Synology DS214play NAS pictures

1 of 11 pictures

Hover to zoom

DS214play back
DS214play angle 2

11 Pictures - Synology DS214play NAS

Enlarge
  • DS214play angle 2
  • DS214play back
  • DS214play front
  • DS214play side
  • DS214play
  • DS214play setup
  • DS214play setup 2
  • DS214play setup3
  • DS214play setup4
  • DS214play UI
  • Gigabit Ethernet

Steve

November 7, 2013, 5:16 pm

It seems this review completely misses the point of the 214play - as I currently use a Synology NAS primarily to stream video to a tablet, I'd happily pay more for hardware transcoding. You appear to have brushed over the whole point of buying this

Mike

November 7, 2013, 6:52 pm

This, so much this. I'm looking into a new NAS setup and while I
like the look of the Synology range, being able to pick up a 5 or 8 bay
NAS that's packing hardware transcoding would be a sure sell for me, so
I'm hoping there'll be a roll out more models with this feature.

Ub

November 7, 2013, 10:25 pm

Armada? This should have the Atom CE5335.

Pretty significant difference, IMO.

guest

November 8, 2013, 3:46 am

Exactly.
Take a look at the specs on synology's site and what they chose you highlight. The DS414 is touted as a dual 1.33GHz with floating point and hw encryption engine; the DS214play as a dual 1.6HGz with floating point and hw transcoding engine. The DS214play is geared toward home media library consumers where as the DS414 towards SOHO.

Dave

November 8, 2013, 7:24 am

"It also shares its bigger brothers' shift to a dual core Marvell Armada XP floating point CPU"

Actually, it has a dual core Intel Atom CE5335, running at 1.6 Ghz. It is this Intel "Evansport" architecture that enables the hardware transcoding.

Pete

November 8, 2013, 8:42 am

Why no testing of the transcoding feature - which is kind of the whole point of going for something like this over, say a custom unraid + plex build. Reveiew seems a bit copy/patse and rushed imo.

Ben3001

November 8, 2013, 12:17 pm

Marvell Armada XP CPU? Isn't the DS214play is equipped with an Intel Atom?!

Ben

November 8, 2013, 12:56 pm

Agreed -- the play suffix refers to the ability of this NAS device to transcode to 1080p on the fly due to the addition of Intel Evansport CE5335 SOC. I read somewhere that Synology have had to remove some of their features due to licencing issues... not sure on the details though.

On a separate note, how does a 2 bay drive support RAID 5, 6 and 10? Is this through the USB 3 interfaces? I assume RAID 1 is supported as well but is omitted from the review.

James

November 8, 2013, 1:38 pm

The review is wrong, the DS214play has an Intel Atom-based CPU instead of ARM, see http://forum.synology.com/wiki...

RoboJ1M

November 8, 2013, 2:21 pm

http://www.synology.com/produc...

http://www.synology.com/produc...

It's compatible with the 2 and 5 bay DX expansions units.

Peter

November 8, 2013, 3:50 pm

"As for the media elements, we did indeed find real time transcoding works as advertised which will be useful for anyone looking to run a sizeable batch of converting while switching the PCs off"

ub

November 8, 2013, 4:16 pm

The DS214play has the Evansport CE5335, not the Armada like you mentioned.

Gordon Kelly

November 8, 2013, 5:27 pm

Thanks for all the comments on the CPU. We're checking the spec sheet with Synology as the one were given listed the CPU as the same ARM - based Marvell as the DS414 but with an undisclosed clock speed.

confused

November 9, 2013, 3:05 pm

Can't I use the Media Server package on the DS414 to stream videos? Or is streaming video specific only to the DS214play?

Mjdmjd

November 10, 2013, 10:07 am

I bought one but haven't yet figured out how to access it from a remote location. I find the documentation poor in that regard. Is there a 'novice' FAQ on that?

Pete

November 11, 2013, 8:05 am

Sorry, when Im thinking about transcoding I was wondering if this device can convert a 720p or 1080p stream on the fly to my iPad, so that we can watch films from our library. I'm not sure that anyone is as interested in batch conversions as part of an overnight process.

If it could then it opens up the possibility of not having to go down the route of a custom built media server, which would be appealing to a lot of users and a lot easier to gain approval for from the boss :)

My bad for not being clear.

Gordon Kelly

November 11, 2013, 10:33 am

Thanks to all, Synology has confirmed the CPU is a dual core Intel Evansport CPU running at 1.6GHz. Their spec sheet did indeed not mention this.

The review is updated and it explains the performance gap between the DS414 and DS214play. It is also provokes an interesting Intel vs ARM debate with the Marvell's ARM-based chip so superior is data transfer speeds.

Joanne_Synology

November 11, 2013, 10:46 am

Hello, Joanne from Synology UK here. You can contact our technical support team on uk_ support (@) synololgy .com however in order to access remotely, you need to open the ports on your router by 'port-forwarding'.

Joanne_Synology

November 11, 2013, 10:47 am

Hi, You can stream videos on any Synology NAS, Just the DS214play comes with the Intel Evansport CPU so can trans-code much much faster. Perfect for multimedia enthusiasts!

Evan

November 12, 2013, 2:16 am

Gordon Kelly (and others)

I have a question for you and I hope you can answer it.

I have a Squeezebox Touch hooked up to my iMac and I stream all my music content from the iMac. However, I'm kind of tired having my music on the iMac as it needs to be 'on' all the time to feed the Squeezebox Touch with music. Which NAS would you recommend for my purpose? Will the WD My Cloud work with Logitech Media Server? Or should I go with the Sonology Play? Video streaming/encoding/transcoding isn't important.

Thanks in advance.

ITChick

November 15, 2013, 4:30 pm

Hi Evan, Synology have a NAS selector here: http://www.synology.com/produc... which let's you tick what you need storage wise etc and then it recommends the most suitable models. Pretty handy!

arron

November 26, 2013, 9:07 am

hi , i just bought a new ds214-play nas , but once i finish restore my all file from my existing synology ds212, i found that all my movie info , poster is not same like the old unit , the old unit have more than 1000 movie , i spend already 1 year to complete the info and poster , any solution for me ? why restore cant make it 100% duplicate ? pls help

Scouse Andy

November 26, 2013, 9:23 pm

Tempted by the DS214play, but the dearer DS713+ appears to be a lot quicker. I'm wavering because of the lack of 1080p transcoding on the 713. Simple question, am I ever likely to be able to upgrade the 713 with future software releases to transcode to 1080p or will I be forever in 720p land ?

Roy

November 28, 2013, 9:44 am

The article above in incorrect at the bottom where it says the DS214play supports RAID 5, 10, etc.... It only supports RAID 0 and 1. I just bought one so i am happy with it but - get your facts straight!

andyvan

November 29, 2013, 8:58 am

Thanks, Roy. We've corrected the article.

comments powered by Disqus