everything – which is exactly how it should be.

Operation is incredibly straightforward. Both the web browser and smartphone apps are visually identical (form factors withstanding) and neatly divided into temperature (environmental and set), proximity (whether you and any other registered users are home or away) and noticeboard sections.

The last of these is particularly nice. It provides reminders on the current status - day or night heating - and latest actions performed as well as providing heads up weather warnings. For example: it is raining today don’t forget an umbrella! Unfortunately the app can’t currently be set to give such warnings as smartphone notifications and you do forget to check given operation of the Tado quickly fades in the background.

Dig deeper into the controls and you can specify your Sleep Time (night period) along with temperatures for both and differentiate settings for particular weeks. You can also choose your ‘Comfort Level’ which determines how early the Tado should start heating your home when it detects you are coming back. A sliding scale of ‘Comfort’ and ‘Savings’ means it can be anywhere from up to temperature on arrival or only starting to heat as you walk in the door.

A nice touch is also being able to enter your current heating costs - duration, amount, building type, preferred temperatures - but sadly it doesn’t go as far as letting you enter your particular tariff. Add that and it would be a very powerful feature if it could be cross referenced across energy providers.


So what about the 31% quoted savings? Your individual energy needs, tariffs and home size make for huge variants, but quite simply a system which automatically adjusts your heating when you are and aren’t there is going to be more accurate than even the most painstaking of manually programmed boilers. Furthermore it won’t forget when you go on holiday or have an impromptu weekend away.

Consequently we did track monthly savings around the 25-30% mark compared to our time with a standard thermostat - though if you have a precisely set thermostat or very predictable weekly routine the savings are likely to be a lot less. On the flip side it was roughly inline with savings we have seen from the Nest so picking a detection-based thermostat is mostly about picking the platform and aesthetic you prefer.

On the flip side we saw bigger savings from the Honeywell Evohome and its room-by-room control. This is a far more expensive option (around three times the price for a three-bedroom home) but being able to switch off every room except the one(s) you know you will be in during the day is even more efficient and certainly the choice for bigger homes where continually turning the whole heating up and down isn’t necessarily the best move.

Should I buy the new Tado Smart Thermostat?

Like any smart thermostat, it depends on your needs. As a rule of thumb I would say detection based thermostats like the Nest and Tado are best for smaller homes and flats and the room-by-room system of the Honeywell Evohome is your weapon of choice for bigger houses. In addition to this those with flexible schedules will see the most benefit as it is something your pre-existing boiler settings will struggle to match.

That said for the right demographic the Tado is a hit. It is stylish, simple and intuitive and does its job brilliantly. It is a close run thing with the Nest. The Nest has even better aesthetics and no bridge plus a wider ecosystem that includes its excellent Protect smart smoke alarm and the promise of an array of compatible IoT devices in future as Nest has opened up its platform.

Despite this Tado is the choice for independents. At £199 (or £4.99 per month rental) excl installation (£50) it is cheaper than the Nest (£249 excl. £50 installation), isn’t part of Google’s empire (if that matters to you) and has proximity detection as you approach your home, not just whether or not you are within it.

Existing Tado customers won’t need to upgrade, but if you haven’t taken the plunge yet on a smart thermostat Tado now makes an even more compelling case for your hard earned cash.

SEE ALSO: More Smart Home Reviews


The updated Tado system for 2015 isn’t a radical departure from the company’s debut unit last year. That said the changes are beneficial and its proximity detection is second to none – including Nest. Tado really should ditch the clumsy wired bridge in generation three and room-by-room smart thermostats will better suit bigger homes, but it remains easy to recommend.

Overall Score


Hamish Campbell

January 3, 2014, 8:55 am

I presume their savings are based on comparision with a completely non auto adjusting heating system...they seems pretty high regardless.

I've just had a new gas boiler put in, this supplies hot water for the radiators to heat the house and potable for the taps. This comes with an outside thermometer and the system will adjust the house heating water temperature according to the outside temp. following a heating curve that one can adjust (i.e. a curve which hopes to simulate what the hot water temperature needs to be for your particular house when at different outside temps). This then tries to ensure that the house temperature stays constant rather than fluctuating and avoid the costly heating up of a cold house.

there are also timings so you can put in your week schedule for sleep times and when everyone is out at work/school.

