Samsung SyncMaster LD220HD - 22in HDTV Monitor - Samsung SyncMaster LD220HD

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

9

No new monitor could do without an outlandish contrast ratio claim. Samsung is no less guilty and the LD220HD has "50,000:1 dynamic contrast" etched into the top corner. In tangible terms the native rating is 1,000:1, brightness is 300 nits and the quoted grey-to-grey response time is 5ms. These are all par for LCDs based on TN panel technology and it's difficult to glean much from them.

We'll deal with Freeview TV performance first, which is about as good as you could demand from a cheap, non-specialist TV trying to cope with Freeview's increasingly fuzzy transmissions. It's perfectly watchable and doesn't suffer from any alarming or distracting issues, but it'll rarely astound you.

We were pleasantly surprised by the speakers, though. These are housed at the rear, projecting upwards from a vent at the back, and provide decent clarity with a little depth, too. Bass obviously isn't a strong point and the speakers struggled with the guitar heavy opening theme to Casino Royale, but on the whole clarity is excellent and the SRS TruSurround HD processing adds a little 'oomph' to proceedings.

Viewing angles are good enough, too, particularly for the kind of small room this display is likely to be used in. Samsung has also implemented a somewhat odd mode called MagicAngle. This looks to compensate for any contrast lost from viewing the screen from an angle, be it slightly below (Lean Back Mode 1/2), above (Standing Mode) or from the side (Side Mode).

All this boils down to is adjusting the brightness and contrast, which is of occasional but fairly limited use. We found the first of the two lean back modes (the least extreme one) was useful from time to time, particularly as the natural angle of the screen is slightly upward, but beyond this it wasn't really necessary.

Much the same can be said for the usual variety of picture modes available, which vary depending on what source you're using. We'd especially avoid any that makes significant use of the Dynamic Contrast mode. Anything above the 'Low' setting lacks the speed and subtlety to be usable, with changes in brightness far too obvious and distracting. It's not as if such measures are strictly necessary either, doing very little to enhance any type of content.

Aidan5ea

March 30, 2010, 6:44 am

I'm a bit confused...





I looked online for this and it seems very rare. However, the P2270HD pops up all over the place and seems to be very similar. But to add further bemusement, the P2270HD isn't listed on Samsung's site but the LD220HD is. Did the latter supercede former? If so, what are the differences?

GoldenGuy

March 30, 2010, 11:42 am

@Aidan





Those damn Samsung model numbers! A million different variations to describe minute changes to the bezel design. The nightmare I had trying to find out the difference between a 650, a 651, a 652, a 653, a 654. Samsung spreads them over every country's version of their website, and every retailer and reviewer ends up labelling them differently.





Here's a spec list from Samsung Germany on an 'LD220HD' (easy enough to make out) :


http://www.samsung.com/nl/cons...





And here's a spec list to a 'P2270' from Samsung UK :


http://www.samsung.com/uk/cons...

BobaFett

March 30, 2010, 3:21 pm

@Andy Vandervell: You mention that motion can be blurry with panning sequences. Would you not recommend this monitor for first person shooters?

Beaky69

March 30, 2010, 4:46 pm

All those connections, and no D-sub for connecting a laptop! Does the DVI port include analogue pin connections so that a D-sub adapter can be used? Seems like a huge oversight if not...

Aidan5ea

March 30, 2010, 5:07 pm

Cheers for the help. The P2270 is the monitor-only version, but I guess it's got the same panel as the P2270HD. It appears that the LD220HD was on sale at Dixons/Currys etc a month or so ago, but now they just have the P2270HD. I can't find it anywhere else, other than on the Continent. Have TR reviewed a product that's not actually on sale in the UK anymore?

ferrari312

March 30, 2010, 7:07 pm

Hi,





First post, nice looking TV/Monitor - on the market and this has all the connections i want.





Has someone in the trusted review team been on holiday to Edinburgh ? All pictures in the monitor are Edinburgh.

Andy Vandervell

March 30, 2010, 7:38 pm

@BobaFett: Personally I think it's fine, that particular comment was in reference to videos. It's no worse than any other similar LCD display.

hankb6d

March 30, 2010, 8:26 pm

@bobafett





Blur on these Samsungs only occurs in non HD content such as the footy. Gaming wise it will make you happy.





Oh no Samsung have started with the clangers - where is that headphone jack, a sign of awful design and the remote is second most important feature to the screen. For a Sammy fan this shows bad signs.

