Home / TVs & Audio / Headphones / Shure SE425 / Design cont. and Features

Shure SE425 - Design cont. and Features

By Hugo Jobling



  • Recommended by TR
Shure SE425


Our Score:


User Score:

One of the smaller differences between the SE425s and the SE420s lies in their comfort. The casings of the earpieces have been tweaked to better fit in the ear, so if you do want to wear them while lying in bed, or perhaps under a pair of earmuffs, you can do so without issue. On a purely aesthetic level, it's possible to get the SE45s with either silver or clear casings, and we can't help but be enticed by the transparent model - call us crazy but being able to see the inner components is just plain cool.

The downside of the secure over-the-ear fit is that the SE425s aren't the type of earphones you'll forget you're wearing. Not to say that the SE425s are uncomfortable - far from it. The SE425s are pretty much impossible to dislodge in normal use, so where you'll find yourself readjusting other earphones from time to time, the SE425s require no such attention. Moreover, Shure's foam eartips - already much praised on these site over the years - make getting an extremely snug and secure fit a breeze.

Notably, where the SE535s were considerably more expensive than the predeceasing model, the SE425s don't incur too high a premium over the SE420s. The latter can be had for around £185, making the £226 SE425s around a fifth more expensive, which is significant, but not prohibitive. The build quality of the SE425s is definitely better than the SE420s and if you plan on carting your earphones about in a pocket regularly that's an important consideration.

Those wanting to be a bit more protective of their investment - and we can hardly blame them - will welcome the inclusion of a hard carrying case with the SE425s. Additionally the earphones are accompanied by a 3.5mm to 6.25mm adaptor, an earwax removal tool and more tips than you could shake a stick at. There are three sizes each of silicone and hard foam tips, one set of soft foam tips and a pair of triple-flange tips.


March 21, 2011, 12:00 pm

I've read that the cord on all the Shure SE models is 64" long. That sounds like a lot of cord to have wound up in your pocket when using these with a mobile device. Hugo please comment on this next time you moment in between snifters of courvoisier. Also, I hope you do a review of the Shure SE215 soon, as they have caught my eye. The SE435 are the Kate Middleton of IEMs. I'm more of Kim Kardashian kind of guy.


March 21, 2011, 1:15 pm

I'm not really a cognac drinker, but when I do I drink this: http://www.thewhiskyexchange.c...

I didn't have any problems with the cord and thus didn't mention it - on my not-overly-tall 6ft frame it was neither too long nor too short.

Energizer Bunny

March 21, 2011, 4:00 pm

I have always loved Shure sound quaility, but their build quality leaves a huge amount to be desired. My last two sets of Shure's have both died within 12 months based on the cabling. On that basis the removable cables appear to be a good move, although its disappointing to hear that Shure think its ok to charge £50 for a new cable.

Also, I really wish more high end headphone manufacturers included push to hear modules in their headphones. The ability to play/pause and skip tracks via a module on the headphones is hugely useful. Shure themselves provide a seperate module but per usual it costs a fortune and is of extremely questionable build quality. What's the big issue with just building controls into the headphone cables guys? Does it hurt the sound quality or something?


March 21, 2011, 6:55 pm

One friend of mine bought the Shure SE420 1-2 years ago and i was able to "test" them 2-3 times with different genres of music. I was not impressed at all, music had no "texture". They were better than cheaper single driver Shure SE headphones only at "wider", more open sound they had. Worse at all other areas of sound reproduction.
I guess 425 are the same.


March 21, 2011, 7:00 pm

@Energiser Bunny
I've had similar experiences previously (2 sets of SE210s went the same way) so the redesign is a move in the right direction.

What's disappointing is that for anybody with an old PTH (push to hear) module, you won't be able to use it with the new cabling arrangements. You could be forgiven for thinking that Shure cynically engineered the cables that way. Also, if we're being cynical, the standard headphone connection (L-shaped) is distinctly unfriendly to either older iPhones (recessed), or even just newer ones with almost any kind of case on them. iPhone 4 with bumper? Either look elsewhere, take the bumper off, or buy their "special" phone cable.

@Hugo, if you could include a comment with these reviews in future advising how iPhone friendly they are that would be great.


March 21, 2011, 8:08 pm

@Energizer Bunny: I think Shure have learnt their lesson when it comes to build quality. If my SE535s are anything to go by, this latest generation are far sturdier without any flimsy cabling or perishable rubber parts. In fact, build quality appears to be the main difference between this generation and the last. Little else has changed.

The PTH was always a clumsy, bulky device which might outwardly seem useful, but actually just confused anyone trying to talk to you while using it. Occasionally people would assume it was some kind of huge hearing aid and talk to me like I was an elderly citizen. I'm not particularly sad to see it go.


March 22, 2011, 2:02 am

@Chris: Yup, I have to agree. Never once used the PTH on my E500's. Simply not that big a problem to take an ear bud out temporarily.

I also didn't have too much issue with the build. Admittedly I lost mine within a year of owning them but they were already second hand and showed no signs of any wear. Not to say the perishing mount for the cable isn't a problem - I believe Riyad's set did go after three or four years use - but to call the build shoddy I think is overstating it.


March 22, 2011, 5:23 pm

@Ed - Yeah, I would never call Shure's build quality shoddy, just that there was room for improvement which has now been addressed.


March 22, 2011, 10:08 pm

For people with split cable out of warranty shures, the best way to salvage the situation is to send it for moulding it into customs. I believe Unique Melody do this as well as well as few companies in China. Cheaper than shelling out for a new pair with the upside of having custom iems.


March 24, 2011, 3:06 pm

I'd be interested to know how these compare to the SE530s...I have a pair of them and it looks like cable degradation is causing the right earpiece to cut out intermittently if the cable is jogged around too much. Can't bring myself to stump up the £349 which is the lowest I've seen the SE535's for and the SE425s are priced around the same range I paid for my SE530s three years ago.

Trouble is I've got so used to the sound from the SE530s that I'm reluctant to look at other brands (I remember back to when I tried my dad's £30 muddy sounding, bass heavy Sennheisers...bad...just...bad!). Just found that when I had some SE210s they really lacked bass compared to the SE530s, so I don't want to drop too far down the range, either.

Advancedmp3players actually have a sign on the product page for the 425's saying there's very little in it between these and the 530s.


March 24, 2011, 7:43 pm

@gdawg304: I'd look into Caleb's suggestion if I were you. I recently replaced a pair of dying SE530s with SE535s (£309 from SimplyElectronics, since gone up), but since then Unique Melody have started operating in the UK. I kinda wish I'd stumped up the money to get the 530s reshelled instead.


James Siggers

February 21, 2015, 3:10 pm

What about a comparison review of the Audiofly AF140 v Shure SE425?

Both seem equivalent price, but the AF140 has triple drivers and looks more comfortable.

comments powered by Disqus