Samsung SyncMaster F2080 - 20in LCD Monitor - Samsung SyncMaster F2080

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Samsung SyncMaster F2080 - 20in LCD Monitor

Summary

Our Score:

8

User Score:

Unfortunately the F2080’s performance wasn’t quite perfect, however. Banding across gradients was present, though so subtly it’s unlikely to ever be much of a problem. A bigger concern regards response times. Samsung claims an 8ms response time for the F2080 which it dubs MagicSpeed, but while films were mostly fine we found there was some ghosting in fast games, even with response time acceleration set to maximum. Of course, this panel is aimed at colour professionals so it’s hardly fair to criticise it for this issue, especially since many semi-casual gamers are unlikely to notice. Still, we wish Samsung wouldn’t advertise ‘magic speed’ on a panel this slow.

Finally for true image professionals it’s worth noting that Samsung only states its monitor matches 100 per cent of the relatively lowly sRGB colour space and obviously it’s not wide-gamut, meaning that if you professionally work with higher colour spaces or require extended colours, you’re still better off looking elsewhere.

Nonetheless, the performance the F2080 delivers for its price is quite simply amazing. While not quite up to the professional standard its classification suggests, this is as close as we’ve ever seen a sub-£200 monitor get. If you have the extra cash to spare you’ll probably want to get the 23in F2380, available for around £230, which nabs you not only a larger working area but also a desirable Full HD resolution. However, for anyone who can’t afford the extra £60 the F2080 is well worth considering.

So who’s it for? Enthusiast photographers and budding digital artists on a budget, or just anyone who enjoys accurate colours, good contrast and excellent ergonomics but can’t afford the premiums this usually demands and can live with the lower resolution. Keep in mind though that while most films are fine (and indeed a pleasure to watch thanks to the aforementioned qualities), gamers should look elsewhere.

Verdict

Offering quality that's in a whole other ballpark to displays based on TN panels but at only a slight premium, the Samsung F2080 with its 'cPVA' panel is quite simply one of the best monitors available for its £173 asking price - both in terms of image quality and ergonomics. It's just a pity that poor response times keep it from holding wider appeal.

Overall Score

8

Scores In Detail

  • Value 9
  • Image Quality 9
  • Features 7
  • Design 9

Murcielago

January 9, 2010, 5:22 am

"Finally for true image professionals it’s worth noting that Samsung only states its monitor matches 100 per cent of the relatively lowly sRGB colour space and obviously it’s not wide-gamut, meaning that if you professionally work with higher colour spaces or require extended colours, you’re still better off looking elsewhere."





This has got me quite excited.I have just bought an HP LP2475w and I have been getting headaches ever since (even though brightness and contrast is at zero, and I have calibrated it using my mac software). After doing a bit of research I found out that my wide gamut monitor was oversaturating all the colours in my web browser, which uses an sRGB colour space (I think).





How did you find this monitor in terms of internet browsing? No signs of oversaturation I hope...

PoisonJam

January 9, 2010, 8:23 am

I'm currently on 1280x1024 on a 4:3 Samsung 19" PVA. I'd appreciate the extra horizontal resolution, sure, but the industry switch to widescreen means the increase in vertical pixels is practically non-existant unless I go to at least 24", which I don't have the desktop space for (I want to run dual-screen)! Vertical desktop space is just as important to me as horizontal.





Sigh. Really hope to see you guys get a hold of the 23" units! I have been eyeing up the Dell 22" IPS screens but the price of these has gone up :( I should have got 2 when they were at £200.

Chocoa

January 9, 2010, 3:31 pm

Well thanks to TR I bought an HP LP2475w ( 24" full HD) on the basis of a TR review and am overjoyed with it. Admittedly it was far more expensive than the unit reviewed here ( in the end I paid about £380 direct from HP with a few coupon codes I found in the wild <grin>)I mainly use it for movies and the colour and contrast are superb. Thanks TR from a budget conscience fan!


As always you pays your money and gets your choice (quality).....

D-Unit

January 9, 2010, 3:45 pm

Did you guys see any input lag?