What you don't get is internet connectivity and auto adjustments for if you turn up at home unexpectedly and the house is a bit cool. These could convenient, but if you have put in a relatively new system you probably have the other stuff and any further savings are likely to be very small.

Gordon Kelly

January 3, 2014, 3:43 pm

Yes they are... much like phone and laptop battery life scores are made in the most favourable circumstances (dim screen, WiFi off, etc).

I'm sure that for people with the newest boilers and most recent thermostats the cost savings will be less, but as you say you gain automatic adjustments and remote control which which are convenient and offer additional financial gain.

I suspect the assumption is those who can afford the latest premium heating systems can also afford a smart thermostat on top, while those who cannot afford to upgrade their old boiler will find a smart thermostat a much cheaper option than renewing their whole system.


January 4, 2014, 12:36 am

Not sure about the "costly heating up of a cold house" logic. Heat loss from a hot body is proportional to T to power 4 (where T is temp difference between inside & out in this case). If nobody is in the house, then you continue to lose heat energy to the colder outside. After not much time, it becomes much more efficient to remotely turn the CH back on via a smart device say half an hour before you get home so you are nice & toasty on entry with lower carbon footprint & bills.
The constant heating of the house at all times position went the same way as dodgy storage heater salesmen.
If, like many people, your leaving & returning to the house varies significantly from day to day, this & the other upcoming smart thermostats would seem an interesting innovation worth considering, especially as they would seem to help to conserve fossil fuels.
Would be great if you could perform basic timed "on" & "off" from the standard IOS7/Android etc calendar we are familiar with, so remote heating control becomes part of your natural daily workflow without jumping off to a separate app.


January 4, 2014, 9:24 am

I just turn the heating on when I arrive home. Much simpler and more efficient still. And it makes sense too. If I return to a heated house it feels unnecessarily warm, because I am warm through having been moving about outside - even the physical activity of shopping is enough. But to those already home, who have been more sedentary, say the house temp is just right.
Even returning to an 'unheated' house, it is still warmer than outdoors, and I find that switching the heating on as I arrive means that the house is up to temp by the time I have cooled off without any discomfort.

Just Me

January 5, 2014, 4:07 pm

I presume you either had old promotional material or did not get the gist of it.
For the monthly plan, you pay per year in advance.

You may want to update your story appropriately.

Since you made this potential glaring omission, how much of the rear of it is worth listening to?

Regardless, with the release of the Tado product, a national energy company here has released a product that does some of the same features.
The kicker is that it is £100 less. Is the Tado system that monitors the householders worth the extra £100?

Hamish Campbell

January 6, 2014, 11:30 am

yeah, you are right, that makes no sense.

Hamish Campbell

January 6, 2014, 11:39 am

I'll just make a little extra note:

The addition of the external temperature monitoring and adjustment based on that has two benefits and here we are mostly discussing costs savings which is great.

However, since getting mine I've really appreciated that the house temperature stays so constant, where previously I was running around turning the radiators up and down around the house and getting too warm and too cold regularly (and complaints from the rest of the family !). So there is some real comfort improvements too.


January 23, 2014, 11:25 am

Had mine installed today as I work a shift pattern on an 8 week rota and was fed up of having the heating going when not at home-very impressed so far. Seems like it will just run in the background without me having to think about it or even keep opening the app.


January 30, 2014, 11:13 pm

Buyer beware. I am UK based, I own this product and I can say it is crap. Don’t buy. It doesn’t work. I don’t know what kind of idiots have designed this thing but they really managed to screw it up. The thermostat doesn’t register on the iPhone app half the time and it doesn’t control the heating properly. Last night the house was at 21 deg all night. This is an example of piss poor execution and a complete waste of money!!!!!!!


January 30, 2014, 11:23 pm

This thing doesn't work. Look at the graph below. I bought Tado and I have been ripped off.


January 31, 2014, 10:44 pm

Which company did the install - were they any good?


