Home / Computing / Monitor / Samsung SyncMaster LD220HD - 22in HDTV Monitor

Samsung SyncMaster LD220HD - 22in HDTV Monitor review

Andy Vandervell




  • Recommended by TR

1 of 7

Samsung SyncMaster LD220HD - 22in HDTV Monitor
  • Samsung SyncMaster LD220HD - 22in HDTV Monitor
  • Samsung SyncMaster LD220HD - 22in HDTV Monitor
  • Samsung SyncMaster LD220HD - 22in HDTV Monitor
  • Samsung SyncMaster LD220HD - 22in HDTV Monitor
  • Samsung SyncMaster LD220HD - 22in HDTV Monitor
  • Samsung SyncMaster LD220HD - 22in HDTV Monitor
  • Samsung SyncMaster LD220HD - 22in HDTV Monitor


Our Score:


Any twenty-something student or professional will have become used to fitting their lives into small spaces. Live in any of our over-populated metropolises and this particular problem becomes even more acute as the average budget barely stretches to a shoe box. As such, anything that does the job of two or more devices is invaluable. Enter the Samsung SyncMaster LD220HD, a 22in HDTV and monitor hybrid sporting a 1080p LCD panel and a highly tempting £200 retail price.

In terms of features the LD220HD is similar to the Samsung SnycMaster P2370HD we reviewed last year. However, while the P2370HD looked like a traditional monitor (albeit a stylish one), the LD220HD has a lower-profile design akin to a photo frame. Clad entirely in glossy black plastic, its slim bezel and comparative shallowness means it strikes a compact pose despite its sizeable 22in panel. An adjustable leg at the back provides somewhat limited adjustability, but it holds the monitor firmly and has a hole for cable routing.

Being an HDTV and a monitor, the connectivity reflects its versatility. Alongside HDMI and DVI video connections, which are common enough on LCD monitors, are component video and audio, SCART, a headphone jack, and a CI (Common Interface) slot for Freeview subscription channels. There's also a USB port, though it's only for servicing, and an EX-Link port for use with a motorised mount. There are VESA mounts to facilitate the latter. All these connections, apart from the side-mounted CI slot, are at the back pointing outward, making them easy to access.

Naturally a remote is included too and it's a damn good one. Buttons are arranged logically, with important functions like volume and channel controls given prominence, and have a nice positive action to them. We had no problems with range of the remote, either, and it sits very comfortably in the hand.

This excellent remote is teamed with a superb user interface and EPG that has clearly been lifted straight from Samsung's TV division. Menus are thorough and intuitive, even going so far to explain what specific options do, while the EPG is clean, functional and includes picture-in-picture so you can continue to watch a channel while scanning the listings. If you ever wonder what you're paying for from big name brands, such finer details are it.

Should you ever lose or not need the remote these menus can also be navigated using the touch controls on the monitor. These are hidden by default, but tapping near the glowing power icon (and button) reveals them. They work okay and logically, but you wouldn't want to rely on them alone so don't lose the remote!


March 30, 2010, 6:44 am

I'm a bit confused...

I looked online for this and it seems very rare. However, the P2270HD pops up all over the place and seems to be very similar. But to add further bemusement, the P2270HD isn't listed on Samsung's site but the LD220HD is. Did the latter supercede former? If so, what are the differences?


March 30, 2010, 11:42 am


Those damn Samsung model numbers! A million different variations to describe minute changes to the bezel design. The nightmare I had trying to find out the difference between a 650, a 651, a 652, a 653, a 654. Samsung spreads them over every country's version of their website, and every retailer and reviewer ends up labelling them differently.

Here's a spec list from Samsung Germany on an 'LD220HD' (easy enough to make out) :


And here's a spec list to a 'P2270' from Samsung UK :



March 30, 2010, 3:21 pm

@Andy Vandervell: You mention that motion can be blurry with panning sequences. Would you not recommend this monitor for first person shooters?


March 30, 2010, 4:46 pm

All those connections, and no D-sub for connecting a laptop! Does the DVI port include analogue pin connections so that a D-sub adapter can be used? Seems like a huge oversight if not...


March 30, 2010, 5:07 pm

Cheers for the help. The P2270 is the monitor-only version, but I guess it's got the same panel as the P2270HD. It appears that the LD220HD was on sale at Dixons/Currys etc a month or so ago, but now they just have the P2270HD. I can't find it anywhere else, other than on the Continent. Have TR reviewed a product that's not actually on sale in the UK anymore?


March 30, 2010, 7:07 pm


First post, nice looking TV/Monitor - on the market and this has all the connections i want.

Has someone in the trusted review team been on holiday to Edinburgh ? All pictures in the monitor are Edinburgh.

Andy Vandervell

March 30, 2010, 7:38 pm

@BobaFett: Personally I think it's fine, that particular comment was in reference to videos. It's no worse than any other similar LCD display.


