Home » Mobile » Mobile Phone » Sony Xperia Miro

Sony Xperia Miro review

Niall Magennis



Our Score


User Score


  • Good build quality
  • Long battery life
  • Good call quality
  • Runs Ice Cream Sandwich


  • Price is high for the specification
  • Small, low resolution screen
  • Limited memory for storage.

Review Price £152.00

Key Features: 3.5inch touchscreen; 5.0 megapixel camera; 4GB of memory; 800Mhz processor

Manufacturer: Sony


If you can’t afford the likes of the Sony Xperia U or Sony Xperia P, then Sony is hoping to reel you in with the Sony Xperia Miro. You can buy it SIM-free for the very modest asking price of £150, or alternatively pick it up for free on a tenner a month contract. On paper that seems like a pretty good deal, but as we'll find out, the Miro isn’t quite as tempting a proposition as it first appears.

Sony Xperia Miro Design

First impressions of the Sony Xperia Miro are a bit indifferent. It's not that it's an unattractive phone, it's more that its design is a bit dull and doesn’t really grab your attention. Like a 1980's goth, the handset is decked out in all black, with just the silver effect on the logos and the touch buttons at the bottom of the screen to distract you from its overall starkness.

Sony Xperia Miro 6

The rear battery cover is nicely curved at the edges, though, and has a grippy rubberised effect, so it sits comfortably in your hand. Sony has also added a neat looking cutaway at the bottom of the screen, which has a brushed metal effect, in contrast to the polished black used on the screen's bezel.

There are just two hardware buttons – the volume rocker switch on the right hand edge and the power button, which also doubles as the lock switch, at the top. They're a little bit on the small and thin side with the result that the power/lock switch is especially fiddly to use. Beneath the screen you do get the standard Android touch buttons for back, home and menu, but unlike the similarly priced Motorola Motorosmart, the Sony Xperia Miro lacks a dedicated search button.

Sony Xperia Miro

Sony Xperia Miro Specs

The Sony Xperia Miro has a 3.5-inch screen which is pretty small by today's standards. What's worse, though, is that the screen has a pretty low resolution of 320 x 480. This compares rather unfavourably against the likes of the Huawei Ascend G300, which has a larger 4-inch display with a much higher resolution of 480 x 800, even though it's actually a cheaper handset costing around £100 on a Pay-As-You-Go basis. To be fair, the Sony Xperia Miro screen has got pretty wide viewing angles and doesn't suffer form the annoying shimmer that you get on lesser displays. Colours are pretty vivid too, as long as you turn up the brightness a bit in the control panel, which is set too low by default for our liking.

The limited resolution on the Sony Xperia Miro screen means that you often have to zoom in on a webpage just to read headlines that you can usually make out quite clearly at fully zoomed out levels on other phones. Similarly, you find yourself having to do a lot more scrolling or zooming in apps like Facebook or Google Currents.

Sony Xperia Miro

The phone doesn't exactly blow your mind with the rest of its specification, either, with the Sony Xperia Miro processor lining up as an 800MHz single-core offering which has a fairly modest 512MB of RAM available to it. Storage space is limited to 4GB, but almost half of this is taken up by the OS and various built-in apps, so you're left with 2.2GB to play with, which isn't a huge amount really. You can beef up the phone's storage using microSD cards though with the Sony Xperia Miro accepting cards of up to 32GB in size with the card slot found under the battery cover which is actually a bit tricky to remove.

Next page
Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

Charlie Turrall

January 24, 2013, 9:11 pm

this phone is rubbish! its slow and the screen is really sensitive it looks good but its not battery lasts a long time but other than that not good


February 14, 2013, 1:04 pm

I want to but this phone but I read that it's kinda slow. Is it true? I really want to buy this phone because I wanna access Skype. Help!


February 16, 2013, 7:35 am

yes,exactly the battery is not long time charge

Anas Bin Sohail

February 27, 2013, 2:10 pm

it's awesome the version the camera all the things are great!!!!!!!! i have this smart phone it's too much pretty cool.:)


March 13, 2013, 2:43 pm

i want to buy the smart phone so, miro or xperia J who's better ?
plz help

Tamara Pownall

April 1, 2013, 8:58 pm

Just got it today, so far seems good :)

Siddhartha Das

April 8, 2013, 11:17 am

Guys don't go for this mobile..i bought this mobile on 10 feb'13 and my speaker wasn't
working on 01 mar'13.However problem was fixed after giving it for servicing.It was a
s/w problem.Just hoping not to see any other issues in the future..Also don't go by
words of replace for your mobile in case of any problem as I was assured by MobileStore
where i bought it..


April 16, 2013, 6:32 pm

i already have but nothing happen this sony xperia miro .. if u say that hp not really good . maybe didn't carefully of u phone.


