Sony KDL-55X9005A pictures

1 of 10 pictures

Sony 55X9005A Front

Sony 55X9005A
Sony 55X9005A

10 Pictures - Sony KDL-55X9005A

  • Sony 55X9005A
  • Sony 55X9005A
  • Sony 55X9005A
  • Sony 55X9005A
  • Sony 55X9005A
  • Sony 55X9005A
  • Sony 55X9005A
  • Sony 55X9005A
  • Sony 55X9005A
  • Sony 55-inch 4K TV

Jimmy Ireland

November 26, 2013, 2:00 pm

Ugly as sin though. And I don't get one of the 'cons' being that there is no content yet. Not the TVs fault and it applies to every 4k TV on the market.

Andy Race

November 26, 2013, 3:04 pm

Still nearly two and half grand over what I'd class as affordable I'm affraid. When HD first came out I can remember forking out over £2k for a 720p 42 inch Samsung plasma. I won't make the same mistake again.

JasJw

November 26, 2013, 4:32 pm

Thanks for the very good review but you are completely wrong when it comes to 3D on the 55". You are not getting full HD 3D, You are only getting 540P each each not 1080p.

Because of this you can see the black lines and they are far too many jaggies and a lack of detail in its 3D image.

I own the 55" and I am thinking of returning it because i feel like I've been kicked in thr balls by Sony. They have been very naughty in advertising this as full HD 3D when its not.

540P on a 4K TV is absurd.

please respond. Cheers

Walter

November 26, 2013, 5:52 pm

Has to be in the eye of the beholder, I love how it looks..

Geoff Richards

November 26, 2013, 6:00 pm

Can I clarify this claim for a second? Is it the case that 1080p 3D content (like a Blu-ray) is actually 540p per eye.

From what I was able to research it sounds like you need 4K 3D content to get 1080p per eye, because passive polarised 3D glasses reduce the resolution by half.

But then I also found this on Sony's support forum, claiming 1080p per eye...
http://community.sony.com/t5/4...

I'm not an expert though. Just seeing what I can find.

JasJw

November 26, 2013, 6:11 pm

only the 65" is Full 1080p per eye, the 55" is 540p. And it makes a massive difference. I'm so tempted to return my 55 for the W9 and save the cash.

JasJw

November 26, 2013, 6:56 pm

here is the shocking prove. www.youtube.com/watch?v=4znn0y...

Geoff Richards

November 26, 2013, 9:46 pm

That's a bit concerning. I guess when they say "Every picture setting including resolution for 3D was optimized for each model." they think 540p is acceptable on a 55 (or that people wouldn't notice?) while the 65 is big enough that it warrants 1080p per eye.

I really can't think of a (good) technical reason to do that... but vote with your wallet. :)

Ashley

November 27, 2013, 3:41 am

Just so you know Sony does have a true 2.0 HDMI. Intact they are the only one that does. Also if you'd doesn't you can call Sony and have someone come to your home and PR one in for free

andyvan

November 27, 2013, 9:53 am

Hmm, 'PR one in for free'? I don't follow at all, and your statement is untrue. Panasonic is the only company to have true HDMI 2.0 and so as we're aware an update for Sony's 4K TVs hasn't come out yet.

Karl Rainer

November 27, 2013, 10:01 am

With no 4k movie content available or streaming in the UK, and sub par 1080i/p motion (which will be most peoples primary source material) and black levels that don't compare with the best plasmas such as the panny vt65 or zt60, i don't see how this could be worth buying at least for now. Also the benefit of 4k at most peoples viewing distance of 9 foot plus would be small on a 55". Maybe wait for OLED to come down.

mode11

November 27, 2013, 12:13 pm

It might apply to all 4k TVs, but it's still worth pointing out that despite the huge cost, you can't fully use it's capabilities.

It's like making a super-efficient car that runs on hydrogen and gets great reviews, but it's a bit moot if you can't buy the fuel for it.

JasJw

November 27, 2013, 12:53 pm

Incorrect.

The Panasonic WT600 is the only TV to have full 2.0 HDMI compatibility. Sony plan to upgrade their sets to 2.0 later this year with a firmware update but it will only be 2.0 Light. It will only be able to pass 8 bit color at 60Hz 4k, as apposed to full 36 bit.

TBH most people wont notice but it kinda defeats having a wider color gamut when it cant be used to its full potential.

JasJw

November 27, 2013, 1:00 pm

Like I say I have this set in 55" and you are right about the motion, As its only 100Hz its motion and response time are well below average for top end TV's. Its a disgrace to be honest for a TV costing over 3 grand. The first thing I noticed was how fine details get blurred out with any kind of movement.

Sony advertise this set as 800Hz which is the same as its younger brother the W905 but that's just an advertising ploy. The real figures are 100Hz on the X9 and 200Hz on the W9 and the W9 is much much better in this regard.

As for the black levels yeah the plasma's are always going to win that battle but the X9 is no slouch. It has the best blacks I've seen on an LED TV and Ive owned most. The great thing about this set is its ability to hold its black level even off axis as the viewing angles for an LED are excellent. Add a little ambient lighting on an evening and the blacks are jet black.

JasJw

November 27, 2013, 1:02 pm

I do think the review needs to be corrected regards to 3D as they has already been enough people buy this TV thinking its full 3D HD only to get it home and find an image full of black lines and jaggies.

Don't get me wrong its still brilliant for 3D, Its so every to watch and has great depth but its not pristine and full resolution unlike its big brother, That beast is a whole different story, I just wish I had the space for one.

Grandad Doug

January 7, 2014, 5:00 pm

I bought one of these TV's just before Christmas. I think it is brilliant and I'm still slowly learning all it's tricks. I have not had a 3D TV before, so I'm new to the picture quality. That said, it seems very good to me. The one big problem I have with it, is using BBC i-Player, which to be totally honest is absolutely un-watchable. It buffers for minutes and then plays for a few seconds! I thought it was by broadband speed but my PC, my laptop, my tablet and even my HD-mobile, will all play BBC i-player content though the same broadband connection perfectly, with no buffering at all! I've even hard-wired the TV to the router and still have the same problem. YouTube content, even 4K, plays OK with an initial buffer, but then nothing. So it really does look as if it's just BBC i-Player on this Sony TV that has the problem! I then asked Sony 4K support, what was wrong. Their response is that they have raised the issue with BBC i-Player tech support and are awaiting their reply. In the mean time, i-Player continues to be un-watchable! Ha anyone else had this problem or know how to resolve the issue?

comments powered by Disqus