Samsung QE55Q7F video review

By

Updated:

Read the full Samsung QE55Q7F review

Samsung Q7 review

More TV Videos

RonRoyce

April 26, 2017, 5:24 pm

OK let's get one thing straight. ELED is ZONAL dimming, not local. You only get local dimming on DLED.

And because these sets are ELED you get the same zonal light banding issues as you have with the 2016 models - especially in a darkened room - and it's a trait I cannot live with. So no progress actually and it's a no from me.

Have they cured the picture stuttering issues from last years' models? Judging by your having to adjust all the motion presets to off or low it seems not.

Seems like a TV to avoid from where I am sitting.

Elysrum

April 26, 2017, 5:46 pm

Have Samsung stopped the intrusive always on monitoring and phoning home?

David Al

April 26, 2017, 8:18 pm

You compare QLED (Still a LCD/LED Technology) to Sony A1 OLED something completely different. You make some good points but barley touched on black uniformity or contrast which why the OLED may be better for certain content over the over priced LCD screen

kirk

April 26, 2017, 8:29 pm

what a terrible review. where's all the in depth testing and analysis? Rtings did a far better job.. The Q7 doesn't come close to its claimed 1500nits, Rtings went through several panels all of which were roughly around 1100nits (HDR) and only 616 nits sustained , A fraction of the advertised 1500 capability , as well as the its Local dimming is garbage, Viewing angles are terrible for these, you have to be DIRECTLY in front of the television, if not then you immediately start to degrade the image. For its price, its not worth it when there are far better television options for the same price, and cheaper.

Matt

April 27, 2017, 8:50 am

This should be a standard section on any audio visual equipment review these days. Picture Quality, Sound Quality, Connections, Format Support & Privacy

cheese king

April 27, 2017, 11:51 am

to be fair trusted reviews have never claimed to be a technical review site, their reviews are more generic for the average user, I think there is scope for a site like this for the average joe who wouldnt know anything about nits etc. I tend to just read them all now, FLATP and RTINGS are head and shoulders above the rest now, even AV FORUMS are starting to flag now I think, they need to up their game and provide more pictures.

Nathan Kemp

April 27, 2017, 12:07 pm

And at that price! Samsung are going to have to rely on reviews like this one to sell their overpriced TVs. I'd have one of these for gaming......once they drop to half the price :)

RonRoyce

April 27, 2017, 4:06 pm

And I didn't even mention the poor viewing angles. Which for gaming is not really a problem but for normal TV watching it can be a deal breaker.

Jjames

April 28, 2017, 1:06 am

Lol I knew there would be some glowing reviews of these QLED's popping up. Well done Trusted Reviews you are the first in the UK.

I reckon even a Samsung salesman would struggle to recommend this at the prices quoted but you guys seem to be doing just that ... take a bow.

Edit - no mention of how the black bars are in movies, especially HDR??

A. Mir

May 1, 2017, 8:28 am

Samsung is hoping to catch confused customers in its empty bags. Confusing consumers to think that their version of "QLED" is a revolutionising new tech. These new Q models don't have anything to do with what they showed us at CES.

If you want Samsung then get the 2016 KS models. Nothing has changed.

Sonicvcam

June 16, 2017, 3:14 pm

Can you update the article please.
All4 my5 and Now tv are all on Samsungs 2017 models

comments powered by Disqus