1 of 4 pictures

Hover to zoom

Sapphire Edge HD Mini PC (nettop)
Sapphire Edge HD Mini PC (nettop)

4 Pictures - Sapphire Edge HD Mini PC (nettop)

  • Sapphire Edge HD Mini PC (nettop)
  • Sapphire Edge HD Mini PC (nettop)
  • Sapphire Edge HD Mini PC (nettop)
  • Sapphire Edge HD Mini PC (nettop)


March 9, 2011, 1:14 pm

Thanks guys, am coming closer to a wish to upgrade my WD TV Live to something with a better / more wife-friendly interface.
Would you be interested in doing an article comparing the current state of software interfaces, such as boxee and the others you mentioned, using the specs of this type of dual core atom / ion machine as a test-bed?
I could also think of a couple of others that would be relevant, including XBMC ( and something newer that is built on top of that, who's name eludes me for a moment), as well as perhaps paid-for applications (does cybermedia do something?).
Anyway, thanks again for this.


March 9, 2011, 1:36 pm

The Win 7 license wouldn't be a problem, as I have an (unused) copy of Windows that I can install. So the value rating isn't an issue, for me. However... Performance 6/10? That puts me off buying this slightly. Although the review doesn't mention any performance issues whatsoever. I'm confused!

Paul Carter

March 9, 2011, 2:57 pm

This sounds great as a media player - I'm thinking of replacing my ageing Netgear EVA8000 - but there's one obvious drawback to this device: lack of IR remote control. If the family can't control it with our Harmony remote then it's a non-starter.
As a PC (Linux or W7) I don't see the small size being enough to compensate for the lack of power / upgradeability.


March 9, 2011, 3:19 pm

fully agree about the price - these things are basically a netbook without the screen, keyboard and track pad and should cost accordingly - hence nettop.

People looking at this may also want to wait for the AMD fusion powered alternatives that are being to come on the market - performance is better and it may work out cheaper as the process and graphics are even more integrated.


March 9, 2011, 5:18 pm

I use a TV PC made of cast off bits all the reasons you state ... it will do anything I want. Q6600, 8800GTS & 4GB RAM mean it's a bit over-specified but the whole family uses it. We use a wireless keyboard/touchpad combo and powerline networking for smooth Homegroup streaming.

Despite quiet cooling it is not silent and it certainly isn't small! This little PC under review sounds absolutely perfect for us and I will seriously consider it. I have a spare Windows 7 DVD as I went a bit OTT when they were for sale on pre-order a couple of years ago.

Don't worry as I also have a use for the, then redundant, TV PC ;)


March 9, 2011, 9:28 pm

@Wildkard - we didn't benchmark the nettop since it performs exactly like a netbook + ION2 for 1080p playback. As the review mentions, it is fine for all your basic Windows needs and video watching, but don't expect to be using Photoshop or video editing tools without a great deal of waiting around. As a media centre it is perfectly acceptable and with 5 being average, its performance is above average and that is all you need :)

Steve 12

March 10, 2011, 2:28 am

your Anders fit-pc2 link tells me that I can save £19710 per year. Thank you Gordon I can now retire at last :)


March 10, 2011, 5:26 am

can you really buy ion 2 equipped netbooks for the prices stated im pretty sure they are closer to the £400 price mark.


March 10, 2011, 7:59 am

@betelgeus - seems a strange thing to say when I link directly to that price in the review. Here it is again: http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/u...


March 10, 2011, 10:45 am

@Paul Carter - you can add on a Windows MCE remote with an IR receiver. Your Harmony should then be able to add a Windows MCE device and off you go.

I would second the suggestion regarding XBMC, dare I say the interface for XBMC is actually better than Boxee since in it's latest incarnation, Boxee has gone too far towards online/streaming media sources. Trying to get it to play local content is a challenge whereas with XBMC it's very straightforward.

Also, XBMC has a "live" version that you can boot/run from a USB stick so you can give it a test drive before you commit yourself to a full install (the installed versions can run under Windows & Linux).


March 10, 2011, 5:16 pm

I've not seen the Fit PC before, how cool is that!


March 10, 2011, 5:53 pm

@gordon no i ment netbook for 249-299 not nettop


March 10, 2011, 7:23 pm

My mum is very new to computers. She recently bought herself a netbook after me nagging her about their benefits. I remember when I bought my PC 3 years ago, I tried to show her what I'd spent 6months of my wage on, and she couldn't even maneuverer the mouse across the screen.

Anyhow, a netbook worked for her because it wasn't this monstrous industrial looking PC tower, it was a cute little box that fit on her lap during Eastenders. This little PC could maybe do the same for many other people, but I feel they shot themselves in the foot by not including windows. Any linux user I imagine would maybe want a little more ommpphh to their PC


March 11, 2011, 8:26 am

@betelgeus - multitudinous examples ;)


March 11, 2011, 12:06 pm

@Gordon, actually they were all (as far as I can see) netbooks in the sub-£300 range -without- ION, whereas betelgeus clearly was talking about something that can output 1080p etc. I suspect that you can probably find something refurbished, but that's not really the point is it?

comments powered by Disqus