Samsung ST70 specs

By Cliff Smith


Key Features

  • 5x zoom lens
  • 14.2-megapixel sensor
  • 2.7-inch 230k LCD monitor
  • 720p HD video
  • MicroSD card format
  • Manufacturer: Samsung
  • Review Price: £107.93
Quick Glance
Camera type Ultra Compact
Optical Zoom 4
Megapixels 14.2
Physical Specifications
Dimensions Width 96.3
Depth 55.8
Weight (body only) 122g (137g including batteries and card)
Camera type Ultra Compact
Optical Zoom 4
Megapixels 14.2
Image Sensor 1/2.3-inch CCD
Optical focal length 4.9mm to 24.5mm
Viewfinder N/A
Shutter speed 8 seconds to 1/2000th sec
Auto focus Contrast detection TTL multi-zone AF. centerzone AF, touch-select AF7
Manual focus No
Video (max res/format) 1280x720 at 30fps
Max output resolution 4320x3240
Other resolutions 4272x2848, 4272x2403, 3264x2448, 2592x1944, 2048x1536, 1024x768
Focus range 80cm to infinity, Tele: 80cm to infinity, Macro 10cm
Exposure control P, A, S, 13 scene modes
Exposure metering Multi-pattern, Centre-weighted, Spot
Image Stabilisation Optical and Digital
ISO settings Auto, 80, 100, 200, 400, 800, 1600, 3200
LCD Monitor 2.7-inch 230k dots
Flash range Wide: 0.2 to 3.5m, Tele: 0.5 to 2.1m (AUTO ISO)
Flash modes Auto, fill-in, off, slow sync, red-eye reduction
White balance modes Auto, daylight, cloudy, tungsten, fluorescent (H/L), custom
Drive modes Single, continuous, Auto bracketing, Motion-capture
Image formats JPEG, Exif 2.21, H.264
Picture adjustments Contrast, saturation, sharpness
Movie length 29 mins/card capacity
Self timer 10/2 secs
Memory card slot MicroSD
Supplied memory 27MB internal
Batteries supplied 740mAh Li-ion
Charger supplied Yes
A/V output PAL/NTSC
Charging/Computer Connection USB 2.0
AV Out Yes
Manual Basic printed guide, 11-pages in English, full manual on CD


July 20, 2010, 6:17 am


stoolz mclingo

July 20, 2010, 3:52 pm

I have been thinking for a while that this site is a little bias in some areas on some cameras makes. This isnt the best example of this but this camera is clearly producing a highly compessed image words like "superb" and "excellent" are being used to describe the image quality. Even though this is cheap camera I think these comments are misleading


July 20, 2010, 8:58 pm

And what of the fabled Samsung WB2000 Digital Camera with full hd video shooting? Samsung were spouting an April release date but as per usual with "too good to be true" claims by manufacturers it STILL hasnt surfaced...

Cliff Smith

July 22, 2010, 1:02 am

stoolz - The ST70 has one of the lowest compression ratios of any compact I've tested recently. For example the full-size version of the cathedral window shot is 6.91MB, compared to 5.39MB for the Panasonic FX70, which is also 14 megapixels.


July 23, 2010, 7:49 am

@Cliff Smith - I'm not going to comment on the level of compression on the images, but I have to agree with stoolz that the words "superb" and "excellent" seem to get thrown around too easily in some reviews. Canon's Powershot S90 is a good example of a compact camera that REALLY produces excellent and superb image quality, and the ST70 doesn't come anywhere close to that. I'm well aware of the fact that the S90 is much more expensive than the ST70, but that should be irrelevant when comparing image quality between the two (as long as they're both compacts of course, DSLR's are a different story altogether). The difference in image quality should also be more clearly reflected in the ratings, because the way they stand at the moment one might make the mistake of thinking that the ST70's image quality is on par with the Canon Powershot G11's...

Just a thought..

Have a good one!

Cliff Smith

July 26, 2010, 10:33 pm

There a discussion of this very topic going on in the comments for the Fuji HS10, so I won't repeat myself by posting my answer here too, but I'll simply say that review scores compare like with like, so the ST70 is not compared with the Canon G11.


January 26, 2011, 8:59 am

let me start saying that i just have ended my register on this website ONLY because i wanted to say that this is the best samsung st70's review that i have ever found, (and i been looking a lot)

so thank you very much for this review, its been very helpful.

And about the topic above i want to comment that you really cant say that the cost of each samsung ST70 and S90 is irrelevant when it comes on image quality, its same as getting a car, you get what you pay, of course you can always try to get a little more for a little less.


January 2, 2012, 3:17 am

Opinions do vary, but from the comments already posted, the image quality score is suspect on this site. Also confirmed by Nearly bought it based on this site's review. I am buying a Canon SX130 IS instead, 𧴜 at Argos, can't be bad.

comments powered by Disqus