September 30, 2013, 9:18 pm

Is the nex5-T, the replacement of this camera not already out?


October 1, 2013, 8:37 am

You should be reviewing the 5T. This one is over a year old.


October 1, 2013, 8:46 am

It is coming, yes. We just realised we missed this one and wanted a review of it for reference. We also have a feature coming that includes it.

Brian O'Neill

October 1, 2013, 9:50 am

I just bought one of these last week. I got a refurb one for only £260 with the 18mm to 55mm lens. You can get some great deals from the sony outlet store, or amazon warehouse. I also have the rx100 so the good thing is the operating system is very similar. No mode dial is an odd omission, but I think this camera is amazing value. Sony cameras are fantastic all round, I was a canon man for years but now I am Sony all the way.


October 1, 2013, 9:59 am

I don't quite understand reviewer's insistance that NEX cameras "don't have a mode dial" and that this is a crucially missing feature; my NEX-C3 came with the default setting that pressing the button of back-face rotary dial brings up the mode selection then the rotary dial switches. Sure it's a couple of button presses more than a dedicated dial, but it's incredibly easy to switch modes using this central button!


October 1, 2013, 10:52 am

We will be.


October 13, 2013, 4:35 am

I just wanted to note that not ALL NEX lenses are stabilized as mentioned at the bottom of page 2. The new NEX-5T is out, but honestly the only major thing they added was NFC. If you don't need that and don't care for the 16-50mm lens(over the 18-55mm kit), you can find great deals on the "old" 5R.

Paul Deutsch

November 14, 2013, 5:53 pm

You have a typo under the Cons on the first page: Poorly though-out menu system should read Poorly thought-out. . . .

Simon Hall

July 21, 2015, 2:50 am

An excellent still photo camera. However, please be aware that the Sony NEX-5 and NEX-6 cameras have overheating issues that cause the device to shut down after 10+ minutes of video recording. These devices are often promoted as a good vlogging camera, but we ended up throwing ours in the bottom draw and replacing it with something else, because it kept turning off during video recording.

comments powered by Disqus