February 16, 2012, 4:58 pm

Why on earth is there no comparison to the Clip+? This is in fact the 3rd generation of this product line so it's hardly a "new contender" to the Nano. I'm very wary of making any decisions based on stuff I read here anymore but the only differences between this and the previous model (Clip+) appears to be a slightly tweaked button layout, larger colour screen and micro USB instead of mini. Personally I wouldn't bother with the Clip Zip, especially when the 8GB Clip+ can be had for just £30 including an additional 8GB SD card.


February 16, 2012, 5:29 pm

Hi Kingosticks,

The Clip models are all part of the same family, and as you say there's little difference apart from the minor tweaks you mention.

The comparison was there to address whether it's worth spending more than SanDisk's offerings. Whether you want a Clip+ or Clip Zip is simpler - how much do you care about a full colour screen? Pretty much covers it.


February 16, 2012, 5:56 pm

Thanks for the reply. I agree, how much do you care about a full colour low resolution screen? But that's completely missing from your review, the extra comparison would have been more useful for someone looking at a Nano alternative.


February 16, 2012, 5:59 pm

I'll add to the review. You make a fair point!

WAgile Guru

February 16, 2012, 10:07 pm

This comment system is somewhat confusing, no? Must be some free Open Source code to save costs I'd imagine...


February 16, 2012, 10:12 pm

Oh that it were. We actually pay for this.

WAgile Guru

February 17, 2012, 3:39 pm

Ouch! I hope you kept the receipt... ;op

Philip Angell

February 17, 2012, 8:26 pm

I have the Clip+, and as far as I remember it had much better sound quality than anything below the much more expensive Sony players. However, it didn't support AAC files which is a pain if anybody else who might want to use it has never changed the default ripping format in their iTunes! If the Zip's sound quality matches that of the Clip+, it sounds like it could be a really nice little player.


February 20, 2012, 2:10 am

Third hit in a row for the Clip range but they've insisted on exactly the same problem as twice before : I have to get the lower capacity to buy the colour I want. It's a stupid strategy since the one thing the Nano has going for it is an expansive colour range. Give me an 8GB orange one and I'll snap it up in a heartbeat.


July 29, 2012, 4:48 pm

So let's get this straight. You do a review of an audio player and the full extent of your review regarding the quality of sound it produces is 'The player's audio output is clean and sound quality is good.' That's a little too concise for those who actually buying an audio player for, you might find this bit strange, playing music. There's only one word for the omission a full audio review. Imbecilic.

comments powered by Disqus