Sony BDP-S1100 Deals

By Danny Phillips



October 15, 2013, 11:25 pm

How is the up-scaling quality? Other reviews I've seen suggest the picture is a little soft.


October 18, 2013, 11:38 am

This Sony BDP-S1100 is £50. Will more expensive ones like the S3100, S5100 and Panasonic DMPBDT330EB provide better picture quality or is it all the same?


October 18, 2013, 2:08 pm

There may be small incremental improvements, but there won't be a vast difference. Depends quite a lot on your TV and how good it is. If you've got a fairly no-frills set it's probably not worth splurging on the more expensive players.


October 20, 2013, 12:42 pm

Great, thanks. Can you also say something about the noise issue mentioned in some Amazon reviews? Disc playback gets very noisy at times. How does it compare to the other players you've reviewed, and can you make noise level a regular feature of your reviews?


October 21, 2013, 8:47 am

Afraid I can't as we don't have the sample anymore.


December 1, 2013, 10:36 am

In general this is a very good little player with amazing picture quality and it is very easy to use,lots of apps available( you need to connect it to the internet which is quite easy to do). The main disadvantage that although it is advertised BBC iPlayer amongst other applications-this does not work after firmware update and currently there is no way to fix it.


December 29, 2013, 11:28 am

I was bought one of these for Christmas and notice that there is no wifi compatibility, is there some sort of purchasable plug in device that would enable it to pick up the 'house wifi'?


January 5, 2014, 8:33 am

Get a Network range extender that has an Ethernet port on it. Basically, you plug your player into this wifi device with an Ethernet cable, and the device then connects wirelessly to your wireless router. I just picked up the N300-WiFi Range Extender (Model: WN3000RP) today, and set it up in about 10 mins. Hope that helps!

R Callander

January 7, 2014, 10:23 pm

I have just bought this DVD but can't get it to work - plugged in hdmi but getting message to say it's not connecting to the tv-can anyone help?

J. MacD

January 8, 2014, 9:28 am

On sites for different vendors it says that this player will play multi Region DVDs. Others don't mention this. Can anyone confirm as to whether it can?


January 24, 2014, 11:18 pm

I faced the same problem. I just can not connect this Blu-ray player to Samsung TVset (series 5). Can anyone help?


January 30, 2014, 5:40 pm

Does this player support to read SRT file??


January 30, 2014, 5:43 pm

Does this player can read subtitle (.SRT) file??


February 5, 2014, 9:25 pm

I bought this and assumed it had wifi - now it is pretty much useless for my needs and un-returnable. One question - why the fuck is this not wireless? Is this thing from the 90's? My old PS3 is wireless for christ's sakes.


February 27, 2014, 6:24 am

Read the product description stupid

James Hewitson

March 18, 2014, 6:16 am

It does yes but not out of the box. I bought my from World import modified, region free DVD and Blu-Ray playback. it really is a great little unit (^-^)


April 27, 2014, 9:19 am

I bought this because it has YOUtUBE on the front of the box... I assumed it would play MP4 YouTube files I have downloaded from YT... It doesn't........


May 3, 2014, 12:49 am

I received this blu-ray player and all I have is an old (2003) phillips box tv. Is there anyway to use this player with this tv?


May 28, 2014, 6:06 pm

do you mean FLV files? Is anybody else having issues playing MP4 or MKV?

Miyako O'Conner

December 4, 2014, 2:19 pm

Great article Danny. For those who live outside US like me, you can access Netflix, Hulu and similar media stations on your Sony Smart TV by using UnoTelly or similar tools.

comments powered by Disqus