Sky+HD Movie Experience - Sky+HD Movie Experience

John Archer

By John Archer

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

Given the meaty Sky subscription prices, it's a relief to find that the Sky HD movie offering included within Sky's top-tier package is actually impressively extensive. There are no less than nine themed HD movie channels under Sky's own banner: Sky Modern Greats HD, Sky Sci-fi/Horror HD, Sky Drama HD, Sky Family HD, Sky Action HD, Sky Comedy HD, Sky Screen 2 HD, Sky Screen 1 HD, and Sky Premiere HD. On top of this, other HD channels available on the Sky platform - BBC HD, Channel 4 HD, Sci-Fi HD and FX HD, in particular - regularly show films in HD as well.

Also impressive is the fact that most of Sky's film channels run full 24-hour schedules. The only exceptions, in fact, are Sky Premiere HD, which runs from 10am to around 2am, and Sky Sci-Fi/Horror HD, which runs previews from around 5am to 8am.

Not surprisingly, the 24-hour channels don't generally show completely different films throughout the day, mind you; rather they seem to repeat the same films three or four times over a 24 hour period, so that each channel probably shows four or five different films each day. Plus, of course, films are regularly repeated on different days.

But even with that in mind, Sky's HD film offering is still easily the most prodigious currently available in the UK outside of a Blu-ray store. Come to think of it, there are seemingly far more HD titles available on Sky than you'll find in any Blu-ray store. Especially when it comes to back catalogue titles.

The system for accessing HD titles on Sky's platform is OK, but in many ways not as impressive as the one found on the Xbox 360.

Sky helpfully allows you to call up a list on its electronic programme guide system that only shows HD programmes, making it relatively straightforward work to find all the movie channels from amid the hundreds of channels available on Sky's platform. On Sky's original EPG, which some people still receive on their HD boxes, you can actually see all the Sky-branded HD movie channels on a single screen of listings, which makes scrolling through them looking for interesting titles in the coming week a doddle.

With Sky's new 'HD' electronic programme guide, now available on some HD boxes, things aren't quite as straightforward, since you can only fit six of the nine channels onscreen at once. But clearly this is only a pretty minor irritation, and is to some extent compensated for by the much superior title search engine supported by the new EPG.

However, there's no artwork to accompany the films like you get with the Xbox 360's listings, and the synopses of available titles are much shorter than those found on the Microsoft platform. Furthermore, you can't access on Sky a trailer/teaser of a title you're interested in like you can on the 360.

dev

April 23, 2009, 5:34 am

I absolutely love sky HD, the picture quality is great, movies and football look awesome...plus its a doddle to use!





But...i cannot get my sound in sync, am outputting optical via toslink to a bose entertainment system for 5.1 but it always seems out. I have tried messing via the manual delay setting but cannot get it right :( any suggestions?

Pbryanw

April 23, 2009, 5:40 am

Thanks for the interesting article. It seems that Sky+ HD's the only choice if you want a good variety of HD material, especially linear TV channels. The monthly cost has always put me off though - 㿣 (though less without Sky Movies) - ouch!





Anyway, looking forward to the Virgin V+ piece. Don't know what you'll make of the one linear HD channel (BBC HD) and limited Video on Demand, in HD.

BOFH UK

April 23, 2009, 1:25 pm

Just a quickie but I think your costs are slightly off on the first page. Looking through the Sky web site the cheapest I can get a movie package is 㿍.50 for one entertainment pack and the movie channels, plus a tenner for the HD subscription. Still shockingly expensive but thought it worth mentioning.

Vivid

April 23, 2009, 1:30 pm

@Dev - I've run into this problem with playing DVDs back through my X360 into my amp and Samsung LCD TV. My A/V receiver is a bit too old to be able to build a long enough delay in to make the sound in sync with the picture processing. This seems to be the cheapest way to remove the problem http://www.js-technology.com/i... and there are more sophisticated versions available that can be adjusted via IR in sub 1ms increments. I thought that the manual delay adjust on the HD+ boxes was supposed to eliminate this problem?

Niraj Goyal

April 23, 2009, 1:59 pm

You have the blu ray of Forgetting Sarah Marshall? Why?

Chris

April 23, 2009, 4:44 pm

@Dev - I think this sounds like a common problem where the video processing of your TV delays the display of video by a few milliseconds, but its enough to produce noticeable lip sync errors. I had this problem with my AV system.