PaulW

March 31, 2010, 2:14 am

Come on you guys at TR! What on earth is the point in reviewing a product that is not for sale here in the UK? Surely you check the availability of a product before you review it? Very disappointing!

Ed

March 31, 2010, 1:53 pm

@PaulW: It is on sale. It appears to be out of stock at the moment but it is on sale.

Aidan5ea

March 31, 2010, 4:34 pm

@Ed





Where? The only place I can even find it listed is Pixmania, and their listing is in French! Dixons/Currys/PC World no longer have it listed on their sites.

koen

April 1, 2010, 4:50 pm

When I bought it, the seller was sure it didn't have speakers and told me I had to buy an extra set what I did. It's only now, reading your review, a week later, that I see it has speakers on the backside... And to think I already thought this is a fantastic monitor for a small price.

Andy Vandervell

April 1, 2010, 7:51 pm

In regards to some comments. This set was on sale (and in stock) at the time of review. However extremely high demand has depleted stock. I've been given no date as to when it'll be back on sale, but hopefully it will be soon. It's easy to see why it sold out so quick.

PtolemyIV

April 2, 2010, 2:09 am

I like many others, read the review, thought "this is exactly the monitor I have been waiting for" and hastily went to buy it. Alas, its very disappointing to not be able to find this monitor available for sale + in stock anywhere...





Does anyone know of any similar / comparable monitors with built-in tv input functionality? (Note, does not need to have freeview - composite / scart inputs alone would suffice)

mrs carol harris

April 2, 2010, 3:49 pm

bought this monitor yesterday from sainsburys on sale for 185.00 want to use it mostly as a tv in kitchen height restrictions so style is great for space, details on box not clear as to whether it has a built in freeview tuner i assumed it did because it states it is a tv monitor. samsung couldnt confirm rither ,cant use it till sure as wont be able to return for refund if i use it.does anyone now that it will work as a tv as well or should i just get an ordinary tv instead, i really like the look and all the extras you get are great ,help

Geoff Richards

April 2, 2010, 5:12 pm

Mrs Harris - as it clearly states in the review, this TV / monitor has an in-built Freeview tuner. You can use it in your kitchen just fine.

tianuk3

April 4, 2010, 6:59 am

Hey guys, any idea how this compares to the older LG Flatron M2294D 22in LCD TV??





http://www.trustedreviews.com/...





I have heard a lot of complaints of sound from the LG one, but it has much better connectivity and is cheaper and available now. What are the main differences and what TV would you guys recommend as you reviewed them both?? (Trustedreviews.com)

tianuk3

April 12, 2010, 7:00 pm

also, does this really have a VGA connection? i cannot see a d-sub on the photo.


Also is this available in the UK?

bafunya

April 27, 2010, 11:29 am

looks like shop direct group's catalogue brands (littlewoods, very) have this monitor available (price from £249 now or £299 on credit).


Does someone know if all LD220HD models have the same DVB-T tuner? I need the one which is called TNT HD Tuner in France (able to receive both mpeg2 and mpeg4 dvb-t1 broadcasts). IS the UK model the same as France model?

Terence

August 12, 2010, 8:35 pm

I have been avoiding having to buy one of these so called TV's for years but my 2nd old style TV died a few days ago.





The 'stand' on this model does not want to work for me, it is spring loaded and just keeps going back to where it springs from, I eventually stuck a sock in it to stop it closing up, must be missing something, any ideas?





The colour balance is awful in the red range, it seems happy with deep greens, blues and greys, anything in the red spectrum is poor, I have fiddled with the advance settings but not much luck, any ideas?





The remote control is a poor piece of equipment, I would disagree that it is well laid out.





Other than that I suppose you get what you pay for, I dread the day when my main TV which is a 10 year old Sony dies as I will be forced to spent a fortune of one of these tv's for what will not produce the consistent quality that I currently enjoy. Mabye by then they will have a 4D, 10000000...hertz version that acutally does the job properly?





Yours





Terence

Denis iii

August 17, 2010, 10:57 pm

Just unboxed and setup my Samsung LD220HD. £165 all in including delivery from Pixmania and i'm very happy with my purchase with a few minor issues.


1. Some options like Magic Angle:(Standing Mode)(Side Mode) Colour Tone: (Warm 1/2) Size: (Screen fit) etc are greyed out. Any idea why? maybe cause i've just got a tv arieal attached?


2. the foot is only secure fully open which leans the tv to far back for comfortable viewing, i've got it jimmied half open and is ok but would prefer it to be 90degrees vertical.


What vesa base do you recomend that allows for height, swivel and vertical angle adjustment?

comments powered by Disqus