Sony Bravia KDL-55W905A specs

John Archer

By John Archer


Key Features

  • 55in LCD TV with edge LED lighting
  • Triluminos colour system
  • Active 3D playback (4 pairs of glasses included)
  • Local dimming technology
  • Long duct sound system
  • Manufacturer: Sony
  • Review Price: £2,399.00
Quick Glance
Size 55
Display Type LED
Max. Resolution 1920 x 1080
Contrast Ratio more than 1000,000:1
Refresh Rate '800'
Freeview HD Yes
Size 55
Display Type LED
Max. Resolution 1920 x 1080
Full HD 1080p Yes
Digital Tuner Yes
Freeview HD Yes
Freesat HD Yes
3D Ready Yes
Contrast Ratio more than 1000,000:1
Refresh Rate '800'
Physical Specifications
Height 723
Width 1241
Depth 61
Weight 19.7
HDMI 4 (v1.4)
Component 1
Composite 1
Scart 1 (RGB)
Digital Audio Out 1 (optical)
Headphone 1
Ethernet Yes
WiFi Yes (built-in)

Rupesh Patre

May 1, 2013, 8:42 pm

Excellent review. Not to mention its the first review I've found of the 55W905A. X-Reality Pro Engine looks great . Looking forward to demo it. Only thing I'm unsure about is the remote control.


May 1, 2013, 9:55 pm

It comes with the standard Sony remote control too, that's just a mini basic one for users who don't want all the functions all the time.

James Brady

May 2, 2013, 6:25 am

Great review, 7 ms of input lag is just amazing !


May 2, 2013, 10:34 am

Yesterday 9/10, today 10/10 how can you can You explain it? ;)


May 2, 2013, 12:24 pm

That is a Great Review, but what is with the Points:
1. DSE ( Dirty Screen Effect)
2. Clouding or Flashlights
And what for settings use for the Review?
( sry for bad english :D )


May 2, 2013, 1:21 pm

We've added update to end of this review. I made a mistake when uploading the review from our tester and put the wrong score on. Apologies for the confusion.

Rupesh Patre

May 2, 2013, 7:23 pm

Does the 55W905A have a 4oD and ITV player apps? Shame it doesn't have a Spotify app.


May 3, 2013, 1:42 am

Hey TrustedAndy, you should maybe add more insight to the Triluminous technology and how it is powered using quantum technology.
"Triluminos uses blue LEDs, but instead of coating them with a yellow phosphor, the blue light from the LEDs passes through the Color IQ optical element containing red and green quantum dots. So the blue LEDs have two functions: create blue light, but also energize red- and green-emitting quantum dots so they in turn can create red and green light. About two-thirds of the light created by the blue LEDs is used to excite the QDs.


May 5, 2013, 12:30 pm

When (if?) the 40 inch version drops under £1000 I am getting this! This may be next year, unfortunately...


May 8, 2013, 5:26 am

mll 0.03 cd/m2?


May 9, 2013, 10:02 pm

Just in quality of picture, how does it stack against the Philips 46PFL9707?


May 11, 2013, 6:42 pm

gamers rejoice

mieke dier

May 14, 2013, 4:50 pm

7 ms input lag? Finally, after all these years a led tv came out that can actually compete with a cheap lcd monitor. If only it would be 60 inch and cheaper.
It must be really impressive to play battlefield 3 on this tv.


July 22, 2013, 3:46 pm

what about settings for dark room bd viewing??
gamma is better left on "0" or lower? thx


August 17, 2013, 5:34 pm

How can you give a 10/10 score when there are cons?


August 17, 2013, 7:40 pm

No product is ever perfect. For us, a 10/10 means the product sets an outstanding reference: as good as you could possibly get within reason.


August 22, 2013, 2:08 pm

"there’s certainly still room for improvement" and an overall 10/10!!

I guess the perfect products get 11/10.

Habeeb Hashim

October 14, 2013, 10:17 am

Hi, thinking of replacing an old 46" Philips with a new set. Here in Singapore, we get the KDL-55W904A and also a KDL-55W954A. Are these the same as the W905A reviewed here? Can anyone tell me what the difference between a W904 and a W954 is?
Also, if the 4K KD55X9004A is within budget, should I go for that or save the cash. My normal use is satellite TV and movies streamed through a NAS. Some occasional gaming of Final Fantasy type games on the PS3. Would appreciate any inputs. Thanks!


November 15, 2013, 8:02 pm

This TV is absolutely amazing, it's perfect! I mainly use it for gaming and the input lag being so low really makes a difference, I've been knocking seconds off my lap times on Most Wanted. The quality of the display is mind blowing too. As for the viewing angles, there is no problem at all, you'd have to have an odd shaped room to be sitting wide enough for it to affect the viewing.


January 9, 2014, 8:16 am

let me knew about this screen vessel mount 400x400 or 600x400..???


January 9, 2014, 4:58 pm

Had mine for a week now. Did look at the 4K TV's but couldn't justify the £3k+ price tag with no real content to watch. Upgraded from a 42" Panasonic plasma that cost £1,500 6 years ago. The picture is amazing with just a little ghosting sometimes visible. Watched Hugo in 3D last night and bar the fact I hate 3D glasses (and I wear glasses!) was really impressed. Also, unlike the reviewer, got the 3D glasses to work out of the box without any issues. What I do disagree with the review is that the sound quality is appalling. Really tinny even with the bass turned up. With the old Panasonic, you could easily watch TV and not worry too much about the sound unless you were watching a film. With the Sony and I guess all these ultra thin screens, you'll need a sound bar or surround speakers. So am using my old Panasonic DVD £250 surround system which works very well. Just got to save up now for the Sonos sound bar and sub!


March 20, 2014, 8:01 am

I have Xbox One and BF4 and the game looks amazing and plays very naturally on this TV. I cannot get over how good the picture is and how rich all the colors are...

comments powered by Disqus