June 2, 2013, 4:29 pm

I really want to get this mobile but have so many questions i need to be answered, if you could help that would be great!

-can you download games like you could on an ipad etc?

-is it good? in your opinion?
-is the camera on the front and back decent?
-can you get snapchat?
-how tall is the phone? length and width?

anil kumar Chatakonda

July 27, 2013, 4:12 pm

worste phone.. i using this phone plz dnt buy this one


August 26, 2013, 2:41 am

I must ask how people have problems with this phone. At least with mine, hasn't been malfunctioning, it's never slow (even when the cpu is just a 800mhz one), screen is really sweet (anti-reflecting) and crisp, camera works great, neat sound quality and walkman player is really damn good.

I really wonder how people manage to find problems and stuff in this phone, which only gives me 1 answer: the average user doesn't know about the apps staying on the background unless you maintain pressed the home button and how to use an android phone overall.


September 14, 2013, 6:15 am

This phone is epic it fell from the 2nd floor and nothin happened to the phone except a small dent


September 17, 2013, 5:07 pm

i have this phone for like uhhmn... 2 or 3 months and its a nice phone the screen is perfect , the battery yeah it could be better but its not bad , the camera works realy good , but wen i call or text he sometimes just falls out

overall is it a good phone for the price u pay :)


October 1, 2013, 9:00 pm

This is the worst phone I have ever had and has had 2 major problems in one year. Firstly, for absolutely no reason at all (I had kept the phone in very good condition as it was my first touchscreen phone) after 2 months it refused to charge; no matter what kind of charger I used it would only stay at 1% and then die. I took it back and they could not repair it, and so sent me a NEW phone of the same model. This new phone only lasted 4 months, when, again for no apparent reason (it had not got wet and was still in perfect condition) it stopped recognising any SIM cards had been put it. This phone is unreliable, slow and often freezes (texting on it is unbelievably hard compared to the itouch I own, it often crashes or gets stuck on one letter). The camera is terrible too, and the touchscreen is appalling; attempting to view snapchats causes you to press several at once, and navigating google maps is an impossible mission when the touchscreen does not respond to your touch, so that you cannot angle correctly the maps. I could go on about the flaws for ever. Even though this phone was still in warranty I couldn't bear to have a THIRD version of the same awful phone, so I bought a £5 nokia which does the trick of texting and calling a hell of a lot better than the miro.


October 12, 2013, 9:28 am

DONT BUY THIS PHONE. by FAR the worst phone I've EVER had. its just awful. If someone calls me, I cant hear them unless I have speakerphone on, but if I do that then they cant hear me. I've had it 3 months, and its been nothing but trouble the entire time. If its charging, it cant be used at all because the touchscreen goes mental every time you touch it, text messages either dont get sent, or get sent repeatedly. This morning it notified me that an important message i sent 2 WEEKS AGO 'couldnt be delivered', the clock cant even keep time!! 3 months. and I've NEVER gone a day without having some issue with it. It freezes, turns itself off for no reason whenever it feels like it, the alarm function doesnt work for the time you set it for, but loves going off at random points in the day (most often picking the least convenient times), the battery life is APPALLING, the 'camera' is worse quality than on my partners £8.99 piece of crap, and thats if it opens at all, which is rarely. its appalling and ive been stuck with a mis-sold contract (i wanted a year, that i clearly stated, and have a 2 year contract, and was also lied to about the price!) and its genuinely the worst purchase I have ever made. I'm never going to buy another Sony product of any kind after this.


October 22, 2013, 3:05 am

I am using this phone since 9 months gradually phone performance decreases. even I start internet in my phone it is very slow some times I cont dial in my phone key are not activate. I know my mobile couldn't have any virus because I am export on.

I never suggest this phone.....

RAM - 512 MB

CPU - 800 Mhz


October 22, 2013, 3:09 am

Don't go for this mobile all are disadvantages. Only one is battery backup is excellent.

1) Poor performance (Mobile processing is very slow)
2) Poor Camera quality.
3) Mobile restarts frequently.
4) Mobile generates heat while using.
5) Price became high.

John #TeamFollowBack

November 13, 2013, 1:50 pm

I think there are some people on this page who haven't understood Android properly. When using Android, the apps do build up in the RAM and the cache fills up, when that happens, the phone slows or even "soft-bricks". The way to sort that out is to use one of the cleaners from the Google Play - it clears out the background apps and clears the cache. In extreme cases you may have to do a full system reset - if so, back up the contacts and SMS etc to the external SD card - the internal storage gets wiped on a full system reset and without external backup you would lose all contacts details meaning you would have to manually re-enter them all.


February 8, 2014, 9:14 pm

"I am using this phone since 9 months gradually phone performance decreases."
I can assure you, that's a problem in all phones (same thing happened in my previous Samsung Galaxy). Solution: wipe cache.

comments powered by Disqus