1 of 5 pictures

Shure SE315
Shure SE315

5 Pictures - Shure SE315

  • Shure SE315
  • Shure SE315
  • Shure SE315
  • Shure SE315
  • Shure SE315


March 23, 2011, 12:42 pm

Would these be a good replace for my EC2's, the cables of which died recently? Nothing else I've tried has been anywhere as good :(

Denis iii

March 23, 2011, 4:24 pm

"If you only care about sound quality, then you can save money by looking elsewhere".....where?


March 23, 2011, 4:30 pm

Did you read the review?

"Perhaps the most compelling alternatives are the Phonak PFE 012 earphones" - http://www.trustedreviews.com/...


March 23, 2011, 5:24 pm

I do hope Hugo Jobling is making his way down the Shure range and will soon be reviewing the cheapest of the SE models the SE215. I think the SE215 are one of the cheapest IEMs to be compatible with the foam tips from complyfoam.com. Which I hope give a better fit than my old Shure SE102, which are disintegrating after about a year of use.

The Doctor

March 23, 2011, 7:21 pm

I thought Shure's new cabling system was a big step up from their old one but I've had problems with my SE535s. If you use them while exercising, sweat makes its way into the connector and over time builds up so it sounds like you have a loose connection. Although you can clean them with some cotton wool and the supplied earwax tool, I managed to break the connector on the earbud doing so and had to get a replacement from Shure...

Suffice to say, I now have a cheapie pair of earphones for when running.


March 23, 2011, 8:18 pm

I just got my SE 215 this week and already very fond of them. But i would say the review more or less applies to the 215's aswell, if you're after sound quality go for the 425's if you want the shure feature set. I bought mine cause of the feature set and a good sound quality but not in any way super. I have to say the sound insolation is very good and the overall build quality is very good.


March 24, 2011, 2:58 am

I think the SE215 must be the best of the SE series. I imagine that the SE535 must be the worst in sound quality (never heard it).
All these foams and no game make headphones dull.

Sunny 1

March 24, 2011, 4:41 am

Have the SE315's (got it through quidco for £13 on cashback) for a month now.
got it as a replacement for my cable damaged SE210, which I used for 2.5 years.
Was waiting for SE215, but my headphone broke recently before 215's due to hit the market and the god awful ipod headphone was a pain my ear.
with the cash-back diff between 215's R.R.P. and 315 was only coming up £27 didn't wait to click "buy now".
Got the clear version if you all are wondering. lol


August 18, 2011, 2:16 pm

just got my se315's have to say it was a frustraiting start as i found that the different size ear plugs provided are very difficust to get on and off and can easily be broken if to rough, but when you get the techniwue right and find the right plug for you the sound is absoloutly amazing, i amhearing things on songs i didnt know was there, the mids lows and highs are well balanced with a good bass which is great as im a drummer and will be using these for when im on stage, so frustrating start but amazing sound


October 9, 2012, 10:30 pm

I've used these o and off for over a year, and had to return them 3 times now due to poor build quality.
It's such a shame as they are such great sounding earphones and so comfortable.
They are definitely not worth the price for the quality.

John Hailes

February 9, 2014, 5:31 am

Having bough these as the cheaper alternatives to the 325 series and not a believer in burn in, am quite pleased. Initially i did not like them. Thought they lacked bass. Isolation of instruments was good but did not feel the music when listening to already recorded and mastered music. However what i found these did was make me tweak my eq setting on all my devices and what i can say is these do deliver fantastic sound when the eq is right. My preference(all by bell curves - peak db at the middle of the curve) is the boost at 31-80 by 3db. Dip at 125 -400 by 1.85db,Dip at 500-1.6 b by 1.85db.Boost from 1.6 to 3.1 by 1.11db Booost 1.6-3.1 by 1.5db. Total rogue dip at 4htz by 1.56db for this freq only. Long bell curve from 5 -20 boostin by 1.56db..... all couresty of Fidelial Musc player and apples own graphic EQ......

Sounds magic (no... fecking oustanding). Everyone will have there own magic curve depending on their ear.EQ is meant to shape the sound to your preference. Dont get hung up on how they sound out of the box.They are quality headphones with fantastic capability.The isolate sounds really well. I dont record live instruments but i think they would be fantastic for that. Devices used for listening.. Focusrite Saffire pro 14, apple mac air 2013, Samsung Galaxy S with voodoo sound and Galaxy note 1. Incidentally the Galaxy note sounds magic with them which completely surprised me as i regard this as the weakest sounding item in my devices.


December 9, 2014, 11:05 pm

Excellent sound and I mean excellent but be very careful when buying these head phones as the unless the vendor is an authorised shure dealer shure will not repair and replace under it's two year warranty scheme. I purchased a pair and found a fault with the left earphone I tried to contact the vendor but got no reply, eventually the left earphone failed completely and the right side was flakey at best

I contacted shure uk and they told me as the seller was not an authorised dealer they would not honour their 2 year warranty.

Caveat emptor ...


September 8, 2015, 9:53 am

I can confirm this as well. Always use a Shure dealer.

comments powered by Disqus