Quick Glance
Camera type Digital SLR
Optical Zoom By lens
Megapixels 14.1
Physical Specifications
Dimensions Width 144
Depth 107.3
Weight (body only) 680g (730g including battery)
Camera type Digital SLR
Optical Zoom By lens
Megapixels 14.1
Image Sensor 20.7x13.8mm Foveon X3 sensor
Optical focal length By lens
Viewfinder Optical reflex, 98% frame coverage
Shutter speed 30 secs to 1/4000th + B
Auto focus TTL phase difference detection system, Single, Continuous with motion prediction
Manual focus Yes
Video (max res/format) N/A
Max output resolution 2640x1760
Other resolutions 1872x1248, 1312x880
Focus range By lens
Exposure control P, A, S, M
Exposure metering Multi-zone, centre-weighted, spot
Exposure compensation +3EV in 1/3 EV steps
Image Stabilisation N/A
ISO settings Auto, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600
LCD Monitor 3-inch
Flash range Guide number 11
Flash modes Auto, Red-eye reduction
White balance modes Auto, sunlight, shade, overcast, incandescent, fluorescent, flash and custom
Drive modes Single, continuous 3fps
Image formats JPEG, RAW
Picture adjustments Contrast, Sharpness, Saturation
Movie length N/A
Self timer 10/2 seconds
Memory card slot SD/SDHC
Supplied memory N/A
Batteries supplied 1500mAh Li-on
Charger supplied Yes
A/V output PAL/NTSC
Charging/Computer Connection Yes
Manual 121-page printed manual

Josef Salon

October 22, 2010, 1:31 pm

Sigma should make lenses and forget about cameras, who needs this one especially for this price?

Philip Angell

October 22, 2010, 1:33 pm

I was wondering whether the foveon sensor might mitigate the problems of stage photography under LED lights?


October 22, 2010, 2:05 pm

I love Sigma Cameras, but the SD15 was just a quick money maker until they release the SD1, if I had bought this camera I would be looking at the SD1 spec sheet and crying.

But its still nice see the review, I hope you guys get to review the SD1 soon, that camera will either blow away the competition in image quality or its gona be a lemon.


October 22, 2010, 3:16 pm

What planet are they on, releasing a camera where ISO 400 looks comparable to ISO 12800 on a good body?


October 22, 2010, 5:35 pm

It almost makes me feel sick to imagine someone walking away from a shop with this camera, at that price.


October 22, 2010, 8:02 pm

Well, you don't know until you shoot with it. It has something Hasselbladish. It has an outstanding image quality, especially when it comes to details, but it's a camera that should be used only with controlled light environments, like studios. When it comes to price, it's something like Hasselblad - why pay 20.000pounds for an H2D-22 when it cant use high ISO and can't take more than 2fps? It's because they are the essence of photographic equipment, not gadgets who take photos from time to time. Even Nikont takes presentation photos with PhaseOne backs.

I own a few Nikons and used many Canons but my SD14 it's in a class of it's own (a low-end Hass).


October 22, 2010, 10:39 pm

"I own a few Nikons and used many Canons but my SD14 it's in a class of it's own (a low-end Hass)."

A very, very low-end Hass. About the only thing they have in common is the speed of use, or lack thereof!


October 22, 2010, 11:53 pm

Lordie me! Another over-priced, under-specified camera whose only true prowess will be in convincing the gullible to sell it to themselves on some fanciful grounds that it's a step on The True Path To Photographic Righteousness.

Thanks to Sapporodan for hitting this waste of time and money on the water-line, amidships. Camera brands should take clear note when they disappoint their own fans, but never pay attention to sycophants. Sigma should have avoided shooting themselves in the foot; they have a great and hard-won reputation as a lens outfit to nurture.

Have we had an SD1 review yet? If not that seems to be an excellent idea; give Sigma a chance to come up smelling of roses.


October 23, 2010, 3:21 am

Absolute short term financial desperation can be the only reason to release this camera. Shocking. It might be great under controlled conditions, but only if those conditions also include a limit on the size of the picture you're taking.


Ed 3

October 23, 2010, 4:46 am

I just can't imagine anyone choosing this over a Nikon or Canon, Samsung or Olympus, Sony or Pentax...why oh why...especially with that noise at iso 400! Mind boggling!

Ian Syme

October 23, 2010, 8:49 pm

As an SD14 owner I had hoped for great things from the SD15 but alas no......Still the same noise problems and processing speed limitations. Don't get me wrong, the SD14 takes superb images in the right situation but is not the camera to buy to do everything you want from an SLR. Forget serious work at anything higher than iso 100 and RAW format. Guess I'll just have to wait for the SD1 but judging from past endeavours it may be a long wait!


November 4, 2010, 10:47 pm

I have this camera for a few months now. I only shoot raw. It captures images that are better than anything I have seen in my life in this category (DSLRs below 1000 euro).

I agree with that it has serious limitations when it comes to features but image quality is superb.

comments powered by Disqus