Sony MDR-ZX700 specs

Andrew Williams

By Andrew Williams

Reviewed:

Key Features

  • 50mm drivers
  • 1.2m cable
  • 1.8m cable extension
  • 3.5mm jack
  • Faux leather ear pads
  • Manufacturer: Sony
  • Review Price: £61.61
specs
Quick Glance
Type Over-the-head
Frequency Range 5 Hz, 40 kHz
Features
Type Over-the-head
Frequency Range 5 Hz, 40 kHz

JamesB92

August 15, 2011, 12:32 am

Having bought these headphones a few months ago - fulfilled by Amazon - I never received the 1.8m extension cable.

Is there any way to get these without buying them separately?

Andrew_TR

August 15, 2011, 2:03 am

Hi James,

Absolutely. It's just a standard 3.5mm extension cable. For the cheapest price, eBay's the best best. You'll be able to get one for a few quid. Just search for "3.5mm extension". There will generally be some high quality options for a few pounds more too.

Alternatively, most high street electronics retailers (Currys/PC World/Maplin) should be able to sort you out too.

JamesB92

August 15, 2011, 3:54 am

Cheers, I was hoping to see if I could get it straight from Sony if I were meant to have got it bundled (maybe even free, you never know) but if it's only a cheapo one anyway it probably isn't worth it.

Andrew_TR

August 15, 2011, 1:24 pm

Ahh right. Not sure about getting it direct from Sony. It may be that they changed the pack very soon after release. Seems a bit odd though.

JamesB92

August 15, 2011, 3:40 pm

Ah it seems they may have been US imports (which would explain the US warranty thinking about it) where there seems to be no mention of an extension cable for their model.

Never mind.

ChrisT

August 16, 2011, 7:48 am

I talked to a customer service rep of U.S. Sony. He did not believe an extention cord was included. I will report back if otherwise.

AJ

August 16, 2011, 3:11 pm

Hi guys. Could anyone tell me how these compare to the Sennheiser HD202's please.

I own the above and am wondering if these are a substantial upgrade?

Andrew_TR

August 16, 2011, 5:01 pm

I'm liking the investigative work going on here guys. Two thumbs up!

frantastikid

November 7, 2011, 2:36 am

Could someone explain to me why these are rated 2 points higher than the Sennheiser HD 220 Originals for Value when they're apparently 1 point worse in terms of Sound Quality and almost double the price?

Andrew_TR

November 7, 2011, 4:00 am

Hi Fantastikid,

The scores can't really be compared that directly, as they're in different classes - in terms of both cost and type. The sound score only relates to the class each is part of - the HD 220s are budget on-ears and the MDR-ZX700s are mid-range over-ears. Having an absolute sound score is a nice idea, but not really practical when we review headphones from £15 to £2000.

The MDR-ZX700 sound better, and are better for home recording situations. Sennheiser's HD220 are more portable though. For an at-home set, I'd recommend the Sonys every time if you can afford the extra.

Andrew

comments powered by Disqus