Home / TVs & Audio / Blu-ray Player / Sony BDP-S570 / Operating System

Sony BDP-S570 - Operating System

By Danny Phillips



  • Recommended by TR
Sony BDP-S570


Our Score:


User Score:

This wide range of services should offer something for everyone, but if not then you can stream your own content from connected PCs. The DLNA-certified player will stream music (MP3, WMA, AAC), video (DivX HD, MPEG-1/-2, MKV, AVI) and photos (JPEG) and the same file types are also supported from USB storage devices. It also plays WMV and AVCHD from discs and USB only.

There are plenty of other features besides. The BDP-S570 will spin Super Audio CDs, transferring the hi-res DSD stream over HDMI, and when you load a Blu-ray, DVD or CD it downloads the details and cover art from Gracenote’s online database. HD audio formats are output as bitstreams or multichannel linear PCM. Chuck in Deep Colour and x.v.Colour support, 1080/24p output, 1080p DVD upscaling and Precision Drive HD, which helps the deck to play scuffed discs, and you’ve pretty much got all bases covered.

Next we come to the operating system, which again uses Sony’s Xross Media Bar as its backbone. We’ve sang the praises of this dual-axis design enough times so we’ll spare you the description, but it’s worth reiterating that it’s one of the most distinctive and intuitive GUIs we’ve encountered. With so many features on board there’s a danger it could get over-cluttered and confusing, but thankfully the clean, logical layout allays that particular concern.

Surfing around these menus with the ergonomic remote is a pleasant experience. It’s not bogged down by a bevy of seldom-used buttons or baffling logos – the frequently-used controls are placed exactly where you’d want them and the other keys are clearly labelled. If you’ve got a Sony TV it can also be controlled using this handset.

Most of the adjustments are made in the Setup menu (including the 3D and network settings) but further tweaks are tucked away in the Options menu, which can only be accessed during playback. Here, you’ll find some picture adjustments, including presets for different lighting conditions, random, block and mosquito noise reduction and a mode that improves the look of Internet video.

We’re hugely impressed by the deck’s overall operating speed. Boot-up time from standby is just three seconds, although that’s with the Quick Start mode activated, which uses more power in standby. Disc loading is fast too – it fired up Terminator Salvation in an impressive 37 seconds.

Don Kanonjii

July 16, 2010, 1:55 pm

Is it better than the Panasonic DMP-BD60?


July 16, 2010, 2:24 pm

Sorry to say but ths blu-ray player is totaly waste of time if you want to use 3d why? as it has only 1 hdmi output.

you need players wiht 2 hdmi outputs the reason for this is if your amp does not support 1.4 hdmi then you need a new amp this costing you more. players with 2 hdmi ouputs can send the sound out of 1 to the amp using 1.3 and then you can use the 2nd hdmi to the tv which would be 1.4.

but if your not bothered about 3d then its ok


July 16, 2010, 2:35 pm

@Meridius - yes but the crucial phrase there is "if your amp does not support 1.4 hdmi" - most people who are getting on board with 3D at this relatively early stage are early adopters who want the best. They are also likely to be looking at Sky+ 3D and other 3D sources, so they are likely to have spent or be willing to spend money on a receiver which will pass through HDMI 1.4 signals, in which case the 3D video and multichannel audio can be taken from the player over a single HDMI cable.


July 16, 2010, 2:38 pm

@Meridius - If I wanted audio sent to my Amp I would use the optical or coaxial output, so it's not wasted on 3D.


July 16, 2010, 3:47 pm

Play.com have one of these s570 units for more than your stated price and they claim the WiFi is not integrated. They advise you need a Sony USB dongle. Are there multiple SKUs or just shenanigans?


July 16, 2010, 4:59 pm

@den sorry to say that will not work for hd audios, why have a blu-ray player and movies to watch a fantastic picture but to listen to poor lower bitrate sound.

optical is old now you need hdmi to get the best from your audio

i have the yamaha 3900 which coast me £1300 and i had a A2 before that whihc lasted me 10 years and i hope my 3900 lasts that long which it should. but how much and how difficult would it be to just add another hdmi out to a player.

for players with 1 hdmi and want 3d you would

1 buy the player £200

2 buy a new amp £1400

2 buy a new tv £1000

total £2600

now if thay add 2 hdmis to a player

1 buy the player £200

2 buy a new tv £1000

total £1200

do you see what i am getting at it would coast me £1400 more becasue they could not add another hdmi out and you need this to get Hd audios from blu-rays.

