Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop pictures

1 of 17 pictures

Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop
Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop

17 Pictures - Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop

  • Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop
  • Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop
  • Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop
  • Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop
  • Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop
  • Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop
  • Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop
  • Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop
  • Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop
  • Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop
  • Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop
  • Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop
  • Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop
  • Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop
  • Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop
  • Sony VAIO VGN-FW48E/H - 16.4in Laptop
  • VAIO VGN-FW48E/H 41.7 cm 16.4" Notebook - Core 2 Duo T6500 2.10 GHz - Silver (1600 x 900 WSXGA Display - 3 GB RAM - 320 GB HDD - DVD-Writer - ATi Mobility Radeon HD 3470 - Bluetooth - Webcam - Windows Vista Home Premium - 2.83 Hour Battery - HDMI)

MonkeyAxman

July 22, 2009, 5:01 pm

Its nice to look at but you get the feeling from that review that Sony have gone for style over substance in the spec department. Sony seem to be trying to compete with Apple in making the most "stylish" laptop and shoot themselves in the foot with pricing much like Apple do.

Steve

July 22, 2009, 6:48 pm

@MonkeyAxman





The FW model reviewed here is over a year old. It's just had a spec upgrade (the 4th update hence the FW4 prefix), other than that the actual design is the same as last summer.





I've used one of the FW machines before, they are very good for the home user. I'd sooner pay a bit more for the Vaio brand than plump for a bloody Dell.

TechVegan

July 22, 2009, 10:45 pm

@MonkeyAxman:


The FW series seriously isn't in the same league as any Apple product. Unlike with Apple style and build quality aren't quite as impressive, so you're really JUST paying for the brand here.





@Steve:


Would you really rather have a Sony badge than a significantly faster CPU, more RAM, 64-bit OS, far better graphics and Blu-ray from the second-biggest computer manufacturer in the world (Acer, never mind Dell), and pay MORE for the privilege?

Steve

July 23, 2009, 12:52 pm

Ardjuna, no but I pick a laptop to suit my needs. I current use a Vaio Z series & a MacBook (aluminium 2008 model). My preference is with the Vaio brand at the moment, so should I decide to get a new machine I'd be looking at the Vaio range before looking elsewhere.





It's not just about the specification for me. I find the screen, keyboard & build quality on my Vaio exceptional. The fact that it came with a 3 year warranty was another important factor. Sometimes it's worth paying a bit more for what I believe to be a premium product.





Regarding the FW model reviewed, I don't require huge processing power, so I would opt for the FW over the Dell/Acer/HP equivalent should I be in the market for a laptop like this.





It's all about personal preferences at the end of the day...

TechVegan

July 23, 2009, 2:16 pm

@Steve:


Always nice to get a reply, and your point about personal preferences is certainly true enough.





We agree that the VAIO Z is a great machine, as you can see: http://www.trustedreviews.com/.... Just keep in mind it's not indicative of the quality of Sony's entire range, though aside from the high price there's not much wrong with the FW.

farki80

July 23, 2009, 7:26 pm

£645 for something that is stylish and a decent performer seems to be alright. While the Acer offers better spec, at the end of the day it is much like buying a car. Sometimes people pay a little bit more for looks.





I do find Monkey's comment funny. Can you get a 16" notebook for £742 from Apple?

ilovethemonkeyhead

July 24, 2009, 1:02 am

i keep looking at my macbook keyboard and this keyboard and still can't figure why apple don't put those extra keys on their machines (end, pg up, pg down, a friggin' delete button)





and why the fn key is still in the wrong place.

Mike 30

September 25, 2009, 3:10 pm

I love this Vaio Laptop, my cosine bought one from this <a href="http://vaiousa.com/"&... Brand Laptops Website</a> and I think they have the best price on the market.

AliTech

December 3, 2009, 8:27 pm

I am thinking of getting this now as the prices have decreased. May be able to get it for around the £570 mark.

Richard Collier

August 19, 2010, 8:45 pm

I've been using this laptop for a year now and would completely recommend it. I paid £599 in Sept 2009 and have since written a dissertation on it - which was a very easy process, and yes though the keys at first seem a little far apart you get used to this very quickly.





My one complaint may be that the media short-cut keys don't have a mute button in them, so I've had to store the mute function as the programmable function button. (s1)

comments powered by Disqus