Samsung Series 7 Chronos 780Z5E video review

Andrew Williams

By

Reviewed:

Read the full Samsung Series 7 Chronos 780Z5E review

Samsung Series 7 Chronos 780Z5E Video Review

More Laptop Videos

newovrhere

April 10, 2013, 2:01 pm

great review!! thanks....hope samsung updates it with haswell+pure ssd before september-october because thats when i intend to buy this beast!!!

SetiroN

April 10, 2013, 2:16 pm

How is this "not light"? It's a quad core CPU laptop with high end graphics and a touch screen, that kind of weight is impressively low.

Finding a con is not mandatory.

danielfrisbee

April 10, 2013, 2:26 pm

why doesn't it have display-port? increasing numbers of people use hi-res screens, and while hdmi can technically do 2560x1600 they are limited at imput and output to 1080p.
It kills me having a nice dell 27" monitor I can't use with my laptop, so certainly a requirement for the future.

Byron Hinson

April 10, 2013, 2:42 pm

Been looking at the i5 version - has slightly slower graphics chip too though. Still great laptop

mothergoose85

April 10, 2013, 4:07 pm

This! It won't stop me buying it but it is a very VERY valid point. Why not use display port and bundle a VGA adapter?

mothergoose85

April 10, 2013, 4:09 pm

Andy, any idea who's going to be stocking it?

Yiannis Demetriou

April 10, 2013, 5:51 pm

Where can we get this i7 for 1199 pounds? I searched everywhere. All I can find is the i5 version!

Niko Keček

April 11, 2013, 6:47 am

You can use a VGA cable to get those resolutions, the quality will be slightly inferior compared to a digital connection though

danielfrisbee

April 11, 2013, 11:42 am

no you can't you need dual-link dvi or display port or an uprated version of hdmi. While theoretically vga's analogue can stretch out in reality modern monitors aren't looking for it and windows doesn't want to output it, and additionally it would look shockingly bad which defeats the point of investing in high-end monitors and computers for graphics work.

Paul W Waby

April 11, 2013, 2:25 pm

Nowhere seems to be stocking this laptop at the moment, PC-world have a sales holder on the website but just give out of stock. trawled everywhere, no indication when it might arrive

David Gray

April 11, 2013, 4:46 pm

i5 variant was on sale in PC world for ages at £899, now it has gone back up to £999 I'm pissed off that I didn't buy it before. Will probably wait till it goes back down again. 8850m looks like similar silicon to 8870m but clocked lower, which tbh appeals to me cos it just means a bit less heat and it'll still be a massive step up from my current Nvidia 425m

Byron Hinson

April 11, 2013, 6:43 pm

If it helps anyone - Currys told me today that the i7 version is due to be a John Lewis exclusive now.

Andrew_TR

April 11, 2013, 9:37 pm

It's likely that we're just a bit too early at this point. I expect it'll be widely available through the usual suspects within weeks.

Samsung gave us a nice and early review sample this time.

John Chen

April 12, 2013, 9:48 am

the version on sale at john lewis does not have a touch screen.

John Chen

April 12, 2013, 9:57 am

in a few weeks we might as well wait for the haswell cpu update from intel.

mothergoose85

April 12, 2013, 1:31 pm

Cheers Andy.

John Chen - it'll take 6 months (at least) for those to work there way in to top end laptops like Alienware. Probably won't see them in the main stream for at least 9 months (which will be in time for CES) and then another 3 months to market (like this Samsung has been). It's not too bad really - the performance differences won't be that big either.

MikeX

April 12, 2013, 4:11 pm

Biggest problem with this machine is Windows 8! I would much rather have a MacBook Pro and OS X for "serious" work. Not many will buy this just as a gaming laptop, its market is really for users who will be using it for pro or semi-pro applications. Both better served in many cases by Apple and OS X. At least with the MacBook Pro, which is better built, you can always run Windows if you must.

RSD179

April 12, 2013, 5:45 pm

It's on the PCW website but 'out of stock' - maybe they're expecting supply?

http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/...

Byron Hinson

April 14, 2013, 12:56 pm

I have the i5 version and just be warned as it wasn't mentioned in this review - the laptop comes with Intel's Centrino 6235 wi-fi which is having major issues for many users. I wondered why my laptop was disconnecting from wi-fi every 30/40 minutes, but it turns out its been a known issue with the intel drivers/hardware for sometime. Just do a search on it for thousands of users of not just this laptop, but others that have the same issue.

SoulGamer

April 15, 2013, 9:04 pm

unfortunately I ended up with the 770 model rather than the 780 version with touchscreen. John Lewis have a pretty generous policy so I took the time to try out the laptop (using right now!) before I had it in later this week. Overall? A very lovely laptop - just waiting for the touchscreen version impatiently!

Matt Bickell

April 15, 2013, 10:52 pm

Pretty sure this doesn't have a hybrid drive - think this review is wrong!

Stephen Hinton

April 16, 2013, 3:18 am

This laptop does not has a 24gb ssd cache/hybrid drive as you state. I physically pulled apart the laptop when putting in an ssd and can confirm that the original drive is a samsung st1000LM024.

Byron Hinson

April 16, 2013, 5:12 am

Forgot to also mention - you say the laptop comes with a hybrid drive - the i5 version doesn't and I don't believe the i7 one does either. It's just a plain 1tb drive.

BestJinjo

April 16, 2013, 6:24 am

Yup, 1TB 5400 rpm SATA2 in the US at least.
http://www.samsung.com/us/comp...

Although with SSDs dropping in price so fast, in 2-3 years one can get a 1TB SSD to put into this laptop for $250-300 as Crucial M500 960GB is now $600 USD.

ronnie

April 18, 2013, 5:33 am

well the 2012 model has the hybrid drive...i bought it with 1 tb 2 weeks ago but i replaced it with intel 520 and its great :)

comments powered by Disqus