Key Features: 15x optical zoom; 24 - 360mm Lens; 3inch LCD screen; 12.2 Megapixel; 720p video recording

Manufacturer: Samsung

Quick Glance
Camera type Digital SLR, Digital Compact
Optical Zoom 15
Megapixels 12
Physical Specifications
Dimensions Width 106.6
Depth 60.5
Weight (body only) 201.7g without battery or card
Camera type Digital SLR, Digital Compact
Optical Zoom 15
Megapixels 12
Image Sensor 14.2 megapixel, 1/2.3-inch CCD
Optical focal length 24-360mm in 35mm equivalent film terms
Viewfinder N/A
Shutter speed 16-2000 secs
Auto focus TTL Auto focus
Manual focus No
Video (max res/format) 1280x720 at 30fps
Max output resolution 4000x3000
Other resolutions 3984x2656, 3840x2160, 3264x2448, 2560x1920, 2048x1536, 1024x768, 1920x1080
Focus range 3cm to 80cm, 80cm to infinity
Exposure control P, A, S, M
Exposure metering Multi, Spot, Centre weighted, Face detection AE
Exposure compensation 1/3 EV step, +/- 2EV
Image Stabilisation Optical plus digital (dual image stabilisation)
ISO settings Auto, 80, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200 at full resolution
LCD Monitor 3-inch TFT LCD
Flash range 0.3 metres to 5 m (wide), 0.5m to 3m (telephoto)
Flash modes Auto, Auto & red eye reduction, Fill-in, Slow sync, Flash off, Red eye fix
White balance modes Auto, daylight, cloudy, fluorescent x2, tungsten, custom
Drive modes Single, continuous
Image formats JPEG
Picture adjustments Normal, Soft, Vivid, Forest, Retro, Cool, Calm, Classic, Negative, Custom, Colour filter, Add noise, Shaded, Elegant, High Light
Movie length Up to 20 minutes
Self timer 2, 10 secs
Memory card slot SD/SDHC
Supplied memory 128MB internal capacity
Batteries supplied None
Charger supplied Lithium ion pack
A/V output Yes
Charging/Computer Connection USB 2.0
AV Out Yes
Manual Basic printed guide, full manual on CD


February 1, 2011, 5:18 pm


Can you tell us if you will be altering the ISO tests in the future? I recommend a subject that has an area of fine detail as well as the smooth area so we can see the effect of increased ISO usage on both parts. How the camera applies its noise reduction on fine detail is of interest.

Also could you include a full frame of the last ISO shot so that we can see the effect of the ISO increase on the full image? Sometimes, noise can resemble film grain which is normally pleasing but you can't see at 100%.



February 1, 2011, 5:34 pm

What's the flash / indoor performance like then? If low light performance is poor is the flash capable of doing anything to compensate?

This is something I miss in general in TR reviews of point and shoot cameras. There's a good chance a camera like this will be used indoors for family snaps and the like - how does it do at that?

Hans Gruber

February 1, 2011, 7:26 pm

Please can you retain a separate rating for image quality. Performance to me means general ease and responsiveness of use and may include such aspects as autofocus reliability, continuous shooting speed etc.

Image quality would cover ISO 'performance' and noise reduction (as indicated by Joose) as well as resolution/acutance, distortion, vignetting, chromatic aberration etc. I think it's a pretty important factor in determining whether a camera performs well or not to have its own separate score. A camera might be blazingly fast at taking poor quality pictures but what good would that be?


February 2, 2011, 4:26 am


For 100pd and produces such excellent images shown here I would wholeheartedly recommend this model without hesitation. BTW I bought one unit for my son, I like it very much obviously it has its deficiencies. Overall I would buy it again and fully recommend it to anyone as a travel camera or general purpose photography.

An excellent P&S camera at such a low price.


February 2, 2011, 9:31 pm

As an owner of this camera I would like to point out to any potential buyers there is a menu option to keep the microphone on while zooming in video mode - it is the first setting I altered! Since TR saw this as one of the main negatives, hopefully this will help make up some people's minds. Obviously you can hear it zooming, but it's not that intrusive and certainly not as annoying as the sound cutting out.

Also a fairly minor point although one end of the charging cable is USB the end that plugs in to the camera is proprietary so if you are travelling you may be able to share the plug with your mobile phone/other gadgets but you will need to take the cable.

One more thing, if you look around the web you will see the GPS feature of the WB650 is idiosyncratic to say the least so unless you are desperate for the AMOLED screen you should save yourself the money and get this one.


February 3, 2011, 2:44 pm

Forgot to mention the hideous chrome effect around the outside of the shell - it's like a 1950's car.

Ian Porter

February 4, 2011, 8:45 pm

I have to agree with Joose. Even at the lowest of ISO settings the toy cars look out of focus to me. Wouldn't a straight line pattern, something akin to the old BBC test card be better. Until the cars look in sharp focus I cannot judge ISO properly.


February 14, 2011, 10:30 pm

to all potential buyers, having red a review a few months back I suggest to get wb600 over the wb650, if picture quality is the top priority for you over GPS/AMOLED screen...the simultaneous laboratory tests had shown slightly better picture quality of wb600, initially I didn't believe but after having a closer look to sample pictures taken in various shooting environments (the same objects) by both cameras I could see the difference clearly ...the crops out of wb600, when zoomed in, were less 'blurry' with a little bit lower amount of noise...overall slightly better looking...anyway whatever choice you'll make out of these 2 - wb600/wb650, hope serves well ... :-)

comments powered by Disqus