Home » Computing » Monitor » Samsung SyncMaster F2080 - 20in LCD Monitor

Samsung SyncMaster F2080 - 20in LCD Monitor review

Ardjuna Seghers



  • Recommended by TR
Samsung SyncMaster F2080 - 20in LCD Monitor


Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

Anyone who reads our monitor reviews regularly will know that usually you have two choices; either you get a screen sporting a ‘budget’ TN panel with mediocre viewing angles and lacking ergonomic adjustability, or pay significantly more for a far superior PVA or IPS-based display that’s actually usable for colour-intensive work. However, with its new Professional F-series range, Samsung aims to give you the best of both worlds. Sporting brand new Samsung 'cPVA' panels (Samsung won't explain what the 'c' stands for, claiming it's an internal reference), both of these fully adjustable, business-styled monitors purportedly offer impressive 178 degree viewing angles, incredible contrast and accurate colours, all for a price that wouldn’t look out of place on an upmarket TN.

We broke the news on this range in May of last year and were pretty excited. It's taken a little longer than expected to get one in for review though and in the process the Navy moniker has apparently been dropped.

Unfortunately we’re not looking at the Full HD (1,920 x 1,080) 23in F2380 but its smaller cousin, the 1,600 x 900 F2080. However, aside from the lower resolution and of course smaller size, there’s very little reason for complaint – especially since this piece of high-end hardware can be yours for a mere £173!

From the moment you take the F2080 out of its box it’s obvious that you’re dealing with a display that’s on a different level to most. The monitor arrives in two parts which are easy to assemble. Just clip in the base and tighten the thumb-ring screw, and you’re good to go. Both the base and chassis are constructed using durable, matte and slightly textured plastic that obviously eliminates distracting reflections and unsightly fingerprints. The monitor’s neck, meanwhile, is made of metal, lending excellent durability.

As already mentioned, the Professional F-series are as adjustable as you could wish. The F2080 is height adjustable up to 20cm off your desk, tilts about 30 degrees (five forward and 25 back), swivels by around 45 degrees to the left and to the right, and of course pivots too. All these adjustments are so smooth and easy that you can make them with one hand, and our only niggle is that the screen does tend to wobble when making them.

In terms of style, the F2080 comes across as industrial yet desirable. The shallow, square base matches the main chassis perfectly, and its sleek looks are helped by a thin 15mm all-round bezel which makes it great for multi-monitor setups. At the display’s back, hidden under a clip-on panel, you’ll find VESA mounts for both 100 x 100 and 200 x 100 standards. This offers great flexibility for attaching wall-mounts, arms and other accessories.

Next page


January 9, 2010, 5:22 am

"Finally for true image professionals it’s worth noting that Samsung only states its monitor matches 100 per cent of the relatively lowly sRGB colour space and obviously it’s not wide-gamut, meaning that if you professionally work with higher colour spaces or require extended colours, you’re still better off looking elsewhere."

This has got me quite excited.I have just bought an HP LP2475w and I have been getting headaches ever since (even though brightness and contrast is at zero, and I have calibrated it using my mac software). After doing a bit of research I found out that my wide gamut monitor was oversaturating all the colours in my web browser, which uses an sRGB colour space (I think).

How did you find this monitor in terms of internet browsing? No signs of oversaturation I hope...


January 9, 2010, 8:23 am

I'm currently on 1280x1024 on a 4:3 Samsung 19" PVA. I'd appreciate the extra horizontal resolution, sure, but the industry switch to widescreen means the increase in vertical pixels is practically non-existant unless I go to at least 24", which I don't have the desktop space for (I want to run dual-screen)! Vertical desktop space is just as important to me as horizontal.

Sigh. Really hope to see you guys get a hold of the 23" units! I have been eyeing up the Dell 22" IPS screens but the price of these has gone up :( I should have got 2 when they were at £200.


