Home / TVs & Audio / Headphones / Shure SE535 / Design Flourishes

Shure SE535 - Design Flourishes

By Hugo Jobling

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

9

Improvement number one is one that will either have you grinning surreptitiously in delight, or completely nonplussed - we sit on the former side of the fence. This is because while the SE535 earphones are available in the tastefully elegant metallic bronze finish sported by the SE530 before them, they're also available in a clear plastic finish, which looks absolutely fantastic. Maybe it’s our inner geek speaking, but there's something fundamentally cool about being able to see the internals of a high-end piece of audio equipment - or any item of consumer electronics for that matter.

Improvement number two may prove even more divisive of opinion. As ever, Shure employs an over-the-ear cable design, which helps reduce cable microphonics (that is, brushing noises). The SE535 now has a length of formable wire where the cable meets the driver unit. It takes a bit of time to get used to this stiffness, and in fact the entire Kevlar-reinforced cable is tougher than the SE530s' was, but it does help keep the fit secure if you're moving around a lot.

Those that do find themselves longing for a more flexible (pun apologetically intended) wiring option shouldn't despair. The most interesting feature of the SE535s is found right at the point where the cable joins the drivers. Instead of the wiring being directly attached, inside these units, Shure has implemented a lock-snap MMCX connector. This is free to rotate, so there's little chance of it disconnecting unintentionally, and the other benefit is obvious. If, providence forbid, you somehow break the wiring of your SE535's you'll be able to buy a new length of cable - which is definitely cheaper than replacing the entire set of earphones. Similarly, it's entirely possible that Shure might offer cable lengths with in-line remotes or thinner wiring to suit different customers' needs. In an ideal world we'd all buy custom-made earphones designed exactly to the specification we want anyway, but as the world is far from ideal this is an excellent step further from Shure towards making universal-fit earphones truly universal.

The SE535's driver units have been overhauled, too. They are now a little flatter, and generally just smaller, so they fit into the ear that bit better. If you happen to wear earphones while in bed that will be a particularly useful as you can wear the SE535 earphones without having your pillow shove the 'phones through your eardrum. Not that a more comfortable fit isn't an improvement in every other situation as well.

Dagher

July 28, 2010, 3:10 pm

I think you may have missed the most significant improvement these 535s offer over their predecessor. The 530s were prone to cable problems. The cable would harden (sometimes within months) and start to fray. I've gone through 3 pairs in less than 2 years. By having removable cables (as well as sturdier ones) they have now gotten rid of their weakest link.

Chris

July 28, 2010, 3:20 pm

I've persisted with the hardened cables and detached rubber strain relievers on my 3 year old 530s for some time now. I'm seriously considering replacing them just to be free from cable problems, but I'll wait for the price to drop.


The alternative is getting the 530s custom remoulded, but that invariably involves sending them to the US or China.

Jiamenguk

July 28, 2010, 3:31 pm

Best earphones you can buy for £400? You're treading on dangerous water here

Hugo

July 28, 2010, 3:33 pm

I said best universal-fit (caveats always caveats), but please elucidate if you disagree.

Alex 11

July 28, 2010, 4:20 pm

I think it very much depends on the type of music. I had a Shure SE530 and now I have a Westone UM3X, they sound different, but neither is clearly superior over the other.

Chris Beach

July 28, 2010, 4:47 pm

@Dagher, I'm just about to phone Shure to arrange a warrenty replacement for my se420's for that exact reason. The left cable near the ear is stiff and split. Maybe they'll send me some of these as compensation :)





Then again my biggest problem is the 2nd half of the cable between the device and the earphones, I'm on my 5th I think.

Chris

July 28, 2010, 4:59 pm

@Alex: Agreed, and perhaps you could add UE's Triple Fi 10s to that list as well as a couple others. In terms of sound quality, these high-end universal IEMs seem to be so close to each other. The law of diminishing returns in action I suppose.





However, if you're after a balanced, accurate sound without embellishment, I think the SE530s take the prize. Other 'phones might be better for impact or sheer bass.

A Scotland

July 28, 2010, 5:06 pm

Emperor's new headphones ;).

Hugo

July 28, 2010, 5:10 pm

Not quite, we're reviewing this next: http://www.bbc.co.uk/comedy/cl...

