Key Features: 55in LCD TV with edge LED lighting; Active 3D playback; Smart TV online features, including BBC iPlayer; Multimedia playback via USB or LAN/wi-fi; Gesture and Voice control

Manufacturer: Samsung

Quick Glance
Size 55
Display Type LCD w/ LED
Max. Resolution 1920 x 1080
Refresh Rate 1000
Freeview HD Yes
Size 55
Display Type LCD w/ LED
Max. Resolution 1920 x 1080
Full HD 1080p Yes
Digital Tuner Yes
Freeview HD Yes
Freesat HD Yes
3D Ready Yes
Refresh Rate 1000
Physical Specifications
Height 707
Width 1224
Depth 35
Weight 18
HDMI 4 (v1.4)
Component 1
Composite 1
Scart 1 (RGB)
Digital Audio Out 1 (optical)
Headphone 1
Ethernet 1
WiFi Yes (built-in)


March 8, 2013, 12:03 pm

Hi, did you notice an screen uniformity issues, ie clouding, banding or light bleed at all, also how is the motion, is there any stuttering seen like on the ES models?


March 8, 2013, 5:10 pm

why did you move the backligth so low at six ?, only dracula could watch something at such a darkness. Thank u.

Agustin Alonso 

March 11, 2013, 9:12 pm

This set have the Precisión Black or its only for USA and Samsung lies one more time?

John Archer

March 12, 2013, 7:35 pm

As I state in the review, the key point about this Samsung is that it gets rid of the clouding and uniformity problems that have troubled the brand before. Especially if you use the Cinema Black feature when watching 21:9 material.

The more powerful processing also seems to have greatly reduced stutter issues, especially when watching 3D.

Hope this helps.


March 14, 2013, 11:55 am

So, and this is possibly an unfair question. Is this a better TV (for picture and audio) than the Sony 55HX853 - or even the 55HX953? I'm on the cusp of getting one or the other but I've not been able to do a side by side comparison.


March 22, 2013, 3:20 pm

Looks great.. but that stand will not fit on my current cabinet. At the moment that's a deal-breaker for me, which is really disappointing.. it looks like a great TV :(

Jonas Vingys

April 10, 2013, 6:57 am

I wonder how TV can get 10 out of 10, when the most important stuff (i.e. 2D and 3D image quality) gets 9 out of 10 and average mark for all features is 9 out of 10? Not fair overall rating IMHO.


April 22, 2013, 5:55 pm

my existing stand is 120cm. would I have a unstable hangover or not in your opinion?

Srinivas Rao

July 10, 2013, 3:58 pm

no this tv cant be as good as sony hx853 or hx953 in picture clarity only good in apps

Mikael Chuaungo

July 27, 2013, 2:58 pm

Dont you think this TV is worth purchasing a new stand?

Mikael Chuaungo

July 27, 2013, 2:59 pm

U CANNOT compare any TV with the Sony 55HX 953 :D


August 28, 2013, 4:08 am

What about the horizontal black line problem that has plagued consumers who bought Samsung TVs 2010? As soon as the 2 year warranty runs out about 6 months later the line appears. That is why any further extended warranty is not sold. You are told that to fix the horizontal black line it is cheaper to buy a new TV. Reviews like this that I read never revealed the horizontal line problem with Samsung TVs plasma and LCD. It was only after buying a 50" plasma TV June 2010 with the most warranty I could get - 2years - and having the line show up February 2013 only to be told it was cheaper to buy new TV that to fix the horizontal line that further research showed the problem existed for Samsung TVs as far back as 2006 with the 40" sets.
You should let folks know about these problems because we buy TVs based on your reviews.

joseph xuereb

September 11, 2013, 12:46 pm

does the f8000 support hdmi 1.4b????? thanks

comments powered by Disqus