Sony Bravia KDL-60LX903 - Key Features

John Archer

By John Archer

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

7

Dedicated TrustedReviews readers may remember that back in May of last year, Sony launched a TV, the KDL-40WE5, with a built-in Presence Sensor. This used a combination of motion and heat detection to tell if anyone was in the room watching the TV, turning the picture off to save energy/money if it detected nobody was watching.

This gimmicky sounding but surprisingly accurate system returns in the 60LX903, but with considerable knobs on. For now, rather remarkably, it actually includes face detection technology, so that it doesn’t just know that somebody is watching the TV, but who that somebody is. Even more uncannily/unnervingly, the 60LX903 can connect your face to the sort of programmes you like watching on the Freeview HD tuner, and then make recommendations of programmes you might be interested in based on your past viewing habits!

Other tricks of the Presence Sensor system include the option to have the screen turn off and sound a warning if a child gets too close to the screen, and even a system that adjusts the picture and sound in response to your seating position relative to the screen.

Most of these features really do work, too. The programme recommendations thing was a little random at times, but we guess it would improve TIVO-style the longer we had the TV for. And the thing that adjusts the picture and sound in response to your viewing position didn’t always seem to make choices we totally agreed with. But all in all there’s some clever stuff going on here.

The only feature we had to leave off was the Distance Detection tool, which for some reason kept producing a proximity warning even when neither we nor our kids were anywhere near the screen.

One last feature we should give a little more space to before getting into the all-important performance section is Sony’s Bravia Internet Video platform. This really is an excellent feature for Sony, providing as it does the most comprehensive suite of streaming video - with very stable delivery - in the TV world right now. Highlights include LoveFilm, Demand Five, and the recently added BBC iPlayer.

ronesh amin

August 3, 2010, 2:41 pm

hmm, £4500 for a great 2D TV just doesn't cut it anymore. Its surprising Sony are struggling so much with its 3D tech, seeing as they were the main company pushing it from all fronts, such as gaming, and blu-ray. 3D TV should become a standard feature in all TV's now; even if it doesn't fully take off for years to come; atleast consumers are reassured they have a future proof TV.





Really happy TR have decided to differentiate between 2D & 3D picture quality in their reviews now. Would like to see the comparison of this TV against Samsung's 63inch offering which retails for as little as £2700, or its 50ich plasma variant, to go against Sony's 50inch optional 3D offering.





But going back to a point John Archer made in the his previous Sony 3D TV review- ".....3D continues to be very much a premium technology."; I disagree with this- there are TV's out there which offer reasonable prices for 3D technology. As mentioned previously Samsung have their 3D Plasma range, and LG their LED range; both selling their 3D TV's for as little as £1500.

Ripsnorter

August 3, 2010, 4:50 pm

There'll be sweeter price deals than this, I'm sure, but even so, this set is way overpriced. I take it from a comment in the review that the notorious Sony problem of backlight inconsistency is still there, too.





Unlike ronesh–amin, I have no desire to see 3D become standard. I want to have the choice rather than have a technology I don't care for, let alone want, foisted on me.

Metalex

August 3, 2010, 5:10 pm

At last!! You mentioned input lag.





It's a start, but the best reviews give a figure in milliseconds. Susceptibility to input lag is a very personal thing. 30ms might be fine for a casual gamer, but be a nightmare for serious gamers playing online against others.





Simply saying that no input lag could be detected doesn't really cut it. I've read people claiming they can't detect input lag on TVs that have been measured in reviews to have 60ms of input lag. I personally find 60ms unplayable.

Tim Sutton

August 3, 2010, 5:27 pm

@ronesh





I'd think £1500 is a premium price for any TV in most peoples eyes.





There are 3D TVs available for a lot less than that, to be fair. But it's not a technology that's certain (I'd say not even likely) to be around for very long so there's not much incentive to buy.





I doubt 3D via glasses will ever be mainstream. It's an expensive, annoying and inelegant solution that as repeated Sony 3D TV reviews have shown doesn't really work very well.





Someone somewhere, probably Sharp, will be working on a glassless 3D display and that'll be when I consider buying in.

Guye0a

August 3, 2010, 6:48 pm

I have alreasy seen test systems from Philips that were native 3D without the need for glasses and that was 4 years ago at least. So this is all a method of increasing sales before the release of full 3D screens without glasses.....

AJ

August 3, 2010, 7:03 pm

I'm just annoyed that some of the very best designs (that I want) are now only being supplied on expensive 3D TV's (that I don't want). Case in point, the LG 9900.





I can only hope that in the next iteration of this technology they stop this practice. I'm certainly not shelling out hundreds of £'s so I can sit at home in the dark wearing sunglasses !

GoldenGuy

August 3, 2010, 8:15 pm

I'll take a modern television that's perfected the basics one used to expect as standard, like solid speaker quality, adequate consistent brightness and an image that keeps up with your inputs, over all these extra bells and whistles like internet connectivity and 3D. We're getting into iPod Touch territory now, where instead of earning its place as a quality media player, it just *does more stuff*. I'm not sure I want that model applied to £2000+ pieces of kit that suffer from backlight bleed, and crosstalk and input lag and crap sound, just so their marketing team have more to put on the features page.

stranded

August 3, 2010, 8:33 pm

@Metalex


Serious gamers don't play with TVs. They use only 0-20ms in.lag monitors.


TVs are only for console gamers. We all know?? only PC gamers are serious.

cliche

August 3, 2010, 10:03 pm

@metalex - still using my Sony CRT Trintron monitor for gaming - timed it as 34 ms quicker than my TFT. Even as I'm getting old, combined with my G9x mouse, func pad and CRT, I'm able to out react the younger players consistently in "twitch" shooters"


I wish input lag was a standard review criteria here

BloodyMary

August 3, 2010, 10:21 pm

there is a point that is usually forgotten with 3D: its almost totally impractical for people who wear glasses

Moggy58

August 4, 2010, 3:51 am

{quote}there is a point that is usually forgotten with 3D: its almost totally impractical for people who wear glasses{/quote}





Maybe the the laser corrective eye surgery was missed in the feature list.

Powerful

August 4, 2010, 10:12 am

Some 1 in 20 UK children suffer from some form of squint where the brain ignores the signals from one eye. Although treatments are available, many continue to see monocularly and are therefore unable to see 3DTV or 3D films. Squints in adulthood cannot normally be corrected even if the appearance of the squint can be improved.





If 3D TV's are likely to be mainstream, a significant proportion of the population will be unable to watch them.





I've yet to hear any reflection of this issue from the industry which is potentially creating a two-tier society.

Ripsnorter

August 4, 2010, 1:27 pm

@Powerful





Obviously, people with these conditions can still enjoy 2D but they should have the choice of buying a 2D set and not be forced to pay extra for a feature they cannot use. And there are other health issues involved with 3D TV, especially where young children are concerned. This is something the manufacturers are aware of and include such warnings in the user manual.

Garry 1

August 6, 2010, 8:10 pm

Which TV in the 60 inch range without 3D will come close to the Sony LX900?

starx

August 7, 2010, 1:41 am

@garry


IMO Panasonic V20

Garry 1

August 7, 2010, 7:26 am

I am interested in something that is not Plasma. I know it has a great picture but the RFI it puts off is a real problem. Looking at LED/LCD only.

comments powered by Disqus