1 of 8 pictures

SoundScience QSB
SoundScience QSB

8 Pictures - SoundScience QSB

  • SoundScience QSB
  • SoundScience QSB
  • SoundScience QSB
  • SoundScience QSB
  • SoundScience QSB
  • SoundScience QSB
  • SoundScience QSB
  • SoundScience QSB

jps IT

May 24, 2011, 12:14 pm

Hey guys, do these work as speakers on an iPad / iPhone with the USB part of the apple camera connection kit? I currently use a Logitech USB AudioHub for this - which needs a seperate mains adaptor.... wondered if these are able to draw enough power from the iPad socket...


May 24, 2011, 1:36 pm

Unfortunately we don't think they'll interface with an iPad as they won't be able to take the audio output from the dock port. It's a shame as they would make a fantastic pair.


May 24, 2011, 2:09 pm

If you want alternative, good quality portable speakers, I can recommend the Soundtraveller K3000ST from Powertraveller.com
You can power them from the mains, AA batteries, USB and even the solar panel that the same company do (I have this too! Really good in the summer!) The sound quality is fantastic. I actually used them with my main PC for a while to play Crysis 2!
Disadvantages are that they are a single unit and so sound separation wont be as good as these reviewed here and they take sound input from either the built in iPod dock or a 3.5 mm jack - no USB sound input.

Can i also request that Trusted Reviews get some of the other gear this Company do in for review as its all really cool and useful stuff (Powergorilla, Powermonkey, Solarmonkey, Startmonkey etc!!)


July 8, 2011, 1:34 am

Bought these for the Mrs the other day and I'm very impressed! For speakers so small the sound is pretty amazing. The top-end in particular is very crisp, without lapsing into harshness. They are good enough to show the differences in quality between high bitrate and low bitrate internet radio. Bass is obviously not going to be deep or prodigious, but they are fine for casual/background listening.


July 8, 2011, 1:34 pm

Glad to hear you like them. We had to send our review sample back sadly! I kinda miss them.


September 30, 2012, 7:14 pm

Purchased the speakers earlier this year from Amazon, I like them very much, the quality and sound is superb connected to my laptop, however just lately they have developed a problem with the audio jack connection. I should add that they have been very carefully looked after and not had any adverse handling whatsoever. The lead connector on the AUDIO IN has since new always been looser than the connector to the speaker marked with the USB/ AUDIO OUT connectors. I now find that I am unable to get sound sometimes, either that or it crackles on this AUDIO IN speaker. To get constant sound I have to fiddle with the cable and offer some support to the lead to provide a true connection. This is tiresome and not too happy about it considering the price I paid. It would be interesting to find if anyone else has or is suffering this same problem?
I want to contact the manufacturer but uncertain where to direct my complaint. Help from anyone out there would be be appreciated.


April 3, 2013, 9:44 am

get 'em back and try them with Windows 8. See if you still recommend them ;-)


December 11, 2013, 6:07 am

Is it possible to use the two 2 x left channel speakers only with rca in or has each speaker got its own amp or is all the amping coming from the usb one ??

The reason I am asking is because they are so cheap now it might be possible to use my Fiio D3 dac into two left speakers signal coming in optical from optical or coax via the dac which is usb powered ( I have some Van Den Hul Hybrid RCA/Coax 75 ohms
cables ?


October 21, 2014, 1:00 pm

Yes I have the exact same problem, though less severe - it seems to be fairly stable at the moment, but there was one tighter than the other (they can only work on one configuration, if the ports are swapped, one is miles too tight. Also I find that I get a lot of crackling noise when they are hooked up to my laptop - it is mitigated by changing the USB slot used but never gets rid of it completely. That aside, they are nice-sounding speakers and work excellently on my desktop

Phil K

August 11, 2015, 8:43 am

Now why should which OS make any difference ?

comments powered by Disqus