Home / Mobile / Tablet / Sony Xperia Tablet Z / Battery Life and Verdict

Sony Xperia Tablet Z - Battery Life and Verdict

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

User Score:

Sony Xperia Tablet Z - Battery Life

Sony claims eight hours of web browsing and 9.8 hours of video playback, and it gets close to these targets. When playing an HD video on loop with Wi-Fi left on, it lasted a creditable eight hours, 23 minutes. Switch off Wi-Fi and use more power saving measures and you could stretch that out to nine hours or more.

Other things to consider

Cameras are a good deal less important on a tablet than battery life, so we won't spend much time on them. Indeed, clearly Sony hasn't either. An 8-megapixel backlit Exmor R sensor camera on the rear and 2.2-megapixel front-facing camera sound impressive on paper, but the reality is grainy, unflattering images in anything but perfect light. They're adequate for basic use, but not much else.

It's worth knowing Sony sells a 3G version of the Sony Xperia Tablet Z for £499, £100 more than the non-3G equivalent. It comes in 16GB and 32GB capacities, too, which is ample given there's 11GB free on the 16GB version and a microSD card slot as well.

Should I buy the Sony Xperia Tablet Z?

The Sony Xperia Tablet Z is among the most capable 10-inch Android tablets around, that much is certain. Even so, we can't recommend it without some reservations.

The fact it doesn't run the latest version of Android is irksome, but its biggest problem is it feels wedged between two arguably superior options.

If you don't have a fundamental aversion to Apple, it's hard to look past the iPad 4 at this price and size. It has a better screen, better apps and is more likely to be supported with regular software updates. The Nexus 10, meanwhile, while slower, is £80 cheaper and has a better screen. And all this before you consider the likes of the Asus Transformer Pad Inifinity or cheaper Asus Transformer Pad 300 and its nifty keyboard dock and tablet combo.

None are water resistant, of course, but how often do you really think that will be useful? The Sony's faster processor and lightness are better arguments in its favour, at least they will be for the majority.

Verdict

The Sony Xperia Tablet Z is a very good tablet - there's no doubting that. It's fast, has a good screen and is very thin and light. But it does no single thing appreciably better than its immediate rivals, and its unique features fall a little flat.

Overall Score

8

Scores In Detail

  • Battery Life 8
  • Design 8
  • Features 8
  • Performance 9
  • Screen Quality 8
  • Value 7

Abrar Faiyaz Helal

February 26, 2013, 1:30 pm

good to look at.......

ant_f

February 26, 2013, 6:07 pm

Not shure about the resolution, on gsmarena they have 1200 instead 1080.

Javed

February 28, 2013, 7:54 pm

I think it's definitely one of the best looking tablets, i may get one depending on the final price. Can you tell me if it has hdmi out? thanks.

disqus_fNGVYqxW3b

March 3, 2013, 8:27 pm

Looks cool and would buy one just for the sake of owning it if I had the money and wanted a tablet. Yes people would pay the extra for a thinner lighter tablet. Lets face it people buy the ipad just because its an Apple product with a letter 'I' in front of its name regardless of specs.

ashok kumar

May 1, 2013, 4:54 am

how much price in india

Ageus

May 9, 2013, 1:42 am

No people buy the iPad because it runs ios. Because it is the easiest, most intuitive, best looking user interface in the existence of the universe. Because it has currently the best app ecosystem. Of course there are iSheeps but you can't disregard the fact that what makes the iPad so appealing is not the specs but the experience.