January 9, 2010, 3:31 pm

Well thanks to TR I bought an HP LP2475w ( 24" full HD) on the basis of a TR review and am overjoyed with it. Admittedly it was far more expensive than the unit reviewed here ( in the end I paid about £380 direct from HP with a few coupon codes I found in the wild <grin>)I mainly use it for movies and the colour and contrast are superb. Thanks TR from a budget conscience fan!

As always you pays your money and gets your choice (quality).....


January 9, 2010, 3:45 pm

Did you guys see any input lag?


January 9, 2010, 6:02 pm

I'd be interested to know anyones thoughts on the larger 23" (F2380) versus the new NEC consumer IPS panel -


Both non TN panels (one IPS, one PVA), both under £300, both Full HD. I previously owned the 215TW, so I was thinking about trying the NEC IPS this time, after not being that impressed with the build quality and longevity of my Samsung unit.


January 9, 2010, 8:09 pm

@Malderon: Prad rated the EA231WMi higher than the F2380: http://www.prad.de/en/monitore...


January 9, 2010, 8:50 pm

@Malderon - Hope I'm allowed to link to it, but Bit-tech have done a review of the NEC monitor (I think it's the one you linked to but your link doesn't work for me) and given it a very favourable review:


Hopefully, Trusted Reviews will review it in the future.


January 9, 2010, 10:29 pm

There would also appear to be a 2080M and 2380M floating about which also have an HDMI input for those that want such things, though apparently not in this country .. yet ...?


January 10, 2010, 12:40 am

Thanks for that Xiphias, and sorry about the broken link - that is the correct NEC panel. I think the NEC looks just about perfect for me, I hope trusted reviews get it in.


January 10, 2010, 5:27 am

Pity it's so ugly.


January 10, 2010, 12:00 pm

Still dying on waiting the Samsung XL2370 Led Monitor ..c´mon guys i wanna read that review plz, plz, plz, pleeeeeeeeez...


January 11, 2010, 3:46 pm


Not for us, but then we weren't bothered by the LP2475w either. Surely you can tone down the colours using the monitor's OSD?


Completely agree about vertical desktop space being important - unfortunately 16:9 rather than 16:10 seems to be where monitors are heading right now...

And yes, we'll get the F2380 in ASAP.


You're welcome - glad to be of help!


I didn't notice any but didn't specifically test for it either. If you're the kind of gamer that cares this monitor is probably a bad idea anyway due to the ghosting.


We'll see if we can't get it in. BTW, I own both a Samsung and a NEC monitor, and the Samsung HAS admittedly given me some grief: after just under a year of use a huge green bar appeared at the side, cutting of part of the picture. Of all things, holding it upside-down and shaking it fixes the problem when it occurs (something I discovered while packing it to send it back - the shaking was accidental the first time :)


Love that user name ;)

Yes, there should be - I've inquired about a possible UK release date and will let you know when I do.


Most of us in the office really like the look, actually. Of course it's business-like, but its understated appearance and slim bezel are quite attractive.

Martin Daler

January 15, 2010, 2:48 am

@PoisonJam I'm with you on vertical screen space. I've been obliged to move my taskbar to the left side of the screen to win a few vertical pixels. It took a while to get used to, but I actually quite like it now. Only problem is some Win 7 features are puzzled by it being there - I get some apps opening partially underneath it, and some app's pop up messages appearing shifted slightly off the right side of the screen. Whoever decided that a screen format optimised for the cinema experience was, fortuitously, also the optimum choice for general computer work anyway?


March 15, 2010, 1:19 am

I'm wondering why the 23 inches version was valuated here: http://samsungf2380.blogspot.c...

as a monitor with poor "viewing angle" quality

Is it the same panel type?


May 20, 2010, 4:42 pm

@Martin Daler:

Most of us here in the office regret the loss of vertical resolution, but unfortunately that's the way the market is heading.


Variations in panels can occur even within the same panel series. Of course that's obviously not the same panel series as the monitor reviewed here, since the F2380 uses a 23in Full HD panel. Without having reviewed the F2380 I'm afraid I can't comment with certainty, but what IS a given is that the viewing angles will be far superior to TN-based panels.

comments powered by Disqus