Key Features: 55-inch LCD TV with edge LED lighting; native UHD resolution; Active 3D playback (2 pairs of glasses included); Smart TV platform with extensive online video support; Local Dimming

Manufacturer: Samsung

Quick Glance
Size 55
Display Type LCD w/ LED
Max. Resolution 1920 x 1080
Refresh Rate 1000
Freeview HD Yes
Size 55
Display Type LCD w/ LED
Max. Resolution 1920 x 1080
Full HD 1080p Yes (actually 4k!)
Digital Tuner Yes
Freeview HD Yes
Freesat HD Yes
3D Ready Yes
Refresh Rate 1000
Physical Specifications
Height 718
Width 1246
Depth 39
Weight 25
HDMI 4 (v1.4)
Component 1
Composite 1
Scart 1 (RGB)
Digital Audio Out 1 (optical)
Ethernet Yes
WiFi Yes (built-in)


August 12, 2013, 12:18 pm

"World Exclusive: Read the first review anywhere or Samsung's first 4K TV"

Is that meant to read "on"?! Doh!!!

Gareth Barber

August 12, 2013, 1:08 pm

Or maybe "for"


August 12, 2013, 1:30 pm

I have seen this TV in the samsung store in Tottenham court road in London twice and i've been blown away by the picture quality. The Sony centre is right next door and the x900's short comings become clear as in detail lost in darker scenes and alternate gray lines on the 55 inch version. When viewing blu-ray on the 55f8000 the screen looks massive, but when viewing 4k on the f9000 the screen looks small for all the detail and resolution. At 2 and a half picture heights there is still definitely quite an improvement.

I didn't see any usb ports on the connections box but I'll double check, I wonder if samsung will replace the entire box for hdmi 2?

At £4000 which is less than double the 55f8000 rrp, I don't think 4k is beyond reach anymore and if I had the money I'd seriously consider buying this tv.

Power consumption at 157 watts is higher for a screen this size, most likely due to increased pixel density, but far less then a plasma.

I have seen LG's 55 inch Oled in Harrods and would like to see their curved version as well as samsungs version but early reviews already show their short comings such as image retention, stuck sub pixels and motion resolution. Oled maybe the tv of the future but it has lot of catching up to do with Lcd, Samsung have cut the price by 1/3 which is a step in the right direction.


August 12, 2013, 1:41 pm

It's 'of' and thanks for the spot. My bad.

Daniel Ackbar

August 12, 2013, 3:03 pm

There's a difference between "exclusive" and "first." Unless no other publication will review this television, you cannot claim to be the former.


August 12, 2013, 8:21 pm

how is it possible to judge a top end tv if they all get 10?


August 13, 2013, 7:54 am

Still want to know if the HD picture is better than Panasonic's finest. I have my kuro still and attempted to upgrade but every time I see an LED TV I really dislike to motion blur and judder, especially when watching football. Any input on this would be great. Also are they both isf compliant?


August 13, 2013, 7:55 am

No mention of SD up-scaling? Considering a lot of television is still broadcast in SD, I'd wager a lot of folk are more interested in that for day-to-day viewing than what the none-existent 4k footage would look like, should it exist.

Philip Smith

August 13, 2013, 12:39 pm

Thanks for the review. The upscaling sounds very promising. Just one question, what are the viewing angles like? My experience with Samsung tellys is that the black depth is excellent when viewed straight on, but drops off when viewed off centre.


August 13, 2013, 2:51 pm

you're probably better off with a panasonic plasma
If you frequently watch sports a plasma will do a much better job with motion and the panasonic st plasmas are good value for money, much cheaper than this tv


August 13, 2013, 6:38 pm

You mention "And no, we weren’t watching the set from a stupidly short viewing distance during our tests." in your review. I would be interested to know what kind of viewing distance you did use? Just to get an idea of what distance is appropriate for a 55" 4K.
Thanks. Sounds like a brilliant 1st gen TV.


August 13, 2013, 6:47 pm

Why would you be looking to replace a Kuro with an LED TV? I would think that would be a step backwards. As ly121688 has said. I would look towards the latest plasmas especially if you are sensitive to motion blur. I think i would wait a little longer if i already had a Kuro though.


August 14, 2013, 9:13 am

Samsung apparently now admits their motion smoothing technology does not work with HD because HD is "too big" for the computations. But, they continue to get away with advertising it, and reviewers, like you, continue to claim it works. Why should anyone believe anything written these days?


August 14, 2013, 11:20 pm

Does manually naming the input "PC" reduce input lag? On earlier Samsung models, that was a nice little unadvertised workaround to reduce lag.


August 17, 2013, 10:02 pm

Just a word on 3d crosstalk - there is a firmware update to version 06 that solves the 3d crosstalk issues totally. Once applied there is zero crosstalk as should be the case with 4k and the depth of 3d is now simply stunning. Can't tell you how good this tv is!!!


September 16, 2013, 9:17 pm

Would not touch Samsung there quality control is utter garbage. Good luck in getting a tv that actually works

Mark Royer

January 31, 2014, 5:25 am

Don't get sucked into the 4K is too expensive and there is no content
dribble. GO LOOK AT A 4K TV! The picture is simply stunning and like
nothing you have ever seen before. Remember, when you went from standard
definition to HDTV? It's the same experience, if not better. See a 4K
TV and make up your mind with your own eyes and ears. ~Mark

The one

February 3, 2014, 7:05 pm

Key words for other comments "cheaper and I would" The Kuro was an amazing TV but 4K completely blows plasma out the water. The only people that think otherwise are penny counters.

Rob C

March 7, 2014, 7:28 am

An update to the price from time to time would be OK, as would a mention of overseas pricing. People look at your Reviews from everywhere around the World because 16 months ago your Site was REALY great, recently less so (and not just for the price not current reason).

Canadian Model UN55F9000AFXZC CA$2999.99 (Pounds = 1630.23):


March 7, 2014, 8:34 am

Thanks for the heads-up. It's quite hard for us to update reviews based on changing prices, we review a lot of products and the world is a big place, but we'll do our best.

Was there anything specific you wanted to comment about the site in general? All feedback greatly appreciated.

Dan C.

March 19, 2014, 8:42 pm

This an amazing TV with probably the most features found in any current 4K TV. Still, I cannot see how any part of this review warrants a perfect score.

Don Mega

June 1, 2014, 12:43 am

yes if u have the money to go for minimum of 65" and want to put it within 2 meters of watching distance. u won't really see the difference between 1080p and 4k in a 55" or smaller tv even if it's as close as 2 meters away. there's a beautiful chart that compares viewing distances to resolution and human eye sight (20/20). look it up from google and u'll see 4k is rather useless for most situations

Don Mega

June 1, 2014, 12:44 am

just like u can compare cars that all have 4 wheels. numbers aren't everything


June 24, 2014, 11:05 am

Maybe Panasonic's top of the line a year or two from now might be worthy, otherwise you'll be waiting for a OLED set.

comments powered by Disqus