Home / Cameras / Camera / Samsung NV30 / Test Shots - Detail and Lens Performance

Samsung NV30 - Test Shots - Detail and Lens Performance

By Cliff Smith

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Samsung NV30

Summary

Our Score:

9

User Score:

A range of general test shots are shown over the next two pages. In some cases, the full size image has been reduced for bandwidth purposes, and a crop taken from the original full resolution image has been placed below it to show the overall image quality. Some other pictures may be clicked to view the original full-size image.

----

Here's the usual detail test shot of the West Window of Exeter Cathedral, for you to compare with other cameras. See below for a full res crop, or click to see the whole picture.

----

The overall level of detail is pretty good, but there are compression artefacts visible.

----

The lens performs extremely well, with almost no barrel distortion at wide angle.

----

Centre sharpness is excellent...

----

....and corner sharpness is also very good, with only a hint of chromatic aberration.

----

Latest Deals From Ebay

  1. Samsung NV30 8.1 MP Digital Camera - Black

    CA$90.00 View Item

Wackywavinginflateablearmflail

August 5, 2008, 7:56 pm

Picture is extremely big on page 2!

Cliff Smith

August 5, 2008, 8:26 pm

Yes, sorry about that, there were a couple of picture errors that have now been corrected.

TheLostSwede

August 5, 2008, 9:40 pm

Any chance you'll be looking at the NV24HD at some stage?


Also, it would be great if you could add a couple of lines about the video modes when you do camera reviews, as it's rarely mentioned. What's normally hard to find is things like if you can zoom while you're shooting video or not, what format it records video in and if you can recorded unlimited ammounts of video.

Michael 2

August 6, 2008, 3:48 am

is this the same camera for 䀆 on amazon?





http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/pro...

Geoff Richards

August 6, 2008, 11:45 am

Looks like it, Michael - nice find.





I'll see if we can get them listed on our Latest Price for this review.

Duncan Mann

August 6, 2008, 6:56 pm

Though beware the tempting e-mails from Amazon offering a 10MP NV30 - it is in fact an 8MP camera, as will be seen by clicking on the link in the e-mail and checking out the cam on the Amazon website. Ooops. Still good value though at 䀆.

mcghun

August 6, 2008, 10:34 pm

"iso3200" = iso1200 ( samsung NV24HD )


please visit, diwa labs site ! ;)

govnah

August 8, 2008, 3:15 am

I need some help buying a camera. my budget is 𧶀 and i was looking to buy the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX33 or the Nikon CoolPix S600 and now i have seen the Samsung NV30 and i was wondering if anybody can help me pick one please :) thank you





i will be checkin back on this review if any1 can reply i will very much appreciate it





Thank you again :):)

Lee 2

September 6, 2008, 3:47 pm

this little bad boy is available for 㿻.99 including VAT and Postage on super saver delivery. Value for money at that price! http://www.ebuyer.com/product/...

J T

November 18, 2008, 10:04 pm

The silver Samsung NV30 is available now on Amazon for 㿱!!!

comments powered by Disqus