Key Features: 9.4in, 1,280 x 800 screen; Front and rear cameras; SD and microUSB slots; Android operating system; Nvidia tegra 2 processor; Sony music and video streaming apps

Manufacturer: Sony

Operating System Android
Processor Nvidia tegra 2


September 1, 2011, 2:22 am

Guys, I hope you'll also be taking a look at Sony's new e-reader. No matter how good a display is, eInk is still far easier on the eyes when it comes to reading on it for extended periods.

David Gilbert

September 1, 2011, 2:55 am

We have managed to get our hands on the new e-reader and will be putting up a hands-on review very soon.


September 8, 2011, 6:59 am

Regarding the memory card, can you confirm that you can play videos and music from the memory card? I'm contemplating getting the 32GB or 16GB, but if I can play videos (films etc) direct from the memory card, then I think I'll go for the 16GB.


October 5, 2011, 6:04 pm

Erm, I think you managed to put in every pro and con into the Pros '+' category.

Rupert Hollom

October 5, 2011, 6:05 pm

Sony really need to take a leaf out of Amazon's book and price this table significantly lower than the competition and then make the money back on the unique content that they can provide. If they did that they would have a winner on their hands.


October 5, 2011, 8:03 pm

"The relentless advance of touchscreen technology has brought many advantages to the tech world" ... well ..., sorry, but i don't see any advance in touchscreens, just companies fooling customers and earning big money by giving them bad and lagging behind technology.


October 5, 2011, 8:39 pm

And the Barnes & Noble Simple Touch Reader too while your at it?


October 5, 2011, 9:04 pm

Good spot. Fixed now.


October 5, 2011, 9:06 pm

Advance OF touchscreens, not IN. Besides which, I'm not really sure quite what your issue is.


October 5, 2011, 10:10 pm

Chaps, no mention at all of the S's abilities as a universal remote. Surely one of it's most appealing/stand-out built in features? Plus, I'd really like to know (and can't seem to find out anywhere online) if the S can control a PS3 using it's remote software.


October 6, 2011, 6:33 am

Unfortunately we didn't have a room full of Sony equipment to try. Much as we'd love to horde vast collections of equipment, it gets returned after review.

We can confirm however that the Tablet S doesn't act as a huge PS3 remote. Though firmware updates to both in future may make this possible.


October 6, 2011, 6:35 am

As Ed mentions. I don't see your point. Other than the minimalist qualities it imposes on design, touchscreen technology has radically influenced technology for the better.

If you can't see that, we despair.


October 6, 2011, 9:21 am

I meant in touchscreens area. Anyway, english is not my native language, i don't even have any certificate, i learned it by myself.
My issue is that touchscreens today are garbage. It's pretty obvious that they influence technology, but not for the better. I wouldn't bet my life on them. They are completely unreliable.


October 6, 2011, 1:13 pm

I have had a look at these a couple of times and I cant help thinking that it both looks and feels cheap and nasty compared to other tablets.

Needs to be priced sub £200 to sell IMO.


October 6, 2011, 4:31 pm

>> My issue is that touchscreens today are garbage

Did they used to be better?. Or do you mean that Touchscreen's are worse than say a keyboard?, I personally think it depends on what your doing, eg. I'm a programmer and I can't see me ditching my keyboard & mouse for a while yet.


October 6, 2011, 7:00 pm

The whole point of a touchscreen centric device like a tablet or smartphone is that the entire OS and user interface have been designed for touchscreens from the ground up. All of the interface elements are designed with large, finger-friendly controls to make touchscreen interaction as easy as possible. In this way, any inaccuracy in operating the touchscreen has less of an effect on usability.

I'm not about to pretend that touchscreens will replace keyboards and mice everywhere. As Keith points out, keyboards will always dominate certain applications. However, the application of touchscreens to smartphones and tablets is now mature, well established and has proven benefit (as well as a few negatives).

Surely you're not suggesting that anyone who spends their money on such devices does so simply because they've been fooled by marketing propaganda? Or perhaps they're mindless drones who've given into their desire to fondle the latest shiny gadget? There are a fair few readers and contributors to this site who would disagree with that assessment.


October 8, 2011, 1:02 am

The great thing is you DON'T need Sony hardware.
We have a big screen LG TV, Onkyo surround sound and Humax Freesat HD recorder with an LG Blueray player...and this tablet handles them all with aplomb, including a sweep of the screen increasing volume... Oh, it will also dim the lights :-).

comments powered by Disqus