Our Score


User Score

Review Price £599.00

The function button brings up a quick menu which allows adjustment of most common shooting options including metering mode, autofocus options, flash modes and the Creative Styles tone adjustment feature, but also duplicates the function of several of the buttons, such as ISO setting and drive mode. The main menu holds a similarly limited number of options, with only basics such as image size and quality (including Raw and Raw + JPEG), image stabiliser (on or off), a choice of Adobe RGB or sRGB colour space and a few more basic options, including image aspect ratio. The main section of the menu is only just over one page, and exhibits considerably less customisation than most other mid-level DSLRs.

One good point is the viewfinder, which has a nice wide screen with the nine AF points clearly marked with red LEDs, and a decent data display along the bottom. It has a 95 percent field of view and 0.83x magnification, with dioptric correction for spectacle wearers. There are two proximity sensors just above the viewfinder for the Eye-start AF feature, which focuses the camera as soon as it is held up to the eye.

The overwhelming impression of the A450 is that Sony has taken the much better A550, which sells for around £600, and stripped out a number of features to get the camera on sale below a certain price point. As a result the camera always feels as though it is lacking something, and that it could have been much better if only a little more money had been spent. This is indeed true, because then it would have been an A550.

Previous page
Next page


August 14, 2010, 5:41 pm

You guys realise that this camera has been available for close to 6 months or so... so isn't all that new?

Cliff Smith

August 14, 2010, 9:50 pm

fatmikel - Yes, we know. Unfortunately we're limited by the availability of review samples supplied by Sony. Usually we're able to get samples within a month or so, but sometimes there is a delay. If it's any consolation I'm hoping to get the A390 in very soon.


August 14, 2010, 9:59 pm

Seems like this a very basic DSLR dressed up in a fancy shell. The kx does everything and a lot more in a much smaller package, and similar price.


August 15, 2010, 6:53 am

Smoke and Mirror!

That is the business model and philosophy that Sony use for all of their new products. instead of listening to their customers for feed backs, Sony produced clones of cameras from their competitors. And service supports are almost non-existent.

Sony as a business entity is dying slowly, their Walkman had been replaced by Apple I-POD, their playstations is lossing to X-Box and Nintendo, their TV is overwhelm by Samsung and Panicsonic, their camera are being overshadowed by Canon and Nikon.

So far, the Sony NEX-5 is the only DSLR camera that meets the photography market standard, all the other Sony DSLR cameras lack features(like movie mode) and are too expensive compares to other manufactors.

Tim 12

August 15, 2010, 6:28 pm

I just picked on of these up at Comet for £300 and now it is on sale for £330. How does that effect the numbers? It is cheaper than many other things on the market.


August 15, 2010, 7:48 pm

Yes £300 is true price, that's why I got it. Cos you wont get any DSLR for this price from others companies. So my value fro money is 10/10


August 15, 2010, 8:19 pm

@ Money your right Sony are getting dominated. They are a top company with great products but the fail badly at certain stuff. There walkman line is finished, people don't understand what OLDED technology is and sound quality Driver size, frequency etc....

Only tech geeks or enthusiasts know that kind of stuff and fully appreciate it.


August 15, 2010, 8:40 pm

@Money: 'Clones of cameras from their competitors'? Hardly. Think A700, A900 and A350 - all of which differed radically from what their competitors were doing (affordable full-frame, Live View with phase-detection AF, sensor-based stabilisation, and so on). They've lost the plot since then, but not because they're cloning competitors' cameras - on the contrary, they're removing features that their competitors would consider essential (DOF preview, MLU, fully functional A-mode, and so on).


August 16, 2010, 3:20 am

I bought into the Sony brand with the A200 and consequently invested MAJOR money in Alpha fit lenses. I didnt require all the features of the A550 because I am more interested in producing better pictures rather than playing with the cameras features!The A450 fitted the bill with its 14.2 exmor, Bionz etc. Ok, so there are better cameras out there, but I cant use my lenses on them! In my case Sony have got this spot on. What p*****s me off is I paid £450? If you can get it for £330 its a bargain.


August 16, 2010, 1:10 pm

I started with an a100, moved onto a350 and now have a 550. In terms of how they compare relative to the opposition they've steadily gone downhill. What's been most disappointing about the 550 is noise and consequently the lack of 100 ISO. Despite the puff from Sony, the noise level from their cmos sensor is very poor, blue sky noise at ISO 100 from the old chip is considerably better than the new one at 200 ISO, at 200 ISO they're comparable. In fairness other parameters such as colour response have improved.


August 16, 2010, 1:40 pm

@Money - The NEX cameras are not DSLRs.


August 20, 2010, 12:20 am

Which is the better camera out of the NEX-5 and the A450? I compared the ISO both side by side and the Nex-5 wins hand down. However the NEX-5 would cost £500 and the A450 now £329.99 Which to me is a bargainnnnn! However the loss of video... Which is the better in picture quality Cliff? From your point of view?


