Samsung R580-JS02UK - 15.6in Laptop - Application Performance

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

9

Samsung R580-JS02UK benchmarks

Had Samsung installed a 64-bit OS then the R580 would have performed even better. Nonetheless its performance for the price is outstanding and means the R580 should last a long time before it needs to be replaced.

CodeMonkey

March 25, 2010, 12:20 pm

Good timing on the review..


I bought one of these last weekend for the girlfriend's mum and am in the process of setting it up.


Seems to be a good medium priced choice, plenty of oomph for the money..





Looks like I got a decent deal on the price too..

Clarke Douglas

March 25, 2010, 2:42 pm

Hi, got a question, hopefully someone about here can answer. when you buy a computer or laptop that has a 32bit version of win7 installed, like the samsung in the review. How do you go about getting it installed with win7 64bit instead. do they come with both versions of the os on dvds or do u have to purchase an expensive whole new version, or purchase a cheaper upgrade version. just wondering what the additional costs involved could be should i want to go 64bit windows. gonna get a new machine soon, and alot of the comps i have looked at are win7 32bit. anyways cheers if anybody can help.

Metalex

March 25, 2010, 3:27 pm

Is anybody else sick of manufacturers making everything glossy? It's beyond me why Samsung would release a laptop where even the part you rest your hands is glossy. It would be covered in fingerprints within seconds. This laptop wouldn't make it on to my shortlist purely on this basis, even if it was half the price and twice as fast.





Glossy finishes look very nice on products when they're removed from the box for the first time, but they're scratch, fingerprint and dust magnets and look awful within days.





A note to manufacturers - PLEASE STOP!!! I will not buy your glossy products.

Retset

March 25, 2010, 4:32 pm

@Clarke Douglas: Usually they come with just the one 'flavour' of Win 7. I just bought an Asus N61Jq (with ATI 5730M, Core i7 720M, 4GB DDR3 - very pleased!) which came with 64 bit so keep hunting around. Mine came with the dreaded 'recovery partition' so an age was spent removing a lot of the bloatware. If you budget for a boxed copy of Windows 7 you will get both flavours in the box and be able to do a nice clean install ... some recompense for the extra cost!

Martin Daler

March 25, 2010, 11:03 pm

my 11.6 inch laptop screen gives the same resolution as this 15.4 inch screen. It seems a shame that so many manufacturers give up any real benefit of the larger screen area - for the extra weight penalty I would want some return.

TL1210

March 26, 2010, 12:11 am

@ Metalex: I know what you mean and prefer the look of a magnesium alloy personally but i must admit, the gloss does look nicer than a matt finish when it's nice and shiney.





@ Metalex:I think you may be standing on your own with not buying "glossy products", especially as we do seem to be saturated with them and there's more on the way with products like ipad, all in one pcs etc.. also, windows 7 touch features may create a wave of whole new glossy products for us all to try and keep clean ;)

MrGodfrey

March 26, 2010, 1:13 am

@ Clarke Douglas and Reset: One word of warning... I have a predecessor of this machine (with Vista installed), and planned to install Windows 7 64-bit on it. However it turned out that it could not handle 64-bit Win 7; Samsung suggested that it should work fine with default drivers, but this turned out not to be the case. As I understand it, 64-bit could only be installed with a workaround, and resulted in the loss of the keyboard shortcuts for screen brightness, volume etc - and the touchpad!





I had no such problems with 32-bit, and since this new model is designed for Windows 7, it's entirely possible that you can replace 32-bit with 64-bit without any problems at all - but before you try this I would check with Samsung, and also search around to see how others have fared attempting it.

Gordon394

March 26, 2010, 7:36 am

@Martin Daler - agreed. In fact Samsung in particular is extremely guilty of this and now offers less higher resolution laptop screens than it did 2/3 years ago. Incredibly, despite its heavy backing of Blu-ray and its Full HD native resolution, Samsung now doesn't sell a single laptop with a Full HD display (regardless of screen size) - to me that's just incredible.

TL1210

March 26, 2010, 3:33 pm

@ MrGodfrey For your old machine & Win64, did you use the drivers that are on CD included or did you download the latest drivers from Samsung website?





The original drivers on the CD may not know about windows 7 64. Try going to Samsung support site or the actual Manufacturer (touch pad etc) website.





When I installed Win7 64 on my desktop pc, Windows automatically found my drivers but it had trouble with the sound card, it used some microsoft sound driver instead but a quick trip to Creative's website and I downloaded the correct one.

Retset

March 26, 2010, 4:26 pm

WRT to resolution: Some of us have older eyes and hold menus at arm's length! My new Asus has a 16" screen at 1366 X 768. I appreciate the fact everything is bigger and am willing to give up on a higher resolution. Also for gaming it only has to drive ~1M pixels which is why it games about as well as my desktop which has to drive ~2M. I work away a lot and don't like leaving the games behind! We also have a very old Dell 8500 in the house with a 15.4" screen at 1920X1200. I just find everything too tiddly. The kids don't mind though ;)





@ MrGodfrey: It is a good point that there may be no drivers for it. For me it was important that the manufacturer supplied a 64 bit OS. Never occurred to me that Samsung may not even have made 64 bit drivers!

TL1210

March 26, 2010, 9:12 pm

hey all, fear not! Most 32 bit drivers & programs should work on win7 64, I haven't had any probs using 32bit ones so far and have installed a lot of music software & plugins & Hardware on my desktop pc.





Even 64bit "Cubase" and 32bit "Ableton Live" can talk to each other via re-wire ok.. it just works. :)

MrGodfrey

March 27, 2010, 4:13 pm

TL1210: I tried downloading new drivers, but in this case Samsung simply didn't make any for 64-bit Windows. In fact for this particular laptop there were no Windows 7 drivers at all - the workaround attempted by other users was to install the drivers from another Samsung model, however this invariably caused the problems I mentioned above. In the end I settled for 32-bit Windows 7, and the 32-bit Vista drivers work reasonably well (although the volume and brightness keys do occasionally stop working for no obvious reason).

skinner

March 29, 2010, 2:25 pm

Sorry if this is a dim question but can this laptop run the virtual XP mode?

Situl

April 11, 2010, 3:37 pm

A very nice and stylish PC from Samsung with a good keyboard, average sound, quiet operation, 500GB HDD/4GB RAM and a decent price point.





However, two major disappointments are; 1 - The screen resolution & quality is much below similar priced competitors, with a better 1600 x 900 or 1920 x 1080p much preferred.


2- The usual battery life issue with most laptops at less than 3 hours. I only get 2 hours max despite power reduction settings and given the success of netbooks and new lower powered processor technology in recent years, manufacturers should be able to produce decent specification 15.6 inch laptops with more reasonable battery life of around 5-6 hours.

comments powered by Disqus