Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

While we've lavished the Wave with a fair amount of praise so far, when it actually comes to design, we're not quite so keen. It looks perfectly okay but it definitely lacks the minimalist chic of the iPhone 4 or Palm Pre Plus, which is a shame as it wouldn't have taken much to really push it to the next level.

Samsung Wave side

Moving on to less subjective fare, the Wave has a good selection of external features with a 3.5mm headphone jack on the top, alongside the speaker, and a microUSB socket that's hidden behind a rather neat little sliding door. There's also a stepped (one level for focus, one to take the picture) camera button, which is always a useful addition.

Although you get 1.5GB of internal storage, you can only access 390MB of it, so you'll be wanting to add some extra storage, which can be done by adding a microSD card. Annoyingly the slot for this is situated under the battery, so you have to turn the phone off to swap it. You can access your files by plugging the phone into your PC, though, making it far from a life ending problem.

Samsung Wave side

Turning the phone on and the first thing that strikes you is its superb screen. It uses Samsung's much-vaunted new Super AMOLED technology, which provides brighter pictures for lower power consumption. Frankly, we've not noticed a significant difference between these and any other good AMOLED screens, but they certainly are very good. It's bright, very sharp thanks to its 480 x 800 pixels, has great contrast and viewing angles, and produces incredibly vivid colours. In fact they're almost too strong, giving orange and red hues in particular an almost radioactive look. Nevertheless, for most everyday purposes this won't be a concern and you'll instead just enjoy the sheer brilliance of it.

Samsung Wave in-hand

Also impressing us is the screen's touch sensing abilities. Presumably it's largely the responsiveness of the operating system as much as anything but regardless; interaction with the screen is very accurate, quick, and smooth.

Previous page
Next page
Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut


July 12, 2010, 4:34 pm

Thanks for the review, nicely done.

"Frankly, we've not noticed a significant difference between these and any other good AMOLED screens"

I think the main difference is that Super AMOLED is supposed to work in direct sunlight, unlike most OLED screens. At least, that's what Samsung would have us believe...


July 12, 2010, 5:28 pm

@Chris - it's also significantly brighter and colours are stronger (almost too strong IMHO).

Also, as a counterpoint to this, I really don't get on with Bada (or the TouchWiz UI) and don't see the point in its existence - but as Ed says, it is hard to dismiss the Wave at such a low price.


July 12, 2010, 6:26 pm

Is there no facility to adjust the colour saturation and / or brightness of the display in the OS?


July 12, 2010, 7:59 pm

@Gordon: Surely the point is that Samsung control the App Store, not Apple or Google and thus get a cut of the revenue.

While iOS/Android might have momentum in their App Stores in US/Europe perhaps in Asia they are smaller and that will give Bada a chance to grow there before being big enough to compete over here. Mind you at that price it's a great phone (kills all dumbphones) and if their App Store grows will soon compete with Android and then iOS.

Still wouldn't touch this over an Android phone myself though.


July 12, 2010, 8:51 pm

Sticks with dumbphone because smartphones and their owners aren't smart enough.


July 12, 2010, 9:42 pm

It's a shame that we have to watch an advert before the video - I suppose TR has to get funds from somewhere, but it's intrusive.

Martin Daler

July 12, 2010, 10:38 pm


what ad? I don't see one. A brief spash screen for TR and then straight into the main feature.


July 12, 2010, 10:46 pm

Pleace cut your nails


July 12, 2010, 11:31 pm

@timbo347: No sympathy to be honest. It's the least you can do to access our free content and it's certainly not intrusive. I could understand if it were five minutes long but it's a quick 20 second ad at the beginning of a 3 to 4 minute video.

@Martin Daler: The ads are frequency capped - you won't always see one.

@apojapo: Yup.

Martin Daler

July 13, 2010, 1:06 am

So, any user benefit from the "4x the power" you flagged earlier? Did you even notice it?


July 13, 2010, 2:15 am

Edward Chester I see you as an I phone person. On the I phone review you gave 10/10 for features & performance however Samsung seems to fail by 1?? And as good as the Super Amoled is amongst other screens you some how found a way to slate it. !!

Al 2

July 13, 2010, 3:06 am

I don't mind the ads - they pay for the site folks!


July 13, 2010, 1:27 pm

@Martin Daler: Those 4x figures refer to its 3D graphics processing power which is only really put to the test in games. I tried a couple of racing games and they certainly looked quite nice but I don't suppose they were really taxing it. This is a perfect example of how the limited developer support will hold back Bada - there are a total of 119 games currently on the app store.

@Zero: Yes, the iPhone 4 has more features and it's screen is better. Your point being?


July 13, 2010, 2:02 pm

@Martin: any user benefit from the "4x the power"

Most IPhone4 users :), from what I can gather it's the same chip. No idea what deal Samsung/Apple have going here. Maybe Apple helped design and Samsung manufactured, and maybe a deal was also made so that Apple didn't mind Bada been so similar to IOS.


July 16, 2010, 3:26 pm

To Edward Chester, just some constructive criticism.

First Wave soports Flash (it's disabled by default), second design doesn't include only how much do you like the looks of device, one major design flaws by Apple is antenna issue, third does the features score refers to Flash support, if not why don't we just use text only web, fourth how do you determine display quality size, contrast resolution, brightness, refresh rate, viewing angle...


July 21, 2010, 7:36 pm

it seems edward chester does not like samsung...either samsung wave or samsung galaxy s should hav a TR recom (or both).. but noo...cuz itz being reviewed by edward!


September 1, 2010, 8:09 pm

Respected reviewer...i differ on atleast one one point- the screen of wave that is superamoliad is stunning...way ahead of anyphone including iphone4. i have seen the screens of wave n galaxy its comparision iphone4 screen looks washedaway....put side by side all the three phone WAVE, GALAXYS and IPHONE 4... and the difference is glaring...wave beats miles...and wave costs just one third of many app can one use in iphone...when is not multitasking....close one n start another in iphone....wave n galaxy have cornered iphone3,4 for now...that is for sure.


December 30, 2010, 12:15 am

Hi have anyone else seen that o2 are selling this for £10 a month with a free phone. An absolute steal on epic proportions so if that is the case and you compare this to other £10 a month phones then the samsung wave is 10 out of 10 I think.

Jack Branch

January 2, 2011, 2:58 pm

Superb hardware (especially screen). Probably the best phone for video capture I´ve ever tried. With the release of Bada 2.0, will achieve a solid position as alternative OS compared to Ios and Android.

comments powered by Disqus