August 20, 2010, 4:08 am

@@ stop talking nonetheless, Sony is a top company with great products.

smoke an mirrors ?

i think the Ipod is smoke and mirrors, Have you ever compared a Walkman sound quality to a an Ipod sound?

Walkman has cleaner and higher quality than any other MP3 players on the market,

Ipod has a weak and terrible sound performance covered with a stylish smoke an mirrors ads.

and the Playstation is the only console that is 100% reliable and it has more quality exclusive games then any other gaming console on the market.

their bravia TVs are very good most of their TV's get a review between an 8 and 10 for the picture quality, everything Bravia makes Samsung copies.

as for their DSLR, A700, A900 and A350 are one of the best DSLR on the market and they are very affordable.

also another smoke and morris product from apple is the AirBook

Haters gonna hate.


August 20, 2010, 8:11 am

@ Ahlan:

Are you for real, or are you on drugs?

How can tape walkman be better than digital sound?

as for Playstation, it has a problem with Disc Freezing, Connecting To The Internet problem, HDMI problem, and Overheating Console.

Yeah, Sony Bravia TV is an over priced TV and only gets 8/10, so why are you paying so much for a TV that only gets a 8/10 rating? Why not buy a Panasonic TC-PVT20/25 series, or Samsung PNC7000 series, or LG LE8500 series for that they deserved higher rating than Sony for lesser price.

As for Sony DSLR, The A350, A700, and A900 are almost 3 years old technology, and none of them have video features, and sub-par performance compares to Canon and Nikon.

I supposed that if you like to over-pay for old technologies, it would be ok to defend and follow Sony blindly.

The blinds lead the blind!


August 20, 2010, 7:32 pm

Television? Walkman? Personal digs?

On this subject exchanges should stick to modern, innovative and effective cameras!

Which completely eliminates this particular item. Pity the folk who want to buy a camera but don't read reviews and end up with a salesperson forcing this one on them. No positive reviews at all is some achievement...


August 23, 2010, 5:04 pm

Could anyone help me here with my question. What exactly are the differences between the A450 and A550 they are both selling now quite cheap and I want to know which one is the best to get. Cliff you do state that the A450 feels like it has something missing but like what? Thanks. Also I do know that the A550 has that other Live view and a more higher res screen/tilting but what else does it better for an Extra £60?


August 25, 2010, 11:18 pm

@Money, I think your the only person who is on drugs here,

tape walkman? LOLOLOL have you ever seen a digital Walkman, or your just brain washed with Ipod?

check out the sound quality and compare it to the Ipod sound quality, i have an ipod and a walkman and the walkman has way better sound quality than that useless gimmick called Ipod.

Playstation 3, has NO problem with Disc Freezing, and NO problem Connecting To The Internet , NO HDMI problem, and No Overheating Console,

I think your mistaking it with the xbox 360 aka 60 % of RROD failure last year.

as for the TV's Sony are still on top delivering the best picture quality

here is their latest product.

10/10 picture quality.

ill say it agian, inform your self before you take nonetheless, and stop acting like a little hater kid.


August 26, 2010, 4:44 am

Obviously, you did'nt know the history of the walkman(Please read the history of walkman), my first comment was referred to the eroding of the Sony Empire and how their electronic market dominance was slowly being replaced by other companies. Of course - Someone like would miss understand the point completely. and didn't have the education to understand the history of technology.

As for your point for Playstation 3, that just full of personal bias. Here are some other site and their complains about PS3.

I think your mistake is that you are too overzealous about Sony and being brain wash by their commercials and culture that you can't see beyond the Sony Brand.

As for TV Review. Here is what CNET have to say about TVs.

Sony, did not make the top 4.

Like I said before, if you are too closed minded and only buy Sony - you wouldn't get the most out of your hard earned dollar. Stop Blindly follow just one brand, and start to think about other alternative options.

There are many more companies that can produce better product than Sony for a lower price.

BTW - Most of Sony's new products are being make by Foxconn in China, and that is the company that have 12 of their employees committed Suicide.

BTW - I didn't care much for Apple products either, I just want quality products for a reasonable price and NOT BLINDLY FOLLOW JUST ONE SINGLE COMPANY.

Geoff Richards

August 26, 2010, 11:48 am

Enough guys. Please keep discussion on topic, relating to this Alpha A450 camera, or other camera questions.


August 31, 2010, 4:01 am

Could anyone help me here with my question. What exactly are the differences between the A450 and A550 they are both selling now quite cheap and I want to know which one is the best to get. Cliff you do state that the A450 feels like it has something missing but like what? Thanks. Also I do know that the A550 has that other Live view and a more higher res screen/tilting but what else does it better for an Extra £60?


September 11, 2010, 4:32 am

I have the a450 and it is excellent. I don't need video, Fast AF LiveView or other gimmicks - just raw image quality (also at high ISO), good ergonomics, and high shutter speed. I paid £284 for a new a450, which is ridiculously cheap. This is the best deal on the market (and I am not a Sony fan at all).

comments powered by Disqus