Home / TVs & Audio / TV / Sony A1 OLED / Pictures

Sony A1 OLED pictures - 4 of 9

Sony A1 A1E OLED 7

4 of 9 pictures

Hover to zoom

Sony A1 A1E OLED 3
Sony A1 A1E OLED

9 Pictures - Sony A1 OLED

Enlarge
  • Sony A1 A1E OLED 11
  • Sony A1 A1E OLED 5
  • Sony A1 A1E OLED 7
  • Sony A1 A1E OLED
  • Sony A1 A1E OLED 3
  • Sony A1 A1E OLED 9
  • Sony OLED
  • Sony A1 OLED
  • Sony A1 OLED

Ton

January 5, 2017, 8:35 pm

would letting the screen vibrate not degrade the picture, it would look like flicker to me

hugo

January 5, 2017, 11:31 pm

is vesa compatible?

Martin Natale

January 6, 2017, 3:28 am

Only thing that bugs me is the slant. Serious design flaw that seems like it would distort the picture... I may pick one up and prop the back up... hopefully it won't fall that way, but it's the only way to get it to stand up straight.

Ced Yuen

January 7, 2017, 3:03 am

Yes! I was treated a proper look so I've updated the article.

Ced Yuen

January 7, 2017, 3:06 am

It's only five degrees, and I hardly noticed it once I got watching. I take your point, though – maybe wall mount it?

Ced Yuen

January 7, 2017, 3:20 am

I didn't notice any flickering, but I do worry about longevity. Sony says it's fine, but I hope there's a good warranty attached.

ttattwa ॐ

January 7, 2017, 9:03 pm

What's the input lag of this set? Lg 2017 Oleds are 21ms.

Also, I've read in a couple sources that the 55" model doesn't have the "speaker screen". Can you confirm if that's true or not, and, given that only 65 and 77" models were shown at CES, can you confirm if there's any design difference from the 55" to the other 2? I assume they are exactly the same TV just in 3 different sizes...

boe_d

January 7, 2017, 9:37 pm

This gives me a lot of hope. I've had deep reservations about the LG OLEDs due to their poor motion. I really hope the motion is fantastic on these as I've admired other aspects of OLED TVs. Some people can't notice it so I'd have to see it for myself to know fore sure.

boe_d

January 7, 2017, 9:38 pm

I wonder if they could have made the back stand thinner if they didn't include a subwoofer or if the subwoofer is detachable

Vin

January 8, 2017, 10:35 am

Sheesh, it's not poor motion! For the test case he mentions, I'm also unable to see any wobbling text on the LG G6.

Vin

January 8, 2017, 10:36 am

Sony mentions Donald Trump as being solely at fault but not BREXIT nor the worldwide revolt against the corrupt powers that be? Talk about tunnel vision.

boe_d

January 8, 2017, 3:21 pm

Some people can detect bad motion and MANY can't. I can't tell the difference between a $5 bottle of wine and a $100 bottle but I don't tell people who can that they are wrong.

HeadBooter

January 8, 2017, 3:22 pm

I have a 2013 Panasonic plasma set...the last run of awesome tech.

Yes, it's only 1080, heavy, hot, and sucks power like a Tesla on empty but it's beautiful.

My plan is to run this set as long as possible then upgrade to OLED. I thought I would go with another Panasonic for some of the reasons cited on the Sony...what ELSE is in use besides an LG panel?

One of my favorite tweaks on the plasma set is pixel orbiter...if I pause the TiVo, I don't burn the screen.

The Sony OLED sounds interesting. My first HDTV was a Sony back in 2003, and I still have fond memories of Trinitron CRTs.

So, now I'll be deciding between the two. I did put a 55 inch LG UHD in the bedroom and while it's very good, it's likely I'll go with Panasonic or Sony.

This is great news from a product life standpoint. I doubt OLED will disappear soon if more companies release models like this new Sony.

HeadBooter

January 8, 2017, 3:31 pm

We just elected Boss Tweed - The Sequel.

The only revolting thing is we are about to give the launch codes to a racist, misogynistic rich white guy with a 90 IQ.

The movie channels have been running "The Dead Zone" a lot recently. That's because Martin Sheen's "Gregg Stillson" character IS Donald Trump, and probably every bit as big a coward, fool, and crook.

The only tunnel leads to 4 years of misery and condemnation by the rest of the world...except Russia, of course. The Trumpanzee is swinging from Putin's tree.

Vin

January 9, 2017, 6:05 am

All bitterness because a corrupt career politician couldn't pull off the heist and deceive enough minions. You completely ignore the rags to riches stories of these well off politicians but want to bemoan someone who has had some success (yes, he had a good head start). Meanwhile, the ONLY thing most career politicians have done is feed at the public trough and get rich off you. Don't be a schmuck.

Vin

January 9, 2017, 6:07 am

Hyperbole. The performance delta of motion is just not that wide.

boe_d

January 9, 2017, 1:34 pm

Subjective. To some it is. My best friend literally gets sick from watching bad motion. Since you don't notice it a more apt comparison might as be someone in the a room with no light telling me there isn't that much difference between a plaid and striped bedspread.

Vin

January 10, 2017, 3:14 am

Not really. Colors are pretty cut and dry unless you're colorblind. ;) All motion on displays is created artificially (i.e. just because your sensory system isn't perceptive to it doesn't mean no plasmas are without some degree of phosphor trailing).

boe_d

January 10, 2017, 3:25 am

Are you obtuse or just looking to argue? Both are perceptions - I'm thinking your lack of motion perception isn't your only perception concern.

Vin

January 11, 2017, 2:16 am

Color is not subjective. Such capability can be measured and plotted on a graph. Being colorblind prevents the spectrum from being perceived correctly. I don't put motion perception anywhere close to that (unless I've overlooked a medical condition that is known to cause loss of motion perception). I'm also intimating that if the motion was as horrendous as you're insinuating, these TVs wouldn't be receiving accolade after accolade, even when compared to some of the flagship LCDs. THUS, to call it poor is hyperbole defined.

PGrGr

January 13, 2017, 11:21 am

The audio thing is interesting, but I would have concerns. When the bass is booming out of a speaker cone, you can actually see it vibrate. Not great if the picture you are watching starts vibrating too!

Ced Yuen

January 13, 2017, 2:49 pm

The bass is handled by a subwoofer, stored separately in the stand. I could feel the screen vibrating but I couldn't actually see any wobbling.

Doug Liser

January 14, 2017, 5:10 pm

Really? I read that the display is not wall mountable and the control hardware cannot be separated.

Jay

January 16, 2017, 5:59 pm

Leave it to an elitist snowflake to bring politics into a TV review article.

ColWeihe

January 22, 2017, 7:28 am

You are a GODLESS piece of human excrement

comments powered by Disqus