Sony VAIO S (2011) specs

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers

Reviewed:

Key Features

  • Edgy aluminium design in various colours
  • 13.3in, 1366 x 768, matt screen
  • Core i3-i5, up to 8GB RAM, Radeon HD 6470M graphics
  • Up to 750GB 5,400rpm HDD or 128GB SSD
  • Backlit keyboard, USB 3.0, Optional Blu-ray
  • Manufacturer: Sony
  • Review Price: £769.00
specs
Quick Glance
Display 13.3
Processor Intel 'Sandy Bridge' Core i5-2410M (Core i3 available)
Processor Speed Standard 2.3
Memory (RAM) 4
Solid State Drive (SSD) Optional
Hard Disk Drive (HDD) 320
Type Other Laptop
Processor, Memory & Storage
Processor Intel 'Sandy Bridge' Core i5-2410M (Core i3 available)
Processor Speed Standard 2.3
Processor Speed Maximum 2.9
Memory (RAM) 4
Solid State Drive (SSD) Optional
Hard Disk Drive (HDD) 320
Hard Disk Drive Speed 5400
DVD Optical Drive Yes
Blu-ray Optical Drive Optional
Graphics & Sound
3D 3D-capable
Graphics AMD Radeon HD6470M
Display 13.3
Display Finish Semi-matt
Communication
Ethernet Gigabit
Wi-Fi N
Mobile Broadband/3G Optional
Bluetooth 2.1
Webcam HD
Connectivity
HDMI 1.4
VGA 1
DisplayPort 1
Audio Connections 3.5mm Headphone and Microphone
Data
USB 2.0 2
USB 3.0 1
eSATA No
Card Reader SDXC/HG Duo
ExpressCard Slot No
Software
Operating System Windows 7
Physical Specifications
Weight (With Battery) 1.7
Other
Type Other Laptop
Battery life 5
Special Features Backlit keyboard, Physical power management switch & wireless switch

Chris Hamer

July 28, 2011, 4:40 am

"However, in Stamina mode you might get closer than we did." So you ran the battery test in speed mode? That is quite unfair tbh! Considering you put this against others without having to run a ATI chip. If you did run it in speed mode and achieved 5 hours that is remarkable! Considering sony states in speed mode the battery should last 3.5 hours and stamina 7.5 hours!
http://www.sony.co.uk/product/vn-s-series/vpcsb1x9e
At the bottom of the page under primary battery.
When i ran the SA (love it, replacing my thinkpad!) in stamina mode with 50-60% brightness with the extended battery i was predicted over 12 hours with battery bar. Another way is to limit the CPU to 50% of it's power consumption on battery. Also with the fans making a noise did you check the vaio control panel to have the fan's in balanced mode?
Thought I would post my comments after purchasing the SA!

andyvan

July 28, 2011, 8:36 pm

I'd be interested in seeing the results of the battery tests in stamina mode, too. If it's one of the things preventing an award, it would surely make a big difference?

ozaz

August 2, 2011, 2:09 am

Review should have used stamina mode for battery test. Otherwise, a helpful review. Disapointed to hear there is no mic input.

@Chris, I'd be interested to know how long your SA is able to last in stamina mode with light use and without the battery slice. Also, are you getting excessive noise under load.

ozaz

August 2, 2011, 2:12 am

Also, what is the effect of the battery slice on weight and dimensions?

Chris Hamer

August 3, 2011, 5:30 pm

@ Ozaz
Ill try and do a battery test for you soon!
I done some measurements to compare to the laptop this is replacing!
Power Supply: 400g
Battery Slice: 500g
Laptop: 1600g (With HDD)
Total: 2500g

ozaz

August 6, 2011, 6:39 pm

@Chris,
Thanks for the info on the weight. No need to bother with the battery test. I've been reading a few other reviews and user comments and the consistent picture is that the built in battery is good for about 6.5 hours during real-world light use with WLAN on and stamina mode on.

TechVegan

August 16, 2011, 2:31 pm

@Chris and all:
Sorry for the tardy comment, I had submitted one before but it must have gotten lost in the great data tides.
No, I did NOT run the battery test in Speed mode - nor in Stamina mode, but on the same settings as every other laptop, hence keeping it fair.

@Ozaz:
Glad you found it helpful. We used custom battery-test settings to keep it on even footing with rivals.

ozaz

August 16, 2011, 4:37 pm

@ardjuna
How did you run it in neither speed mode nor stamina mode? Isn't the hardware switch a 2-level switch which can only be set to either speed or stamina?

IMO, battery tests should use the power saving features of the laptop as efficient battery usage modes would be a good reason for buying a laptop.

Westyuk1

February 1, 2012, 3:19 pm

DUAL MONITORS - a warning. I read the specifications, saw it had VGA and HDMI outputs and got one for work. Guess what? It doesn't support dual monitors from both outputs. That is official from Sony technical support. Such a basic function from a laptop aimed partially at business and one with a dedicated ATI GPU as well. All my previous laptops which cost half this has this feature. I'm really surprised this isn't picked up in any review.

erictexas0

July 31, 2012, 4:00 pm

The sound and the speakers needed to be improved and it will be a great business laptop.

Mackenzie Gorman

April 23, 2014, 5:24 pm

I bought this computer because I am a student and thought it would be a great laptop to get me through school....boy was I wrong. This is actually the worst computer I have ever heard of. I have only had it for just under three years and I will need to get a new one in a couple weeks. I would like to point out that I DO take GREAT care of all of my electronics, but for whatever reason my vaio has decided to chack out. The first year after I purchased it I had to replace the hard drive because it crashed on me. After I did that I needed to purchase another firewall and protection program as myone time use had been on the other hard drive. So far that is the cost of the laptop (which was not cheap) plus another $250 for the hard drive and premium protection. Now I need to get a new computer because this obe has completely died. First the screen would take longer to load than normal, and today it just completely shut down and I cannot get it to turn back on no matter what I do. Sorry, but this comouter is a piece of crap and I would NOT recommend it AT ALL. Your money is better spent on something different.

comments powered by Disqus