Guest

June 11, 2013, 1:45 pm

i got the 4g ready version and so far not disappointed it is fast looks great and when customised with your own home screens has no issues with launching what you want when you want one thing you didnt mention is miracasting and the ability too 'throw ' images to a suitably equipped tv this function is so cool and as i have a late model sony tv has no obvious drawbacks as the 2 work seamlessly together agree it was a bit expensive for what it is but at least you can drag and drop via a pc or nfc straight too sd card any file you want without having too use a 3rd party programme that i feel is a bit nosy time will tell if sony will keep up the support on their currently flagship tablet but so far so good

Guest

June 12, 2013, 4:30 am

you use an adaptor through the micro usb socket for hdmi but if you have wifi direct on your tv you can stream video and pictures without need for wired connection and also has miracast which lets you show our tablet screen on flat panel tv either equipped with miracast function or usng a miracast dongle through tv usb socket

Wuffer

June 14, 2013, 7:22 pm

Well I don't agree. I think they buy it because of the brand and app store.

IOS is not the easiest or best looking system - not by a long shot.

David T

June 21, 2013, 10:40 pm

"but it's noticeably faster than the Nexus 10's quad-core processor" The Nexus 10 has a dual core but based on A15 architecture.

Minor correction.

coolcity

August 3, 2013, 10:25 pm

Unusual review. I think it feels a lot more of a premium product than any iPad, mostly thanks to the slim design. I wonder how much pressure the reviewer was putting on the screen because I haven't noticed any flex and I'm told I am heavy handed.

To consider the port flaps to be a flaw when they are there for a purpose - waterproofing - is just plain stupid. The fact that it is waterproof is a major feature so they're an integral part of the tablet. It's a bit like complaining that you are more exposed to the elements in a cabriolet with the roof down! What exactly were you expecting from a waterproof device?

The universal remote works perfectly with my (admittedly Sony) telly, and my Sky+ box though there is a separate app available for Sky+.

Strange that it seemingly lags behind the Nexus 10 yet that isn't what the test results say? Maybe I'm a bit slow to keep up because i haven't noticed any lag. Screen res is as good as anyone will ever need. Many reviews seem very picky over this but frankly it's getting silly to discuss minor differences between tablets which are barely noticeable unless you are regularly using both side by side.

Overall I think this is a fantastic piece of kit by Sony which fires them straight back to the top. I spent a long time reviewing and testing, via local stockists, various other tablets including the iPad and the best offerings from Samsung and the Nexus but kept going back to the Sony and I have not been disappointed. 10/10 from me, I use it for hours every day and my only complaint is the keyboard seriously needs to be programmed to recognise commonly used words when using the swipe function - 'to' usually becomes 'too', 'the' becomes 'three' and so on, but then who uses a tablet for most of their typing?

jay jay

October 21, 2013, 3:56 pm

its the most amazing tablet. i have the nexus 10 . its better then the nexus 10, all it has is more pixels but from there nothing else and its a little more heavy. compare to the previous sony xperia tablet s weight super less then. nexus 10. So yeah this sony its extremely amazong.!

doggypoos

November 4, 2013, 6:50 pm

It has access to the psn network. Other tablets don't. If you own other Sony products this is a great thing. Plus the option to use the google apps is a plus too.

Javed

February 26, 2014, 6:30 pm

Thanks Colin

windship

January 1, 2015, 6:26 am

What I want to know is how well this "waterproof" tablet does at marine GPS navigation? Ever since my iPad1 died from a dollop of sea water I've been looking for a replacement, without going broke on a Tough Tab. Has anyone loaded Navionics on this Z and gone for a test cruise far from cell range yet?

Huero222

March 30, 2015, 11:18 pm

DO NOT BUY THIS! There are many problems that start happening 13 months after you buy! 1000's of people on the internet ran into the same problem I did. I RARELY used my tablet. Then it wouldn't power on. Then I would do the same stupid soft reset then hard reset which erased everything. This worked for a while when the Tablet would never turn on! So after it might work or might not, on the 13th month it now NEVER powers on. I've tried every reset and nothing happens just a blinking red light on the side. PIECE OF CRAP! Not even under warranty! So they want you to buy get the 12 month warranty then it will die after a year. BRAVO SONY! BRAVO!!!

comments powered by Disqus