Malderon

January 9, 2010, 6:02 pm

I'd be interested to know anyones thoughts on the larger 23" (F2380) versus the new NEC consumer IPS panel -





http://www.nec-display-solutio...





Both non TN panels (one IPS, one PVA), both under £300, both Full HD. I previously owned the 215TW, so I was thinking about trying the NEC IPS this time, after not being that impressed with the build quality and longevity of my Samsung unit.

Xiphias

January 9, 2010, 8:09 pm

@Malderon: Prad rated the EA231WMi higher than the F2380: http://www.prad.de/en/monitore...

Pbryanw

January 9, 2010, 8:50 pm

@Malderon - Hope I'm allowed to link to it, but Bit-tech have done a review of the NEC monitor (I think it's the one you linked to but your link doesn't work for me) and given it a very favourable review:





http://www.bit-tech.net/hardwa...





Hopefully, Trusted Reviews will review it in the future.

Fleabane

January 9, 2010, 10:29 pm

There would also appear to be a 2080M and 2380M floating about which also have an HDMI input for those that want such things, though apparently not in this country .. yet ...?

Malderon

January 10, 2010, 12:40 am

Thanks for that Xiphias, and sorry about the broken link - that is the correct NEC panel. I think the NEC looks just about perfect for me, I hope trusted reviews get it in.

HisEnormity

January 10, 2010, 5:27 am

Pity it's so ugly.

smodd

January 10, 2010, 12:00 pm

Still dying on waiting the Samsung XL2370 Led Monitor ..c´mon guys i wanna read that review plz, plz, plz, pleeeeeeeeez...

TechVegan

January 11, 2010, 3:46 pm

@Murcielago:


Not for us, but then we weren't bothered by the LP2475w either. Surely you can tone down the colours using the monitor's OSD?





@PoisonJam:


Completely agree about vertical desktop space being important - unfortunately 16:9 rather than 16:10 seems to be where monitors are heading right now...


And yes, we'll get the F2380 in ASAP.





@Chocoa:


You're welcome - glad to be of help!





@D-Unit:


I didn't notice any but didn't specifically test for it either. If you're the kind of gamer that cares this monitor is probably a bad idea anyway due to the ghosting.





@Malderon:


We'll see if we can't get it in. BTW, I own both a Samsung and a NEC monitor, and the Samsung HAS admittedly given me some grief: after just under a year of use a huge green bar appeared at the side, cutting of part of the picture. Of all things, holding it upside-down and shaking it fixes the problem when it occurs (something I discovered while packing it to send it back - the shaking was accidental the first time :)





@Fleabane:


Love that user name ;)


Yes, there should be - I've inquired about a possible UK release date and will let you know when I do.





@HisEnormity:


Most of us in the office really like the look, actually. Of course it's business-like, but its understated appearance and slim bezel are quite attractive.

Martin Daler

January 15, 2010, 2:48 am

@PoisonJam I'm with you on vertical screen space. I've been obliged to move my taskbar to the left side of the screen to win a few vertical pixels. It took a while to get used to, but I actually quite like it now. Only problem is some Win 7 features are puzzled by it being there - I get some apps opening partially underneath it, and some app's pop up messages appearing shifted slightly off the right side of the screen. Whoever decided that a screen format optimised for the cinema experience was, fortuitously, also the optimum choice for general computer work anyway?

huels

March 15, 2010, 1:19 am

I'm wondering why the 23 inches version was valuated here: http://samsungf2380.blogspot.c...


as a monitor with poor "viewing angle" quality


Is it the same panel type?

TechVegan

May 20, 2010, 4:42 pm

@Martin Daler:


Most of us here in the office regret the loss of vertical resolution, but unfortunately that's the way the market is heading.





@huels:


Variations in panels can occur even within the same panel series. Of course that's obviously not the same panel series as the monitor reviewed here, since the F2380 uses a 23in Full HD panel. Without having reviewed the F2380 I'm afraid I can't comment with certainty, but what IS a given is that the viewing angles will be far superior to TN-based panels.

comments powered by Disqus