If you turn the sound up on you TV speakers as well as the Bose system you should notice a slight 'echo' effect caused by the delay. If you hit the 'Services' button on the remote, there should be an audio setup menu with an 'Optical output delay' option. Adjust this until the sound from your TV and the sound from your AV unit are in sync, then turn off the TV speakers and enjoy your Bose goodness.

Frankf9d

April 23, 2009, 5:07 pm

Missing from this piece but referenced by Dev is that not only the films are part of the top tier subs package but also the football with three HD Sports channels, though some events on them are only transmitted in SD on occassion, like snooker, (sods).





Another aspect though not neccessarily HD specific (save for the fact that HD revived my interest in TV viewing) is that the subs are easily regained on money you no longer spend in pubs and eateries, though I am finding that my pub abstinence is waning, perhaps due to more flexible ash tray policies by publicans these days :-)

Keithe6e

April 23, 2009, 5:58 pm

I suppose if your a massive Movie fan who watches movies nearly every day, then SKY's not a bad deal. For me though, I'm more of a max of 3 movies a month, and for 㿞 you could get higher quality keep forever blueray.





Rant Mode -> I know Sky don't have adverts between movies etc, but the fact you still get adverts on SKY for a subscription service is bonkers.





On a side note, I'm finding whats on TV less interesting everyday, very tempted to ditch my TV licence, de-tune my TV, and just watch BlueRay, catch up on news and other stuff on the NET, here comes another rant, if your a SKY user you still have to pay for a TV lic, how wrong is that.

Chris

April 23, 2009, 6:24 pm

@Keith - You still get all BBC channels for 'free' from Sky, but you can only legally view those if you've paid your TV licence. It's not as if you're paying twice.

Keithe6e

April 23, 2009, 6:34 pm

@Chris, I think I didn't explain what I meant properly, yes I know you still get BBC channels etc, but by using SKY your also forced to pay for a TV license, but say for example I only watched BlueRay movies and browsed the internet on my TV I wouldn't need a TV license. IOW: Say I had sky and only watched Sky+ and none BBC channels I still have to pay for a LIC, I just find the unique way the BBC is funded criminal.

Chris

April 23, 2009, 6:54 pm

@Keith - Very true. Not really Sky's fault though, just the larger issue of how the BBC is funded. You'd have the same problem if you bought a Tesco Value TV for 㿉.99.


I do agree though - the way the BBC is funded is completely out of step with modern digital TV packages. It needs to be reviewed.

dev

April 24, 2009, 2:09 am

@Chris


Thanks very much, i will try it next time i'm home from uni :)

GaryRW

April 25, 2009, 7:26 pm

@Keith - not sure you 100% right on the not needing a licence just cos you've de-tuned your tv. I thought it was having equipment capable of receiving tv broadcasts that meant you had to pay, even if you steadfastly refused to ever tune in any bbc channel.





I thinking watching just blu-ray on a monitor would be ok, watching blu-ray on a tv would mean you should have a licence. (I use 'should' in a legal sense, not any sort of moral or fairness sense!)





I also suspect that watching BBC services on t'internet means that technically you should be paying a licence, but really not sure on that and the legislation may not have caught up with iPlayer yet...

GaryRW

April 25, 2009, 7:59 pm

Well, I was almost entirely wrong. proving to myself how bored I am, I looked this up and keith was right, not watching live tv means no license, but watching any tv broadcast means you have to cough up the license fee, even if you never use or tune in BBC. Apparently it's the broadcast bit that's important - watching recorded stuff is ok (copyright issues aside...)





As for internet, it seems the same logic applies - so if you're watching something at the same time as it's broadcast, tv license is needed.





Using iplayer to watch BBC stuff broadcast a few days ago would seem to be ok, even without a license - go figure??

Keithe6e

April 27, 2009, 6:52 pm

@GaryRW: hehe yeah, I wondered if someone would bring that up, as you have found out it's the broadcasting part. The biggest problem I've heard on the NET with doing this, the BBC would make you out to be a criminal, and you get hounded. I'm surprised they hasn't been a court case against the BBC for this type of behavior, or maybe a EU case to get this sort of license banned.

comments powered by Disqus