Home / TVs & Audio / Headphones / Sony Walkman NWZ-W202

Sony Walkman NWZ-W202 review




  • Recommended by TR

1 of 7

Sony Walkman NWZ-W202
  • Sony Walkman NWZ-W202
  • Sony Walkman NWZ-W202
  • Sony Walkman NWZ-W202
  • Sony Walkman NWZ-W202
  • Sony Walkman NWZ-W202
  • Sony Walkman NWZ-W202
  • Walkman NWZ-W202 Flash MP3 Player - 2 GB Flash Memory - Black


Our Score:


User Score:

I'm not one to moan, but I put myself through a fair bit in the line of duty for TrustedReviews. I put up with ropey MP3 players and low-quality bundled headphones. I listen to music I wouldn't ordinarily wish to be caught dead with, yet then find myself humming it on the street days later. I struggle through games as awful as Space Siege or Fracture just to make sure they're as bad as my intuition informs me. They always are. But with the NWZ-W202 I've taken self-sacrifice to a whole new level. I've actually been out jogging!

I haven't done it for years, and after the hour or two it took me to recover I remembered why. Yet the NWZ-W202 deserved the effort, as my night-time run convinced me of what I'd already suspected: that this is the best audio player for active pursuits I've seen.

At first, the form factor seems rather gimmicky. Whereas rival products like the iPod Shuffle or Philips GoGear Spark are still essentially conventional MP3 players, just smaller, lighter and attachable to clothing, the NWZ-W202 is a true one-piece design, with the player effectively integrated into a pair of in-ear headphones.

The battery and electronics are packed into two slimline units that sit on top of the ears, with the earpieces protruding inside your lug'oles, and the whole caboodle kept in place by the toughened, springy cable that fits around the back of your head. At first, it does look a bit silly - as if you're so self-important that you've attached two Bluetooth headsets to your head with a piece of thick wire - but in actual fact it's not too bad. In fact, if you find the black models I looked at too understated, you can also get the NWZ-W202 in pink, yellow, purple or white.


April 5, 2009, 6:13 am

Surely you mean 'Sound Quality', not 'Scan Quality' for the ratings, right?


April 5, 2009, 6:03 pm

It would sure be an awesome workout with that glorious looking pink colour around my head.


April 5, 2009, 7:08 pm

Scan Quality - How well it scans for FM stations...?


April 5, 2009, 8:47 pm

Nothing to see here... move along.. :)


April 5, 2009, 10:54 pm

You forgot to show us a picture of how daft they look round your head (pref with the pink ones). :-)


April 6, 2009, 1:59 pm

Not to be icky, but how easy are they to clean? I have a pair of SE210s that I can't really use for sport as they get quite sweaty.


April 7, 2009, 5:35 pm


The earbuds will need cleaning/replacing, but otherwise there isn't too much to get grungey. There's nothing that would cause you any more problems than the average pair of in-ear 'phones, and actually less in the way of wax/sweat/grime trapping embellishment than some models I could mention.


April 9, 2009, 5:02 pm

Huh. The new Shuffle was bad enough, but this is even worse. Are cables really that annoying? I just route them along the inside of my clothing and after that I don't even notice them anymore. I won't buy a device that only works with proprietary headphones, and I sure as hell won't buy one that's fixed to a pair of phones. And that's coming from a fan of IEMs -- I know a lot of people who can't stand them.


April 10, 2009, 4:59 am

@ morsch - Guess you don't use your mp3 player for running then.... The best cabled headphones will not sound that great when you're jogging. FOr instance, in-ear phones suffer from that "thumping in the back of your head" noise as your feet pound the pavement. Situations where that does not occur, these sorts of earbuds are too far out of the ear to actually sound good. Hopefully, these rememdy some of those problems by cutting the cable out completely.


January 27, 2010, 11:35 pm

Hi,Read my review of this player

Sony recently launched the much hyped Walkman Unwired priced at Rs 4,990.It combines stellar design with good performance.The Walkman W202 takes mobility to a new direction by completelty cutting the wires.It looks good and sounds even better.No need to carry your dangling headphone wires along with your IPOD.The Walkman sports unique features such as Zappin which is very handy as there is no screen on this player.The controls are embeded on the right ear-piece of this player.There is a jog dial that controls the play/pause/forward/bacward/zappin-in/zappin-out functions on this player.A plastic cover has been provided to store the player(To prevent magnetic leakage).A USB stand is provided through which you can connect the player to the PC.The player charges while it is connected to the PC.3 min. of charge enables 90 min. of music playback and the overall time taken to charge the player is 30-90 min.You can also charge this player with mobile charger.(I use the charger of Samsung RAGA)The player is detected easily as soon it is connected to the PC.You can drag/drop to transfer music files to this player or use the provided software.(Content Transfer 1.1).This player supports "mp3,aac,wma" audio formats.Now coming to the preformance,its ideal for the people on the move(For jogging,cycling,walking etc.)The ear-piece fits quite easily in the ears and remains fixed during any body motions.The sound quality is good and is on the warmer side.The highs and the mids sound crystal clear and the bass is tight.Although the Bass lacks punch and doesn;t extend deep,this won;t be an issue unless you are bass freak.The button response is good but may cause problems for people with large hands.This walkman is ideal for listening to Accoustic Pop,Jazz,Trance,Bollywood Pop.It sits around your neck when not in use so it is very convenient.FM Radio and Voice Recording feature is missing as quite understandingly there is not enough space to put these features in the player.There is also absence of 3.5 mm jacks and Audio-in jack so you can't connect this player with speakers.The walkman is known to be having problems with sweat as it is not waterproof.The sweat causes malfunction in this player if it enters through the USB HUB.So beware and find something to cover the USB HUB(I am using a rubber cover of old mobile).Overall it is an excellant gadget and a must-buy for electronic lovers. RATINGS; Features - 7/10 Built - 10/10 Performance - 7.5/10 Value for money - 8/10

Ariadna Quijano

June 23, 2014, 4:38 pm

One question: how can you go from one album to the next in the W202?

comments powered by Disqus