Home / Cameras / Camera / Sony A7R / Deals

Sony A7R Deals

By Mike Topham

Reviewed:

godafoss

February 11, 2014, 9:40 pm

It's without peer as it's the only FF mirrorless camera. Yes sensor is great, but there are issues with the camera such as poor AF, slow lenses to help give the illusion of a small system. Sony has been careful not to release the fast lenses normal FF DSLR users love so much as they would show up the flaw in the system; tiny camera and big lens is unbalanced. Also battery life is just woeful, very limited native lens selection, no electronic first curtain shutter on the A7R, which by the way the A7 has, which is bad news for slow shutter speeds say in the 1/2-1/30s range for landscape say.

Jon

February 20, 2014, 8:21 am

I'd guess you don't own the camera as you've merely listed all the stuff that's listed ad nauseum by canikon / M4/3 owners across the many photography forums on the web. Also because, if you owned one, you'd have listed a different flaw - in fact in general usage the only one that really matters - shutter lag. All the other complaints you make are massively overblown. With lenses, the camera takes pretty much any lens ever made, OK, so they're MF, but no other FF camera system can do this. If you want tele- don't forget the camera takes e-mount too if you want to keep the size down. The AF isn't up there with the very best PDAF / current camera stuff, but go back a couple of years and its on a par - its certainly not poor, its just not in the top 10 - lastly, battery life - I honestly can't fathom this one and I wonder what the person who originated this comment was doing with the camera. I shot a wedding over XMAS, I used three different lenses, the LEAE-4 adaptor and shot 1100 (RAW) pictures - I used two batteries and had 15% left in the second when I was done.

Lotus Eater

February 21, 2014, 10:45 am

My Zeiss FE 55mm f/1.8 is far from slow and is nowhere near unbalanced on my A7.
AF is excellent in decent light, and certainly no worse in low light than some DSLR/standard 50 combos I've used in the past - it's an overblown issue.
Sony weren't careful not to release the 70-200/4, so your point about large lenses is kind of redundant.

Jerry

February 24, 2014, 6:58 pm

Why do people keep parroting Sony's claim that this is the first or only FF mirrorless camera when the Leica M9 has been out since 2009?

Lotus Eater

February 26, 2014, 1:29 pm

"1 According to survey conducted by Sony as of October 2013, for non-reflex interchangeable lens digital camera equipped with auto focus function."

ChrisH

March 9, 2014, 11:25 am

Is it just me or looking at the sample pictures posted they seem to have a bad attack of the measles! - I'm thinking this must be dirt/dust on the sensor? - Is this common to this type of camera - obviously having to spend hours on Photoshop correcting this is a BIG put off!

Lotus Eater

March 11, 2014, 12:45 pm

This camera has probably been passed from reviewer to reviewer and nobody has bothered to clean it. Imagine how many product shots have been taken with the lens or body cap detached, allowing dust to enter the chamber.
I don't find that any NEX I've owned or the A7 is any more susceptible to dust than any DSLR I've used - plus, when they do get dirty, they're much easier to clean.

comments powered by Disqus