Sinclair ZX81 video review

By

Reviewed:

Read the full Sinclair ZX81 review

The finger-friendly iPad and its plagiarists have really grabbed the global imagination over the last year. But if you’re looking for a more radical approach to portable computing, Sinclair’s ZX81 has plenty to offer, and at under £70 it’s a bargain. So give Britain a chance, and choose the ZX81 instead of being a tablet fashion victim.

More Desktop PC Videos

Christian

April 1, 2011, 4:53 am

fantastic! i'm 1985 so too young to remember this, but can fully appreciate the review having learnt off a bbc in school!

scary thing is the apple newton must have existed at the same time?

Chris2510

April 1, 2011, 4:56 am

Wow. Looks like an ipad 2 killer if ever I saw one ;o)

Indy

April 1, 2011, 4:59 am

Where can I order one from ;-). I assume I have to order one before 12:00 tomorrow??

Pbryanw

April 1, 2011, 5:01 am

I think the video sold it for me - the HD display looked very tempting. Although the small memory and lack of HDMI are negatives for me. But the removable storage option partly makes up for that. Although, like most things in tech, waiting for the 2nd generation ZX81 next year makes sense - things move so fast.

Ed 3

April 1, 2011, 5:07 am

I want one, looks so good!

Ally Grant

April 1, 2011, 5:33 am

Sign me up for one these right now!!!

Carl Abudephane

April 1, 2011, 5:37 am

I have to be honest, this thing seems a bit on the slow side, but still, I kinda like the look! I was gonna be getting an iPad next week but I might put it on hold for a week or two and see what I think of this 'cause seriously, just £70?
Stockists?

Iiee

April 1, 2011, 6:16 am

Wow gotta say this looks awesome. It really complements the Sinclair C5 that everyone is going to have in the next few years. I really want to wait for the white one though does any one know when its due out?

Leebod

April 1, 2011, 6:26 am

I had a peek at one of these recently. For £70 you can poke it.

Tony Walker

April 1, 2011, 6:54 am

I hear IBM are bringing out a new pocket PC called the System/360. It will be introduced at the Pollo Fair.

bigman

April 1, 2011, 7:01 am

What no camera? I think I'll wait for the ZX81+

Jason Hill

April 1, 2011, 8:23 am

April Fools!?

cliche

April 1, 2011, 8:45 am

4:44 A.M. - I should really go to bed and not read April Fool's stuff at this time of night !

Gav66

April 1, 2011, 9:18 am

This really does appear to be cutting edge technology and as I am writing this from an iPad, I am torn that I didn't wait for the ZX81 when it is clearly a better product. Great review guys ... Wallet at the ready!

Nic Jones

April 1, 2011, 9:30 am

You'd be a fool not to buy one!

StephenW

April 1, 2011, 10:13 am

Great, but when are they bringing out a white one??

MSIC

April 1, 2011, 10:47 am

I think that the game you showed is purely pandering to the emerging 3d market, and as such may not have the longevity that the system as a whole seems to suggest.
I saw an early model of these recently in my local Tandy, and found that young children and teenagers were already beginning to engage with the touch interface, noting an impressive ability to display "Hello World" repeating down the screen.
I can see this going far.

Moggy58

April 1, 2011, 10:55 am

Rumour is that a rebadged version is going on sale from Apple and the fanboi's are already queueing outside the store, after all if has Apple on it ........

Andy0d2

April 1, 2011, 11:41 am

Whats the date today?

ilovethemonkeyhead

April 1, 2011, 11:50 am

will there be an app store for this?

Manni

April 1, 2011, 12:03 pm

This is really cruel:)
This was my very first computer, on which I typed my very first "Hello World" and for a second I really thought it had been reissued. Then I saw today's date and I smiled. Well done, but still, cruel!

falcomomo

April 1, 2011, 12:34 pm

<3
Made my day!

iwasanerdd

April 1, 2011, 1:11 pm

Guru meditation 4 sure, goto sub.

Gk.pm

April 1, 2011, 1:11 pm

Ahah I was actually just playing Skool Daze on the iPad before dropping by TR.

"DON'T TELL TALES" :-))

KultiVator

April 1, 2011, 1:46 pm

The 16kb RAM pack provides that which most tablet manufacturers omit - expandable memeory.

Question is - will it wobble and crash 3D Monster Maze?

comments powered by Disqus