Sony Xperia XZ Premium video review

By

Updated:

Read the full Sony Xperia XZ Premium review

Sony Xperia XZ Premium review

More Mobile Phone Videos

Phil

February 27, 2017, 10:38 am

Unless they have daydream compatibility I can't see the 4K screen as being massively useful. There's no point in watching 4K vids in squint o' vision on the train as you won't see the added detail - VR is the only reason I can think of for 4K on a mobile and so if they're going down this road they need to go all in with daydream. They'll have to do something about editing the 960FPS videos as well... It'll be totally impractical to use otherwise as in slow mo you always get little bits either side of what you want and the higher the temporal resolution, the more space and time this takes up. Also doesn't specify what resolution this high frame rate is at which is ominous. If they can do 1080 at 240fps I'll be really impressed.

Must say, this has me excited. If the sound quality holds up and the camera is as good as it sounds then this may well be my next phone.

DarkSoleride

March 1, 2017, 9:10 am

WOOHOO I hope it does have daydream but if not I have still found my upgrade from my lengthy time with the Xperia Z2 ha

Clive Vincent-Ellis

April 11, 2017, 8:37 pm

I had Sony phones for about 10 years and they got worse, like Sony cameras; the Z5 was a poor phone, camera was poor, signal strength was poor and phone design is also poor, they need to move forwards; Sony was one of the better makes 10 years ago, but are now below Apple, Samsung and LG, I stayed with Sony because you stay with what you know and I don't like the way Apple tells its customers how to use the phones they buy from Apple; So I am going for the s8+ now.

Asma Harshi

April 26, 2017, 11:13 am

The Bronze pink variant releasing in UK only?? But wish it could be released in Middle East..

Gary

May 3, 2017, 4:57 am

I mainly want to get it for virtual reality, but it doesn't sound like anything is going to support the 4k screen lol. Disappointing.

Adam

May 18, 2017, 2:18 pm

As the owner of the best phone ever made (you should not ask, everyone knows I mean the Xperia Z3 Compact) I cannot imagine life without a Sony. It will be a huge jump in size though. This is an interesting review, it has not mentioned the waterproofing which Sony have always been pioneers. I love taking photos and push my phone hard with lots of talks (dashcam as I drive being a huge one). This does sound like the phone for me, especially as I don't want to be another one of those boring Samsung people.... who all look the same!!

iFrank

May 18, 2017, 6:28 pm

Love your cats and my favourite slo-mo example was moggie jumping on to the table.

Re FOV you said "not enough space to back up" surely you mean back 'out'.
Particularly important on a tech site.

danielfrisbee

May 20, 2017, 4:28 pm

i had the xperia ray which was my first smartphone and I loved how small it was. Had nokia 1020 and 930 since as they were just great, but dead now, and recently got the new sony x compact. If your z3 compact is broken i recommend the x compact, it is waterproof if you look online, just sony isn't selling it as a feature to avoid warranty issues but lots of videos of people putting them under water and the same exact phone is sold in japan as being waterproof. It's also a very fast phone with the latest update. This zx thing just looks far too big.. anyway just saying give the x compact a chance if you're not keen to give up on smaller phones.

Julian Müller

May 21, 2017, 12:05 pm

I have to disagree, the Z2 is the best phone ever made :D

VikingSven

May 27, 2017, 9:48 pm

Love my XZ, but really wish Sony would bring out a phone with built in Qi charging. I hate phones with rounded corners, but may end up swapping to an S8 because being on call for work 24/7 and having to plug your phone into a cable at 3am is annoying!

Daniel Gibson

June 3, 2017, 1:41 pm

Had a Z3+. Thought it was OK. Had tried an M4 Aqua as well. Both phones were decent, but not really intuitive. Went to Apple for a short while, but I hated it so much, I took it back, and went back to my beloved Samsung. Just picked up an S8. It's an incredible phone, but I understand the lure of an XZ Premium. Might pick one up for photography/holiday phone purposes. (And yes to those haters, I do spend a lot of my income on phones, but that's what I've chosen to do for my leisure 😂).

navigator

June 4, 2017, 8:30 pm

"the phone even fell off the top of a cup on which I'd casually decided to rest it without any thought."

Top of the bottle is much better place for a phone. In a train.

M S

June 8, 2017, 5:38 pm

Sony's repair policy in the United States is if it requires one; buy a new one. They have no repair option for any of their phones in the United States unlike competitors. I regret buying the Sony Xperia X Performance and they still have no repair option as they call it "out of warranty" a year later still (ignoring the valid issues before).

Don't buy their products unless you're 100% certain you'll have the capability to repair the phone which they don't offer any repairs themselves or with third party companies (you'd have to have Paypal to buy the parts from companies that are somewhat questionable and then take a heatgun to take apart the phone and put it back together...).

So unless you could get it with another company like Best Buy's repair policy to then cover issues, it's best to avoid Sony Phones in the United States.

It's sad as the one I had was my favorite phone and it was amazing and still is; but unusable due to this due to no support making it a terrible product...

huskertech

June 13, 2017, 1:17 am

I finally gave up on Sony after waiting a couple years for the replacement to my Xperia Z3V. Sony Mobile lacks commitment to the US market other than making product introductions at tech shows. If Sony was serious about the US market it would spend the few extra dollars to introduce CDMA/GSM capable phones. No serious phone manufacturer has been able to ignore Verizon. Sony Mobile may have turned the tide in losing money, but its market share is stagnant and its products do not show the innovativeness for which Sony is recognized. Sony, please end the prolonged death of Sony Mobile!

Jean-Mouloud

June 17, 2017, 6:20 pm

Xperia X10 p0w4 !

Jean-Mouloud

June 17, 2017, 6:22 pm

We have the burka black version instead.

comments powered by Disqus