Key Features: 65-inch LCD TV with edge LED lighting; Curved Screen Design; Native UHD resolution; Active 3D playback (2 prs of glasses included); Football mode

Manufacturer: Samsung

Quick Glance
Size 65
Display Type LCD w/ LED
Freeview HD Yes
Size 65
Display Type LCD w/ LED
Full HD 1080p Yes - Actually 4K
Digital Tuner Yes
Freeview HD Yes
Freesat HD Yes
3D Ready Yes
Physical Specifications
Height 848
Width 1451
Depth 111
Weight 26800
Component 1
Composite 1
Digital Audio Out 1 (optical)
Headphone 1
Ethernet Yes
WiFi Yes (built in)


March 21, 2014, 1:13 pm

Just out if interest, and for when I inevitably pull the trigger on one of these or similar, what were you using for an UHD source?

Noel Grundy

March 21, 2014, 1:44 pm

How do you work your scoring out? 10,9,9,9,8,8 So basically averaging 9. Overall score 10?

Prem Desai

March 21, 2014, 4:25 pm

Losing all faith in your scoring system. At best, it is inconsistent.

Looks at the cons. Look at the price. Rubbish viewing angle. On what planet does this score 10/10?????

Utter nonsense.


March 21, 2014, 6:22 pm

An input lag of 62 ms is way, way too high. It's just another UHD tv is that no good for gaming.
Very disappointing of Samsung.

John Archer

March 21, 2014, 6:54 pm

Hi Prem

Fraid there's been a gremlin here. The scores for value and sound should both have read 9; the sound one was left at 8 until we got a new sample today without the fizzing flaw noted on the original sample (even though we always suspected the fizzing was a 'one-off' problem). And the value score was a mistaken throwback to a point only a couple of days ago where we thought the TV was going to be priced at £5,000, not £4,000.

The marks have been changed now and this hopefully means the overall mark makes more sense to you.

One other point to add here is that we always consider 2D picture quality as the single most important aspect of any TV.

Hope this clears things up for you, and apologies for the confusion!

John Archer

March 21, 2014, 6:55 pm

Hi Noel

Please see my reply to Prem above.



March 21, 2014, 9:47 pm

Where is this available for £4k? I've only seen it advertised for £5k!,


March 21, 2014, 10:00 pm

Not clear anything

Where laboratory tests?

3D is very important and is not clear anything!

The screen has a 4:4:4 color ?

What true contras ?

Motion resolution (max) ?

resolution (dejudder off) ?


March 22, 2014, 6:20 am

Just want to confirm that. John told me to change them an I forgot. My bad!


March 22, 2014, 9:40 am

Currys are advertising this set as £1000 more than the competition.My local Hughes in Norwich has these sets on their system at £4000 and on line companies like Simply Electricals,AV Lounge,Spatial etc all have them for within £5 of £4000.


March 23, 2014, 9:40 pm

Still as clear as mud how this TV got a 10/10 overall. It's clearly not perfect, not even close to perfect. It's poor value, how it rates a 9 is a joke, maybe a 6 would be generous, it's lag is woeful, the reflections caused by the curve are terrible and let's face this is jts a high priced gimmick to extract even more money from suckers, the remote looks like something off a $200 cheap Chinese knockoff. It's your typical Samsung, that always seems to have quality issues and come to Australia and see how they handle warranty issues. This a company that had a class action taken against them in the USA and despite making changes to policy their, made no changes in Australia.


March 24, 2014, 12:07 pm

Lets face it you are prepared to spend £2000 or more on a TV then why do you care about the sound on it?
Why don't they just make the sets without speakers just have Audio return on the connections!


March 24, 2014, 2:54 pm

There is another review which has very poor performance measured in ANSI contrast. What could you say about it? Thank you very much and best regards.


March 24, 2014, 3:35 pm

Because many people don't like the idea of cluttering up their living space with soundbars or surround sound systems. Sony's take on actually providing decent sound on the likes of the KDL-55X9005A is interesting, works well and looks pretty good too in my opinion. It's a toss up between having lovely slim bezels like the Samsung or better sound without a separate set of speakers. It will depend on personal preference.


March 25, 2014, 10:51 pm

the only reason for buying a bent tv is to sort out keystone issues in an adsa carpark bought camcorder pirate, thou if you got 4k you could buy the bluray


March 26, 2014, 8:18 am

It is confirmed that the ANSI contrast is not as good: 1,036:1. Much poorer than in the lower range models. Inexplicable.


March 29, 2014, 9:01 pm

Clouding here ...clouding there... No thanx ....

simon sazdov

March 31, 2014, 2:23 pm

Wasn`t this model supposed to be a flat uhd tv? And if not, what is the model for that one?

Andrew Nicholson

April 2, 2014, 7:57 am

May I ask if you tested the TV with a PS4 and how the games looked upscaled (regardless of the input lag)?

Patrik Gårdewall

April 4, 2014, 2:12 pm

Clouding? Im not supprised :)
Samsung had it already in 2009 with its LED TVs.
The Amateur Techs at Samsung must be idiots.
They should have solved it by now

As for the ANSI contrast haha
What a joke!
My Pioneer Kuro from 2008 has 41000:1 in ANSI contrast.
Thats what im talking about.

Patrik Gårdewall

April 4, 2014, 2:13 pm

Compare it to my modified Kuro at 41000:1 ANSI Contrast and you can see that time is standing still for the LED LCD tvs

Patrik Gårdewall

April 4, 2014, 2:23 pm

And what about rec2020 Gamut that all 4K tvs should have as it is the new standard.
Is it still the washed out low color SRGB Gamut here?


April 8, 2014, 2:33 pm

Just further to the points above, our scores are not based on averages. From our scores guide:

"10 - ExceptionalA score of 10 indicates that the product sets the benchmark, or reference, from which to judge other products. Only the very best products need apply and TrustedReviews evaluates every 10/10 very carefully. Any product that scores 10/10 overall must be approved by the Editor and is awarded the TrustedReviews Editor's Choice award.

The key thing to remember about a 10/10 product is that it doesn't mean it's perfect. There's no such thing as a perfect product. What a 10/10 will do, however, is reset our expectations of other products in that category. For example, the Motorola Moto G is the only phone we gave a 10/10 to in 2013 because it was head and shoulders above any other 'cheap' phone.


April 18, 2014, 2:08 pm

thats the 7500 model, quite a bit cheaper, but with most of this ones features

simon sazdov

April 18, 2014, 3:58 pm

Thanks for the info.

comments powered by Disqus