i think all blu rya 3d machines should come with 2 hdmi out as there are alot of people not going to upgrade there £300 to £2000 amps just to support 1.4 hdmi.

i upgraded y amp only for the new hd audios but buying a £1400 1.3 hdmi amp and then upgrading to a £1400 1.4 hdmi amp and just getting the next version of hdmi and no better sound why would you do that.

this will put alot of people of 3d even if i wanted it and bought a new tv and player theres no way iwould buy a new amp on top of that.

i think sony missed the ball on this one and if i do go the 3d route i will have to buy a 2 hdmi output player or dont lookat 3d for another 10 years as i am not upgrading my amp


July 16, 2010, 7:13 pm


If so, that's a shame. One of the draws here is built in Wi-Fi. With its ubiquitousness, dongles really are an inelegant solution, particularly for manufacturers boasting about svelte design. (Goes without saying that it's a bit of a racket too. How difficult or expensive can it be to build the antenna in?)


July 16, 2010, 8:16 pm

This product is junk. I found it had a number of issues. 1) Not very good range on the wireless. 2) Very slow at loading CDs sometimes it did not even see a CD. 3) Average CD sound quality. SACD sound might have been ok I did not test it but CD was definitely below par. Compared it to a Denon SACD/DVD-Audio/DVD player and the Denon was far superior in audio quality. Granted if you have the right receiver the analog audio quality of this unit should not matter. Also all blu-ray players are identical when outputting 24Hz 1080p.

Matt G Baish

July 16, 2010, 8:20 pm


HDMI 1.4 is likely to be yesterdays news soon anyway so I wouldn;t lose any slepp about it! ;^)

<a href="http://www.thinq.co.uk/2010/7/...


July 16, 2010, 10:11 pm

@Matt - Off-topic, but I wish TR's comments section did support (some) html tags. Maybe with the new re-design?


July 17, 2010, 3:42 pm

Well, regarding the wireless, it appears the link provided by TR send to a site with the product cheaper, multi-region for BD and includes WiFi. I'll get a few other reviews under my belt but I think I'm sold. If i'm lucky this can replace my WDTVLIVE and BDP-S360 in one fell swoop. Regarding 3D, i'm only interested in this for gaming and i'm not interested in it in any current gen consoles(just not enough grunt) so i guess i can sit and wait for the displays to mature before hopping on this slow moving bandwagon.

PS4.XBOX1080 or whatever...


July 19, 2010, 5:21 pm

While I'm sure this is probably a very good BluRay player, I have my doubts with this review. Was the DLNA feature really tested by the reviewer?

The feature was added by firmare in July, and from what I read in forums doesn't work particularly well for HD content (stuttering, mkv's do not work properly). Correct me if I'm wrong, but this alone makes it deserve a lower score, and this device definitely won't replace a WD-TV Live.

If any Sony BDP-S owner has DLNA working properly with HD content I will eat my words, but as it stands this player is primarily for BluRays only... be aware!

Jonathan Hackford

October 14, 2010, 5:05 pm

I've just bought this player from Amazon for £176 (inc next day delivery) and I have to say it is very good, on a par with my PS3 for Blu-Ray. I'm only using 720p output to my Sony HD ready TV at the moment but am looking to go full HD soon, so looking forward to seeing it in 1080p action.

The Bravia Internet Video streaming works really well if you have a good internet connection.

I think the TR review is fair and justified, however, one minor criticism is that when playing Blu-Ray dics the drive is not silent in operation and you can hear it spinning during quiet scenes.

Overall though I am happy with it and would highly recommend it.

Brian Farrell

January 3, 2011, 8:59 pm

The problem with my excellent Panasonic BD60 blu ray is that it does not allow the picture aspect to be tweaked, so having to put up with letterbox view on e.g. 2.35:1 ratio. Anyone know if this Sony player allows the viewing aspect to be changed to fill the screen ???


February 8, 2016, 8:06 am

This is now a very old player in electronics terms, and whilst the spec is pretty good the player is dreadful with it's latest software. There are many discs the play will not load due to it's poor software. The Hobbit - Battle of the Five Armies extended edition - won't load or play and locks the machine up. It's the same story with Star Wars - Return of the Jedi. A very flawed machine - get an LG instead.

comments powered by Disqus