February 1, 2014, 6:29 pm

Works well. Professionally installed (for free by Tado). One glitch initially when it seemed to lose connection but once I had charged thermostat up (which apparently you need to do first time you use it) and reset all three boxes it has worked flawlessly. Others may have different experiences but mine is good. Installer said that DIYers often get it wrong but that he had never been called back to an inoperative system.

Tony Di Bernardo

February 2, 2014, 8:21 pm

Hi all,

I've ordered tado° on december 20th and delivery date was set for january 13th. Later on I received an email that delayed the delivery to February 10th. Today I received another email saying that delivery has been delayed again till February 27th. As I already told their support team I have already been billed on my credit card on December 21st and this means more than a month ago.
I think this delaying game does not play god at all for tado° should I still trust them?

Gordon Kelly

February 5, 2014, 12:23 pm

I see no reason not to trust them, but those delays are very frustrating.

Gordon Kelly

February 5, 2014, 12:23 pm

Graph below?
Please expand on "doesn't work" - without doing so it merely looks like Trolling

Gordon Kelly

February 5, 2014, 12:24 pm

Did you self install? Certainly this wasn't my experience.

Gordon Kelly

February 5, 2014, 12:25 pm

What error? You aren't very clear about this.

Do please explain which product you are referring to that costs "£100 less". British Gas Hive? That's £199 including fitting and we are testing a unit now.

Gordon Kelly

February 5, 2014, 12:26 pm

There's an option to have it only start warming up when you get home which would address your concerns.


February 6, 2014, 11:00 pm

This Tado system is perfect! I self installed my system and has been working for about a month and I have to say I am impressed. There was an initial delay in the delivery and I have to admit I was concerned but my faith was restored when I got the system up and running. The heating in my house is so efficient and never feels too warm or cold - no wasted energy. The interface on the Tado app is clear, simple and allows you to fine tune desired temperatures or heating schedules. The Tado app lets you review the times your burner was running to heat your house and on reflection I have noticed a dramatic reduction in burner running time. On one test I had the burner running a total of 5 hours between 05:30 to 21:00 just to maintain a temperature of 19 degrees C! Tado is simply outstanding and I would highly recommend this system to anyone.


February 7, 2014, 1:54 am

I've had this product for 4 days and it does what they claim, however there is a major floor. There is no separate daytime temperature option. This means if your at home during the day and the system is set to automatic tado is always heating the home.

Before i had tado my old timer turned the heating on and off first thing in the morning and in evening, during the day the heating was set to off. Due to being more active during the day we do not needed the heating to be on. I now find my self having to manually turn tado off in the morning and back on at tea time so as to prevent it heating the home unnecessarily and costing me money.

Tado have told me that they will rectify the problem by the heating period 2014/2015.


February 7, 2014, 12:40 pm

I ordered around November 20th last year and got delivery around Dec 20th. Installation was done by the local UK Supplier around Jan 30th so you can see that the whole process took a while. Having said, now that it is installed I am very pleased and rather obsessively checking the temperature the house every 10 minutes or so. It does everything they say it will and more importantly my wife doesn't feel the house is cold.


February 17, 2014, 12:29 pm

I can see this working in open plan flats and houses but not in traditional UK houses where rooms are separated with doors and there is one thermostat / boiler timer typically in the hallway that is not where you need the heat anyway


March 3, 2014, 1:12 pm

The Tado temperature is wireless. You can put it wherever you want? Besides, all UK houses will have a temperature sensor somewhere in the house (typically in the hallway) - so whatever you set your thermostat to, will be measured from the temperature sensor in the hallway. So this is actually much better as you can put the wireless sensor in whichever room you want to heat up, set the temperature you want and that particular room will then control when the heat stops...


March 5, 2014, 12:08 pm

Odd reply .........why would this not work in a standard UK house ....TADO has one thermostat that you can place where your old one was or where you wish .......it works in my UK house very well .....


March 16, 2014, 8:40 pm

I've just installed Tado and I so desperately want it to work - but at the moment I can't graph anything, the website is blank and the away function isn't working - so my house is at a nice (and quite expensive) 19/5degrees from 6:30 until 23:30 each day. Please Tado - get in contact - sort out my problems and allow me to say nice things about you.

comments powered by Disqus