Malderon

July 28, 2010, 5:23 pm

I can definitely not justify spending this much on headphones but I really like the idea of the clip-in wires. I'm always breaking the wires on my headphones and its so annoying to have to throw away a pair of phones because a bit of wire has snapped or is coming loose and cutting out.

Caleb9ce

July 28, 2010, 9:30 pm

To be honest, I'm dissapointed with the updates (which are minor at best). And certainly not worth their asking money. I'm a big fan of the shure, I have the SE530's but it is showing its age and there are certainly other (better?) alternatives in the asking price range.

Jiamenguk

July 28, 2010, 11:32 pm

@Hugo:


Not that I disagree (nor am I agreeing, I hold no opinion), all I meant was that if anyone from one of those high-fi websites, namely head-fi, saw this, they'd have a wholehearted argument, and there might be blood, hehe.

Hugo

July 29, 2010, 1:04 am

Caleb - what alternatives? Not to sound facetious, but nothing I've used. Which makes me think I need to get to work requesting. :)

Hugo

July 29, 2010, 1:41 am

Jiamenguk - I take your point. Everyone's got a different idea of what's 'better' or not. I'll eat a pair of IE8s before I concede they're even half as good as these, but you'll hear some folks calling them the epitome of in-ear audio. Obviously I'm right, but I'm happy for anyone fail to... sorry, try to, prove me wrong ;)

Hedgeporker

July 29, 2010, 8:02 am

Been waiting for aaaaaaaages for them to get round to detachable cables. I hope the cable toggle is a bit sterner now too, the SE530's was pathetic.





My SE530's are still in rude health after so many years and a wash at 60 degrees celcius. The only signs of wear are the faded gold-plating, a partially torn toggle and the rubber support at the end starting to disintegrate. The thick cabling is also going strong.





Well . . . it's a good excuse to wait for the price to come down I supppose.

Caleb9ce

July 29, 2010, 4:10 pm

Hugo - There are many alternatives. Earsonics SM3 is available for £299. Its a triple BA driver and it outperforms the Shure SE530 in every deparment, even in the famed mids. There are others as well, like Audio-Technica CK-100, Westone UM3 and all of them are well below the asking price of the new Shures.





Also, anyone willing to part with more than £400 for an IEM, should IMO go for custom IEM's.


JH Audio JH5 Pro is available for £50 more and that basically outclasses the SE530.





So yes, there are alternatives. You just have to look for them ;p

Chris

July 29, 2010, 5:44 pm

@Caleb: Yeah, the JH5's are well regarded, but you're looking at a solid £450 odd there, and that price won't drop like the SE535s will. You also have to factor in the time and cost of going to an audiologist to get ear impressions made, then it all goes pear-shaped if the impressions shrink or warp in the post, etc, etc...





I'm hoping the SE535s will drop to <£300 in time, at which point they'll be more competitive.





The SM3s are a true alternative, but perhaps they're a little hard to find and the ergonomics aren't quite as good. How about a review? ;)

bcstyle

July 30, 2010, 3:39 pm

Having owned the Se530s i'd say the Ortofon eq-7 would be a better buy than Se535s. Beats the shures in every department along with comparable mids//

Ala Miah

August 5, 2010, 2:13 pm

How come TR never reviews BOSE headsets or any of thier product line up?





They are meant to be one of the best manfucturers of audio products out there.





Is a bias or grudge against BOSE?

DiamondHead

August 31, 2010, 8:24 am

I love these phones.Best sound and amazing materials.And I got them for 300£ hehe.:)Im really stunned by the sound quality :O.If you have the money to spend on them you'll not regret it.

richtan

October 11, 2010, 11:01 am

I like all audiophiles tweak our audio hifi systems to best sounds possible. I found a significant tweak that really worked for the Shure 530 & the 535.I wish to share this simple tweak with with you. Use the smallest earplug (Olive colour) and insert as far as possible into the ear canal. You will hear another higher level of performance from the earphones.





Just like many people out there, we think that earbuds sizes don't matter. Try the smallest and get a 25% increased in sound resolution especially like having a tighter bass , clearer mid and highs.





Please don't hurry. Take your time on a range of music, classical, jazz and vocals. You, just like my audiophile friends got a surprise- another higher level of performance from these great Shures. Please post your reply as to whether it works for you. Thanks.

comments powered by Disqus