March 30, 2010, 8:26 pm


Blur on these Samsungs only occurs in non HD content such as the footy. Gaming wise it will make you happy.

Oh no Samsung have started with the clangers - where is that headphone jack, a sign of awful design and the remote is second most important feature to the screen. For a Sammy fan this shows bad signs.


March 31, 2010, 2:14 am

Come on you guys at TR! What on earth is the point in reviewing a product that is not for sale here in the UK? Surely you check the availability of a product before you review it? Very disappointing!


March 31, 2010, 1:53 pm

@PaulW: It is on sale. It appears to be out of stock at the moment but it is on sale.


March 31, 2010, 4:34 pm


Where? The only place I can even find it listed is Pixmania, and their listing is in French! Dixons/Currys/PC World no longer have it listed on their sites.


April 1, 2010, 4:50 pm

When I bought it, the seller was sure it didn't have speakers and told me I had to buy an extra set what I did. It's only now, reading your review, a week later, that I see it has speakers on the backside... And to think I already thought this is a fantastic monitor for a small price.

Andy Vandervell

April 1, 2010, 7:51 pm

In regards to some comments. This set was on sale (and in stock) at the time of review. However extremely high demand has depleted stock. I've been given no date as to when it'll be back on sale, but hopefully it will be soon. It's easy to see why it sold out so quick.


April 2, 2010, 2:09 am

I like many others, read the review, thought "this is exactly the monitor I have been waiting for" and hastily went to buy it. Alas, its very disappointing to not be able to find this monitor available for sale + in stock anywhere...

Does anyone know of any similar / comparable monitors with built-in tv input functionality? (Note, does not need to have freeview - composite / scart inputs alone would suffice)

mrs carol harris

April 2, 2010, 3:49 pm

bought this monitor yesterday from sainsburys on sale for 185.00 want to use it mostly as a tv in kitchen height restrictions so style is great for space, details on box not clear as to whether it has a built in freeview tuner i assumed it did because it states it is a tv monitor. samsung couldnt confirm rither ,cant use it till sure as wont be able to return for refund if i use it.does anyone now that it will work as a tv as well or should i just get an ordinary tv instead, i really like the look and all the extras you get are great ,help

Geoff Richards

April 2, 2010, 5:12 pm

Mrs Harris - as it clearly states in the review, this TV / monitor has an in-built Freeview tuner. You can use it in your kitchen just fine.


April 4, 2010, 6:59 am

Hey guys, any idea how this compares to the older LG Flatron M2294D 22in LCD TV??


I have heard a lot of complaints of sound from the LG one, but it has much better connectivity and is cheaper and available now. What are the main differences and what TV would you guys recommend as you reviewed them both?? (Trustedreviews.com)


April 12, 2010, 7:00 pm

also, does this really have a VGA connection? i cannot see a d-sub on the photo.

Also is this available in the UK?


April 27, 2010, 11:29 am

looks like shop direct group's catalogue brands (littlewoods, very) have this monitor available (price from £249 now or £299 on credit).

Does someone know if all LD220HD models have the same DVB-T tuner? I need the one which is called TNT HD Tuner in France (able to receive both mpeg2 and mpeg4 dvb-t1 broadcasts). IS the UK model the same as France model?


August 12, 2010, 8:35 pm

I have been avoiding having to buy one of these so called TV's for years but my 2nd old style TV died a few days ago.

The 'stand' on this model does not want to work for me, it is spring loaded and just keeps going back to where it springs from, I eventually stuck a sock in it to stop it closing up, must be missing something, any ideas?

The colour balance is awful in the red range, it seems happy with deep greens, blues and greys, anything in the red spectrum is poor, I have fiddled with the advance settings but not much luck, any ideas?

The remote control is a poor piece of equipment, I would disagree that it is well laid out.

Other than that I suppose you get what you pay for, I dread the day when my main TV which is a 10 year old Sony dies as I will be forced to spent a fortune of one of these tv's for what will not produce the consistent quality that I currently enjoy. Mabye by then they will have a 4D, 10000000...hertz version that acutally does the job properly?



Denis iii

August 17, 2010, 10:57 pm

Just unboxed and setup my Samsung LD220HD. £165 all in including delivery from Pixmania and i'm very happy with my purchase with a few minor issues.

1. Some options like Magic Angle:(Standing Mode)(Side Mode) Colour Tone: (Warm 1/2) Size: (Screen fit) etc are greyed out. Any idea why? maybe cause i've just got a tv arieal attached?

2. the foot is only secure fully open which leans the tv to far back for comfortable viewing, i've got it jimmied half open and is ok but would prefer it to be 90degrees vertical.

What vesa base do you recomend that allows for height, swivel and vertical angle adjustment?

comments powered by Disqus